We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfy”
Review of South Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardston
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a nice clean and cozy place to stay. Like others before said, it is dated but the price is right. Nice pool and hot tub and friendly staff. We stayed overnight on our way through on a trip to the states. They do allow locals to use the pool but we actually found it to be a good chance to chat with some local kids and find out about the area.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Nawledg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCountryInn, General Manager at South Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful review. During the off season our beautiful pool would be underused if we didn't allow the local folks to come enjoy it. In the summer, the pool is exclusively reserved for our hotel guests. Throughout those months, if you still hope to chat with our amazing local youth, they can usually be found among the many nearby attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for South Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 89 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

So... they rent their pool out to people in the community. We were guests staying in the hotel and went to pool and were told by the people using the pool that it was "reserved". They also have a tanning bed that they rent out to locals. It didn't bother me really, I am sure its a tough market in the winter. I just thought it was a little bit lame. Also the maid service was below average. But whatever...you could be staying at the Pink Flamingo and really have something to complain about!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldwideHotelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

For me, this is a standard motel room. Everything was in good condition but not high quality. You do need to request a frig and microwave.We stayed here on August 31, 2012 and it is good enough for our return trip on September 8th.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor is the "main" floor you enter on.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Got in at 11pm to Cardston. Staff we aware of us coming late and kept the door open until we got there. Staff are friendly and willing to go up and beyond typical service standards. Location is great if your planning on going to the cardston temple, just a 2 minute drive up the road or a 5 minute walk. Overall the stay was pleasant and quiet. Defiantly be back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank And D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The beds are firm but not hard. The motel is well kept and the room is clean with a small refrigerator and microwave. The room has a flat panel TV. The staff was nice and helpful. There is a Dairy Queen across the street and a nice family style restaurant sharing the same parking lot as the motel. The only room access is by passing the reception desk so it is fairly secure. The pool looked nice but I didn’t use it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Me and my husband have moved from North Carolina and are on our way to Alaska. We have stayed in several hotels during this trip and this has been our favorite so far. I was a little worried at first since it wasn't a chain hotel, but I do not regret getting a room here.

This hotel has a great "home town feel" about it. It's in a good area, very quiet, and comfortable. It is not as updated as some hotels, but I would rather have safe, clean, and comfortable rather than a hotel that looks "updated" and "modern". The room is very large, which is great for us since we have so much luggage and our 70 pound dog.

What I really love about Country Inn is that it is SIMPLE. The staff does not over complicate anything. Plus, they are very friendly and helpful. I also want to add that the sheets are very soft. Last night we stayed at a Sleep Inn hotel and slept with rough sheets... but the ones at Country Inn are fantastic.

If you're not picky about the way a place looks but you do want a safe, comfortable, good priced, clean, helpful, and quiet night, stay at Country Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billiejeanne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Coming into town about 8 oclock we were still able to get checked in run to the store to get some pills and calling card. Staff extremely friendly and courteous. Resolved fridge issue very quickly as was ordered but in room within 5 minutes ready to go. Went to lighthouse bakery for breakfast and was absolutely delicious. It is just more towards town on same side of street as dairy queen. Lady was very friendly and nice. Clean and great. Took some back for the wife. Breakfast in bed!! Going golfing tonight will let you know how the course is!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardston
0.4 mi away
The Outpost Motel
The Outpost Motel
#2 of 3 in Cardston
45 reviews
24.8 mi away
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
14.3 mi away
Bear Country Inn and Suites
Bear Country Inn and Suites
#2 of 2 in Mountain View
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cobblestone Manor
Cobblestone Manor
#2 of 3 in Cardston
13 reviews
9.9 mi away
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mountain View
107 reviews
24.7 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Country Inn

Address: 404 Main Street, Cardston, Alberta T0K 0K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Cardston
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardston
Price Range: $111 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your South Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Country Inn Hotel Cardston
South Country Hotel
Country Inn Cardston
Cardston Country Inn
South Country Inn Cardston, Alberta, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing