We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais Alcova del Doge
Ranked #3 of 22 Mira B&B and Inns
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Excellent Staff”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Arrived late at night entrance code was emailed to me and keys to room left at reception we had a three night stay which was not enough must return soon.As stated in other reviews Venice is 40 mins away on local bus at a cost of 5 euro 20 cents return.Excellent restaurant recommended by the very helpful staff close by.Hotel room very clean breakfast very good all round excellent stay will have no problem in returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    96
    26
    3
    8
See reviews for
29
146
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I would like to confirm the earlier good reviews of Alcova del Doge as excellent value for money. My partner and I spent two wonderful days there and found all the reviewer recommendations to be true. On one day we went to Venice by bus and on the other day we cycled to Sambruson & Dolo with the bicycles provided free of charge by Alcova del Doge. The rooms were very nicely furnished, the breakfast was much more than the usual continental breakfast and the service was excellent. It is a great place from which to explore Venice and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road might have some traffic noise, but we had no problem in our room overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed just one night on our way from Tuscany to Vienna with our three children, 19,17 and our ten year old son. The reason for our trip was very sad, my father in Vienna had died and we had to abandon our planned stay in Tuscany to be with my mother. We booked the hotel the night before without taking to much notice where it was. it was a loveley surprise, along the canal all those beautiful venetian villas, very pretty. The hotel was great too ,quite easy to find, on a busy road but as we stayed in the annex across a courtyard we could not hear any traffic noise. The hotel was furnished with love,every peace of furniture was obviously dicovered in an antique shop, nothing matched but it did look great! Modern very nice bathroom and everything very clean and I am quite a fussy person when it comes to cleanliness. The breakfast was o.k, nice breakfast room.
To get into Venice you can take a boat, quite expensive for a family of 5, about 60 Euros, better to drive and then take the waterbus, parking is easy at the tronchetto carpark.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelikaSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Great proximity to Venice - 30 minute bus ride into the heart of Venice. Rooms were very clean, spacious and an excellent bathroom - the rooms at the rear seemed to be very new. There was parking available, wireless internet access and a laundromat within walking distance. The breakfast and staff were excellent and we would highly recommend this place if you are visiting Venice. The town of Mira is apparently known for the quality of its restaurants (seafood especially) and our visit to the local pizzeria 300m up the road was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BreeandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

The Alcova del Doge at Mira on the Brenta riviera is a great place to stay if you want to visit Venice and other charming places nearby. The hotel looks unprepossessing from the outside. The rooms are clean and well appointed. as are the attached bathrooms. The service is friendly, especially Silvie was very helpful. The breakfast, which is included in the room rate, is a typically continental. We were allowed to use the hotel computer to access the internet at no extra charge.
There is a very convenient bus stop from where one can go into Venice for the day, buses run every half hour. You can get the timetable from the hotel. You can also get advice regarding the vaporetti and other such details.

Be advised though that no other meals beside breakfast are served and we didn't find any convenient restaurants nearby. There is a automatic drinks machine so you get a hot cappuccino or tea any time. Parking outside the hotel is available.All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2009

My wife and I found this hotel here on Tripadviser and were not disappointed at all.

Making the reservation directly with the hotel went smoothly. We choose the hotel because it was close to Venice and Padova. Both places can be reached in app. 30-35 minutes with a bus that start / stops 100 meter from hotel. We found that taking the bus to both cities was really convenience compared to driving there yourself. Price was app. 4-5 euro for a return ticket.

The hotel is small with a few numbers of rooms – the way we prefer it. It is fare more personal and the owners has insured that this hotel has own romantic style. The room and bathroom are really nice and the pictures on the homepage or those other travellers have uploaded here on Tripadviser do not promise too much.

The hotel has a little yard with a number of chairs and tables. It is a really nice place where you can plan your next trip, read a book or just enjoy an inexpensive cup of coffee from the coffee machine. We also met some of the other guests there and discussed the areas possibilities whixh really added value.

As others has mentioned it is really easy to get a lot of help in the reception. The got an answer to any question you can ask ;-)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soren_T1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

My wife and I were booked for three nights yet after enjoying the hotel we extended our stay for two more nights. The hotel was clean , quiet and well kept. The breakfast buffet was resonable. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful especially Sabrina who always kept on a smile and offered us many valuable informations.The city of Mira is nice and there were two major supemakets and several great restaurants and the trip to Venice is only 15-20 minutes by bus. We will retrun there in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2Amore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mira
1.1 mi away
Riviera dei Dogi Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Rescossa
Hotel La Rescossa
#2 of 6 in Mira
254 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ca Tron
Hotel Ca Tron
#1 of 9 in Dolo
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Gasparini
1.5 mi away
Villa Margherita Hotel
9.2 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Marcello Giustinian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Alcova del Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Alcova del Doge

Property: Relais Alcova del Doge
Address: Via Nazionale 39/40, 30034, Mira, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Mira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Alcova del Doge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Alcova del Doge in Mira is a delightful, romantic 3-star charming hotel, housed in an ancient nineteenth century palazzo in the heart of the magnificent Riviera del Brenta, traditional holiday residence of the Venetian aristocrats and still a popular tourist attraction due to its splendid Venetian Villas that are worth a day trip by bicycle or by the “Burchielli” that skim the gentle Brenta river waters in the summer, docking here and there to enjoy the villas. Venice (15 km away) and Padua (20 km away) are within easy reach from the hotel Relais Alcova del Doge in Mira. Convenient public buses departing every half-hour until about midnight run all year round stopping just 200 metres from the Hotel. ) → How to get here)For an unforgettable trip to Venice, magnificently crossing the Venetian Lagoon and Canale della Giudecca, depart from the Fusina Terminal, 8 km from the hotel Relais Alcova del Doge in Mira and, from there, take the 20-minute ferry to the famous Riva delle Zattere, just a pleasant stroll away from St. Mark’s Square. The glorious Riviera del Brenta Venetian Villas, including Villa Widmann Foscari Rezzonico, Barchessa Valmarana, Villa Foscari La Malcontenta and Villa Pisani “La Nazionale”, are just a few miles from us and are worth the trip by either bicycle, car or boat!We are also only 15 km from the Venice Mestre train station, 20 km from the Venice airport and 15 km from the Port of Venice. Transfers available at a fee upon request. Our Relais offers an intimate, romantic yet down-home atmosphere, tastefully and imaginatively created by hosts Michela and Sabrina, attentively selecting each piece of furniture, furnishing and upholstery, visiting antique stores, collector shops and markets, and returning the original Venetian terrace floors, ceiling beams and original hall frescoes to their ancient splendour.All our 13 rooms are different and include:Independent air conditioning and heatingLCD TVDirect phone lineMini-barSafeFree wi-fi internet accessDuring the summer, after a full day touring the wonders of Venice, Padua or magnificent Riviera del Brenta Venetian Villas, you can relax in the quiet of our interior courtyard, sipping an excellent glass of Prosecco in the shade of the wisterias.You can take advantage of the bicycles, free, to discover our splendid surroundings, rich in nature, culture and excellent seafood restaurants! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Alcova del Doge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Alcova Del Doge Mira, Italy - Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing