We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Muralto
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Excellent Hotel. Superb location right by Lake Maggiore with only a few minutes to the station/boats and many restaurants. The lake view rooms with balcony offered lovely views and were immaculately presented. The buffet breakfast was an excellent start to the day. This trip was made by my wife and myself for pleasure during June 2010 and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtrower109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 200 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location is excellent, close to the train station and only a short walk (5 minutes) along the lakeside promenade to where you can get a boat to other parts of the lake. The room was large and clean and the bathroom in particular was the largest I've ever seen in a hotel. There was a good selection at breakfast and it was lovely to sit outside on the terrace to enjoy it. We also ate there in the evening and the food was very good and the staff were very willing to accomodate our vegetarian tastes. There was also a PC in the lobby with free internet access.

I would definitely stay there again if I returned to Locarno.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnorkleQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

My husband, mother and I stayed at this charming hotel overlooking the lake this summer. The hotel's location is the best you can look for - you are practically "in the lake," and extremely close to all sights, shopping and eateries. The rooms were clean, spacious and with a lovely terrace that gives you a grand view of the lake and the mountains. Breakfast was plentiful and served inside and outside on the porch, where you can sample the varieties served while enjoying a nice breeze and watching the birds. The staff is nice and courteous and ready to help and accomodate all the guests' requests. The best part about the hotel was truly the location, which allowed us the opportunity to stroll alongside the lake, go back to the hotel for a quick rest in the middle, and then return to our scouring of the lovely Locarno. The fact that the hotel is so close to the lake, we were able to enjoy a number of dinners and drinks by the lake staying quite late, knowing that the hotel is a breath away. We would definitely go back and certainly recommend the hotel for the best visit of Locarno.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakers_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed two nights in a superior room. The hotel exceeded our expectations by far. We expected a middle of the road Ramada, but in fact it was a romantic and cosy hotel well suited for leisure travellers. The hotel is right on the lakefront, a short walk from the center of Locarno and yet very quiet, with a laid back athmosphere that reminded of the mediterranian.
The room was very large and well kept, with a very large bed and a wonderful balcony overlooking the lake. The bathroom was large and squeeky clean with seperate bath and shower, and toilet in it's own room.
The breakfast was delicious and could be enjoyed on the terrace in front of the hotel.
We really loved our stay and hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntoniaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Had a short break in Ticino, and was worried about the quality of the hotel, given that the past experience in Swiss hotels. But this was magnificient. Clean, spot on in front of the lake, wonderful staff. Really, this hotel was the start of a great summer break and I would certainly recommend it to everyone.
The room we were given, for a family of 4, was spacious and clean. The aircon, in hot weather, was superb. The bathroom, towels & linnen spotless.
Tips: while driving to the hotel, the Gps indicated the hotel in Meralto..in fact the hotel IS in Meralto which is about 50 m from Locarno!! ie the same place but different names, so don´t be worried, as it is spot in the centre of Locarno. Musdt visit little Italy in Lugano if you´re there.
Highly highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gruyeresuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at the Palma au Lac and we will stay there again if we return. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious (we had a wonderful view of the lake) and breakfast is excellent. The hotel is very conveniently located to all the action in Locarno and there are many excellent restaurants within a short walking distance (including the hotel restaurant). The front veranda is a great place to relax, enjoy a drink or meal, and people-watch.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VATraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Stayed 4 nights in august 08 and even though I think it is overpriced, La Palma is a very nice, clean, refurbished hotel and I would happily stay there again. Pros: AC, great breakfast buffet, beautiful views, large well furnished rooms. Cons: paying wifi at exorbitant prices, expensive (regular rate is 360 swiss francs per night), no pool.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NicMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muralto
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 27 in Locarno
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.5 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#5 of 27 in Locarno
125 reviews
13 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 27 in Locarno
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno

Address: viale Verbano 29, Muralto, Locarno 6600, Switzerland (Formerly Ramada Hotel La Palma au Lac)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno > Muralto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Muralto
Price Range: $173 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three minutes from the Piazza Grande with its famous festivals (Moon and Stars festival, jazz festival) and various shopping facilities, the H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno is situated right on Lake Maggiore. In the newly opened wellness area, you can pamper yourself with various massages and beauty treatments before enjoying the stunning view of Lake Maggiore on the terrace. With its mild climate, Ticino awaits you with the greatest possible variety of leisure activities for your holiday. Whether you prefer hiking, fitness walking, climbing or cycling, start each day of your holiday in your own individual way from our hotel. Now you can also use e-bikes as a convenient means of exploring Ticino's wonderful natural environment. Ascona, Maggia and Lugano are just three recommendations for excursions that you can enjoy whatever the weather during your stay in Locarno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Locarno
Ramada Locarno
Locarno Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing