We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definition of average dining”

Badlands Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #5 of 130 Restaurants in Minot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Badlands is a Fresh Casual Restaurant & Bar with wide Verity of Food & Drinks. We serve Lunch, Dinners, and open until late night. We have large sitting for dining to include larger parties, and Private room for any event for approximately 30 people. Fresh, Friendly, with a local flavor. Great Line of Steaks, to comfort food that we all crave. New Salad Bar, and New Patio seasonally.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The definition of average dining”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was excited to try this place but was pretty disappointed. The waiter was nice and friendly but forgot our daughter's drink and food order and had to be asked repeatedly for it (considering it was for a toddler we ordered early to alleviate any tantrums.) The bison burger was ok, overdone and dry. I ordered the fried walleye and only ate a few bites. The fish and coating were overly greasy and didn't taste like much. The sweet potato fries and green beans (steamed, no added butter which was a plus) were good. The price was pretty pricey for what it was, $18.99 for a fillet of walleye and two sides.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niqueh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    81
    42
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minot, North Dakota
1 review
“Great fried walleye”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The walleye was great, I love perch so it was a good recommendation from the Mainstay Suites' frontdesk person, Hayden.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank OilMath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have eaten at Badlands twice now, first time was great, 2nd time not so good. Badlands is neither better or worse than the other steak houses in Minot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 49909Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandmahenry
Level 6 Contributor
529 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Read teh recent review, took a chance and wow!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stopped in late for dinner on our way home to Grafton. Were seated promptly - and by the way this place has nice ambiance and some interesting decor - our hostess who was also our waitress was chatty, but not overly so, pretty much perfect. We both had burgers which came with onion tanglers (problem for me: they were really onion rings which I do not like), but the handmade patty was delicious, the BBQ sauce was tasty and the fries were crispy (my husband ate mine). I also had a cup of Loaded Potato Soup which was deee-licious. And they have Diet Mountain Dew! Prices were good and we will be back! Check it out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gaynor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higden, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The food was great and the atmosphere was very nice . the fireplace was a very nice touch espically in December.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank WW2781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Badlands Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing