We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm house, cold welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Bardfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bucks House Bed & Breakfast
A TripAdvisor Member
34
Reviewed August 22, 2004

Bucks House is a lovely B&B about 20 minutes from Stansted Airport. The rooms are well furnished and equipped, however, the service we received from the owners totally negated anything positive about the place. The "welcome" we (two couples) received was cold, even hostile and they seemed reluctant to answer any questions we had about the area. We were made to feel as if we were intruders instead of guests. It is safe to say we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 19, 2005

Although this review was posted almost two years ago, I have only recently seen it. I am sorry these guests did not enjoy their stay at Bucks House. We always do our best to welcome all our guests, and to ensure we give them as much attention as possible. However, some guests might be better suited to an hotel where there will be a concierge service, at the consequently much higher price, to meet their demands. We pride ourselves on our care of guests and on our beautiful rooms. Our guest book testifies to this. I will ensure that future guests have the chance to submit the positive reviews that we have in our guest book for all to see and can also be read on (commercial URL) You will not find a better B & B within the Stansted Airport area, of that we are certain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 39 of 39 reviews

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Bardfield
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
6.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 4 in Braintree
397 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
559 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
154 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucks House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucks House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Bucks House Vine Street, Great Bardfield, Braintree CM7 4SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Braintree > Great Bardfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Bardfield
Price Range: $53 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bucks House is a beautiful 16th-century Grade II listed house set in the centre of a medieval village. Finchingfield, Spains Hall, Ann of Cleves Barn 1/2 miles. Stansted 20 minutes, Thaxted 3 miles. 40 minutes from Cambridge and one hour from the east side of London, we are perfectly located for a rural short break, or to be conveniently placed for an overnight stay before going to the airport. Our rooms are luxuriously furnished in country house style with antiques, down duvets, bath robes and toiletries. Delicious breakfasts of course. Sitting Room and walled garden. We welcome guests with dogs. We only take children aged 10 or over. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing