We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No front of house management”
Review of The Gunton Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thorpe Market
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gunton Arms
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No front of house management”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Lovely location, great ambiance, lovely food but chaotic front of house management. Some pretty girls being absolutely no help with a few others mostly very young boys and local girls working to make up. Clearly no one in charge in the front of the house. Consistently the same over our 2 night stay. Had been there before and management was excellent. Was the boss away? Clearly got more lively after the day guests had left and the staff had a great time in the bar below our room into the early hours of the night. Well run kitchen. Cold public rooms and fires not set unless we did it ourselves and generally not much interest shown in overnight guests with a few exceptions. Staff would benefit from constant hands-on management.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice but maybe ask for one that is not above the public bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    91
    48
    32
    28
See reviews for
75
228
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here with a 6 month old baby and we're kept awake until 2 am by the owner and his friends playing pool in the bar and load music. Not acceptable at these prices. When we complained politely our complaints were shrugged off. Considering the money we spent on 2 nights accommodation plus 2 meals not impressed.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank AT8009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday afternoon and stayed for evening meal. Lovely place in great surroundings food not so good. Lots of staff not an overly friendly place which is a shame.
We had Sunday lunch which cost £15 each and was a disappointment.
Also pool table is situated next to eating area and was noisy.
Would perhaps return for a drink but not sure would have a meal again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballerina147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Excellent food. Best steak outside of France. Not stuffy at all for North Norfolk, really relaxed and welcoming. Fantastic. Like the dream pub you would run yourself that you can never quite find. Great food (Elk room fire is first rate) as well as pool table, darts! football and the wittiest modern art on every wall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great food in the restaurant and novel experience in having steaks cooked over open fire. Bit disappointed in that blackberry and honey cheesecake had blackberries on the side rather than in it.
Wine list lacking in New World wines for my taste.
Big features of place when we arrived were no TV in the room or tea making facilities. These are a drawback as far as I am concerned. Room was fine (Langtry) but missed having a proper shower.
Artworks were extensive and "interesting".
Staff were lovely, helpful and outgoing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacaranda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I'd been to the Gunton Arms for a drink on a number of occassions when visiting North Norfolk and enjoyed the place.This time I thought I'd try their food. It was a Monday and that's always dangerous but hey ho, give it a go, even when you know you're paying for the name. To cut a long story, the food was fine but value for money questionable, the wine is over priced but you go there knowing that, but the service...... very disappointing. Sorry was common, attention to detail limited, and the service was just disorganised. It was Monday, perhaps they were short staffed, I don't care. I was disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

What a way to spend an afternoon...sat in a beautiful restaurant, open fire, fine food and wine and amongst friends and family. The grounds, with the deer running wild kept the children amused as we took advantage of the friendly staff's relaxed way.
This restaurant is a must if you are ever in the area..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Market
4.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
3.3 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
13.4 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gunton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gunton Arms

Property: The Gunton Arms
Address: The Gunton Arms Cromer Road, Thorpe Market NR11 8TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thorpe Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe Market
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Gunton Arms Hotel Thorpe Market
The Gunton Arms Thorpe Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing