We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the place to go if you're looking for peace and quiet”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Minot
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the place to go if you're looking for peace and quiet”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a Saturday night during our trip out west. We had a difficult time locating the property and parking was even worse due to the wedding reception and birthday party being hosted at this hotel. We were put in a room with a balcony that looked out to the pool and the noise was overwhelming once we turned off the television at 10:00 p.m. It seems the hotel allows pool parties to go on until 11:00 p.m. so if you're looking for peace and quiet, this is not the place. Also, be prepared to pay - this is not a budget property and there's no continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Consider asking for an exterior facing room for some peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCubBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    61
    40
    31
    23
See reviews for
76
36
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were there August 20-28, 2012 for a reunion of a mililitary association (91st SRWA). The hotel provided a great hospitality room and catered two events. One event was in a local aviation museum, the other in the hotel's ballroom; both were excellent.
The rooms were well maintained and the cleaning staff did a good job.
The resturaunt staff was not very well managed; they seemed disorganized at times; but ultimately provided good service.

Room Tip: If upstairs, get a room close to the elevator. If you smoke, ask for a room close to an outside doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbardjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is very large, nice rooms, helpful staff and clean. The access could be missed coming from the east, make like your going to the Super 8 then the driveway is obvious. The rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The cleaning staff was a little slow but very friendly.

Room Tip: Get at least the second floor facing east for a fabulous view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnie548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Customer service was very poor! I checked in on a Saturday night around 9:00 p.m. There was one person at the check in desk. She was adding columns of numbers and she told me to wait until she was done. It took several minutes, as she was terrible on a 9-keypad. I'm sure all hotels have accounting tasks to perform. However the guests should never be forced to watch them. There is a reason there are no accounting reality shows; they would be very dull.

When she finally looked up, she said nothing. So I said, "Welcome to Grand International, how may I help you?" This threw her for a loop. I told that is what I typically hear when I check into a hotel. I don't mind helping people, but I shouldn't have to train their staff.

The hotel room was stuffy and mildewing. Part of my routine is to plug in my computer and my phone (which I use as an alarm). This was impossible to do without having to move two pieces of furniture and unplugging something that was essential. It took everything I had to move the dresser, which had a TV, coffee maker, glasses, ice tub and microwave. I'm not small (6'2" and 205 lbs). I was able to get under it a little and slide it a foot to get to the plug. To plug in my phone, I had to move the night stand about 18 inches. However I had to unplug the lamp, which wouldn't be so bad, but it was nearly impossible to plug my phone into a near dark corner of the room. There was only one light and it was in the opposite corner pumping out 25 watts.

When I checked out in the morning, there was a new person behind the desk. However, she must have gone through the same training. I was in a bit of a hurry, but she wasn't, as she was texting away to beat the band. She was not going to be deterred, when she was sending a text that I'm sure was of a vital national concern. When she finished, she again just stared at me. I asked her, "What can I help you with today?" This again stumped her. Eventually I was able to get my bill.

Don't think I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: It's a great location and supposedly the best in the area. I can't imagine how bad the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluedevil1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Minot hotels

Monticello, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Wrapping up a 9 week stay in Minot. This hotel is ok. The foam beds do give you a great nights sleep. Rooms are fairly clean and seem well maintained. We did have some problems with then not holding our rooms and scrambling to find a place to stay. The staff at the desk is mostly helpful. Finding rooms is not easy in Minot so call well ahead of time and confirm before you get here. Bath fan in every room have been very loud.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side of the pool are the best. Avoid the tower on the north side rooms are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyTravels1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minot
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

First of all the wall units in all rooms have not been maintained. They need to be vacuum the filters taken out and put new ones in the whole thing needs to be washed down. The walls were filthy along the ceiling. Carpets need to be shampooed everything they let the person have a pet in them for people with allergies.. The key to unlock the dooors dont work. the toilet the lower part aint cleaned and the tub with shower head need to be cleaned. Sometimes the frig works ..the comforter and the blanket may not get changed out unless requested. Pillows are not worth it some are to flat or to soft, the mattress in some rooms are lumpy and maybe cause a person to have stiffness but there memory foam bed those are an iimprovement.

The people at the front desk dont understand how it is to sit and wait for a room when The manager overbooks just do he can get the money. There is alot of parties and function at this motel where it does get loud and no parking for the regulars. The elevator never get cleaned. The pool are is respectful but there is no force in the hottub it is just low pressure water moving that is warm.
The bar has not nice people working there and the dining are too. The food is good.
Outside has a smokers area right out the door where customers come in and room where the smoke can come in if the window is open.
This motel has alot of forgein people working here why cause it is cheap help that clean rooms and maintenance or front desk.
As for this comment 2 buckets of black water that i what i got for cleaning the walls, floor, the toilet the tub with sink. the air coniditioner, and wipe the desk chares, head board, and night stand alond the lamp.
For the price you pay to stay i would recommend to stay somewhere else

Room Tip: before payin for the room go look and see what is what for the price they charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloquet, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was my first time staying at this hotel. The hotel look fine on the outside. inside look really nice. the receptionist that helped me with the room had me on the second floor. I asked what floor my sister was on. She was nice enough to tell me. But was relucted to put me close to where my sister was staying. After a few min. I was on the same floor.
The rooms are standard nothing special about them. For the price i paid I expeced better.
My room smelled of body odor. They could of sprayed oder ban to elimate the odor. I put the air on it was very noisy.
This hotel could do better for the price. I've stayed at hotels thats costed a hundred or more was more luxurious then this one.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room and check if there is any oders or if it was a smokers room before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skae12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minot hotels
1.8 mi away
Hyatt House Minot
Hyatt House Minot
#4 of 31 in Minot
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minot / Airport
2.8 mi away
Noble Inn
Noble Inn
#1 of 31 in Minot
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Riverside- Minot
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minot
3.8 mi away
Souris Valley Suites
Souris Valley Suites
#15 of 31 in Minot
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 1505 N Broadway, Minot, ND 58703-1364 (Formerly the International Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is locally owned/operated and has been enriching the Minot community since 1963. The property boasts 225 spacious sleeping rooms and 17,000 square feet of meeting space; making it the Magic City’s overall largest hotel. The Grand Hotel has seamless Wi-Fi internet throughout the entire property. We offer the fastest internet powered by SRT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand International Hotel Minot
International Inn Minot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing