We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not even consider this place - downgraded our 2 month old reservation on arrival”
Review of Cobblestone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cobblestone Manor
Ranked #2 of 3 Cardston B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2010

As we drove in we found it like a junk yard behind the restaurant with the rental building like a converted garage. After much searching for someone we found that our booked room of a couple months had been downgraded. The upper suite with hot tub had been rented for a week or so over our one night reservation. At this point, still in shock, followed the proprietor as he walked in on a couple having a snack in the lower two bedroom suite. When it became evident he wanted us to share with these unfortunate folks we left.
While searching earlier I found the restaurant to be pretentious and overpriced.
We stayed that night at the South Country Inn downtown which was fine considering the circumstances.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank 2olddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2010

Just returned from our travels in Southern Alberta, where we spent 4 nights at Cobblestone Manor. We had a great time there, the upstairs suite was great for our family, we loved the patio and excellent breakfast in a beautiful restaurant. House is older, but we found everything in working order, and even used the (yes, very loud) airconditioner to cool it down in the evening. But we did not need it at night, as open windows provided good cooling - we all slept very well, and woke up with difficulty shortly before 9am for breakfast. The B&B is excellent value.
We also enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant (good food, excellent value), along with the stories about the history of this unique place. Cardston is a great place to stay to explore the area, without having to camp. I would highly recommend it as a base. Carriage museum was also very good - don't miss it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kungla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The Cobblestone Manor B&B was in need of a thorough cleaning. We advised the owner that the room had not been cleaned, and no effort was made to address our concerns. The living room and bedroom were dusty, the bed linens had not been changed, and the bathroom had not been cleaned. There were greasy fingerprints all over the microwave, and the water glasses were filthy. There was a coffeepot with no coffee, and no dish soap or tea towels. For some bizarre reason, the floor mat was placed on the glass coffee table, and the television remote did not work. The bolt lock on the front door also did not work, so our only security was a flimsy doorknob lock.
The Cobblestone is a historic site in Cardston with an interesting history. The dining room was well appointed, and the breakfast was very good, but the rooms are not up to standard. If you stay in Cardston, consider booking into another B&B or a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WylieEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed for one night at the B&B building that is separate from Cobblestone Manor which houses a diningroom. There is a very interesting history to the manor and a book written about it. The owner has the book in the B&B to read and I would encourage you to do that. There is an upper and lower B&B unit. We stayed in the upper unit that requires climbing a narrow stairway without handrail. The area had a kitchenette, diningroom table, small couch, two bedrooms and small bathroom. Despite having an air conditioner in the kitchen window it was loud and barely blew cold air. Thankfully the air cooled after the sun set or it would have been very uncomfortable. My main complaint is that the unit was very unclean. Dust balls were everywhere on the floor, sinks not properly cleaned, dust absolutely everywhere and I even questioned if the sheets were new. We had to go looking for towels for the bathroom. There is a deck with a patio set that was filthy and a hot tub and looked equally filthy. We didn't use either. Ivan is the owner and a very nice man. However, I think he needs to hire someone who understands the concept of cleaning properly! We had breakfast in the restaurant that is just beautiful but again a problem with cleanlines. The tablecloth was dirty with stains. We could pick anything we wanted off the menu and the food was quite good. Ivan does the cooking too. There was a slight mix up about the price when we paid as he told me one price and the web site said something different. We agreed on the price he told me. The B&B is reasonably priced but I wouldn't stay there unless it went through a good cleaning first. The restaurant is well worth visiting but be aware that the prices aren't cheap but the atmosphere and history are worth paying a bit more.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alberta52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cobblestone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobblestone Manor

Address: 173 7th Ave West, Cardston, Alberta T0K 0K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Cardston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cardston
Price Range: $104 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cobblestone Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cobblestone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Manor Cardston, Alberta, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing