We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Barns at Thorpe Market
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed two nights here recently on the recommendation of Trip Advisor Reports and we were not disappointed.Cromer and Coast are within easy reach by car as is Holt and Norwich.
The accomodation is first class in every way and the breakfast is terrific.
Our Hosts Amanda and Tony are really user friendly giving useful advice where and how to get to places,one recommendation for an evening meal was the Vine a local pub whose meals were devine.All in all a wnderfulplace to stay and i would strongly recommend it to all, thanks Amanda and Tony

Room Tip: all are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
111
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I have to say I don't usually stay in B&Bs but made an exception when in Cromer on business and wasn't disappointed at all! In fact I was amazed at how excellent this lovely little place is. The greeting was lovely and friendly and when I was shown into the room I was instantly amazed at the decor, cozy feel and cleanliness. There was even a little cake with the tea and coffee, this is such a lovely touch! Especially when you can't even bank on a packet of biscuits most places now! There were also a couple of wine glasses in the room, something so simple but very good thinking that shows the care put into making the stay perfect by the owners. The entire room was very well kept and clean. Another of the lovely touches was plug converters for EU to UK plugs :-)!
Breakfast was at the time I requested the night before, and was a lovely spread despite there not being many guests.

It's so lovely to find such a wonderful place for such a reasonable nightly rate!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XraynbeauxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just the little thoughtful touches made all the difference to us, we really appreciated the warm welcome on our arrival,together with home made cake to enjoy with our well stocked tea, coffee etc refreshments supplied in our beautiful bedroom. Friendly couple who provided a great varied tasty,generous breakfast in the settings of a roaring log burner in the dining room. Nothing too much trouble and so happy to help with any holiday planning in Norfolk - pity we only stayed one night but will definitely return one day and strongly recommend to our friends

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksonjenny55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

For: Quiet location, very clean, friendly, chocolate cake on arrival, fluffy towels, and great breakfast.
Against: 4'6" bed with a memory foam mattress - like sleeping on a marsh mallow, Room thermostat located in another room- if that guest turns the heating down, you go cold too, piddling shower, no shaver/hair drier point or loo roll holder, can hear next door's guest using the toilet, 3' wardrobe and 2 shallow drawers for storage - just about adequate for a couple of nights, exposed beams are stuck-on plastic - why bother?
Are we being picky? Yes, but for the price we expect better. 4/10, marginally better than camping!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at The Barns in September for 2 nights. When we arrived we were given a warm welcome and freshly baked lemon cakes to take to our room. The room was spacious with nice features and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, particularly the homemade compote which I asked Amanda for the recipe. Tony & Amanda are fantastic hosts and do everything to make your stay enjoyable. We will definately return on our next visit to Norfolk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Gorgeous room in a lovely location, very convenient for Cromer and lots of local attractions. We only stayed one night, but could easily have stayed more. Lovely breakfast. Lots of outside seating which we would have used had we stayed longer. Would reommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyJoJo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed at The Barns at the begining of August for five days.
The room was lovely and clean, and was fully cleaned every day. Towels changed daily.Gorgeous smellies in the bathroom, and plenty of them.Scrumptious cup cake each on our arrival.
The breakfasts were the best ever, using local tasty products and fresh eggs from their own chukkies.
Amanda and Tony made us feel at home from the very moment we arrived,and it was nice to have some friendly banter with them.
Make sure you ask what is under the big brown cover!!!!
Will defo go again.
Thankyou soooooo much for your kindness and care.XXXXX

Room Tip: No need. All rooms are good. Quiet area anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannatomany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Market
4.2 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
866 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Green House B&B
The Green House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thorpe Market
252 reviews
3.7 mi away
Felbrigg Lodge
Felbrigg Lodge
#1 of 5 in Aylmerton
544 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hooray Henrys Boutique B&B Sheringham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barns at Thorpe Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barns at Thorpe Market

Property: The Barns at Thorpe Market
Address: Common Lane, Thorpe Market NR11 8TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thorpe Market
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Barns at Thorpe Market 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality bed and breakfast in a perfect location! A charming 18 century brick and flint converted barn offering beautifully furbished en suite accommodation, all our rooms are set away from the main building surrounding a private courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Barns at Thorpe Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barns At Thorpe Market Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing