We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Have Gone Better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magic City Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magic City Motel
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Minot
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could Have Gone Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I booked the reservation through hotels.com and arrived at the hotel around midnight-to find it closed. Luckily there was a sign on the door saying to call their sister hotel if there were any problems, I did and informed the woman that despite me having a reservation no one was in sight to help me, she kindly told me she would call the Magic City Hotel manager. Not long after I got off the phone Halei G arrived to help, poor thing must have been sleeping because she was dressed for bed. Once inside she tried to find my reservation only to tell me that there was no record of it, luckily I had with me a copy of my receipt and reservation from hotels.com. After that mess she politely told me that because they were not expecting anyone the only available room they had vacant was an uncleaned, smoking, room. Considering it was after midnight myself and my friends told her we weren't picky and would take the room if thats all she had. As non smokers we found the room to be difficult to breathe in because it really did wreak of smoke, the stench stained our clothes days even after we checked out, including some of our clothes that we never even unpacked. Understandably Halei said that they had been having some computer problems because of the recent storm (it was raining when we first arrived). The room itself, besides the stench, was okay. It had enough beds, a fridge, and a working bathroom and that's all we really cared about. Just a rough experience getting to the room. Halei G was a sweetheart and felt really bad about the situation and I thank her for helping us. Customer service wise the experience was great, but sadly the nice staff is not enough to convince me to continue being a Magic City Hotel Customer. I'm posting this review a little over 2 months after the experience, by listing #102 I hope I still receive a reimbursement of 20% since Halei told me I would... #102 reservation #1677

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becky n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
5
2
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I should've been tipped off when I was quoted $100 for the night when the local Hampton Inn was getting $249. I walked into an unbelieveably smelly, carpet-stained, hole-in-the-wall (door slam), ripped bed sheet, room. The place fell scary and I feared for my property in my vehicle. I thought about sleeping in my clothes. I will never check into a low-cost hotel again without first asking to see the room. Around 2AM the locals returning from the bars started yelling and awoke me. I couldn't wait to get out/run away from this place early in the morning.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Minot hotels

Rapid city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had exceptionally clean room. Pillows not comfy. Curtain was just weird. Lots of hot water excellent pressure. Liked having car next to room. But would totally stay again with our own pillows Loved the kitten!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtbkrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

They have decent pillows. Microwave and fridge. Best priced place i found.they have everything you need for comfort and sleep. Conveniently located in the middle of everything ..Much nicer than I expected. List#102 reservation number 1742

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christhetrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Clean rooms staff is friendly and honest. Air conditioners worked well and were quiet... this is important as it was HOT Cam in late and the rooms were held and they put us in the quietest part of the hotel at our request. Also we had 2 rooms side by side and We will stay again.

#102

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The staff here makes the rate seem insane! The accommodations weren't the high end type, but the bed provided unexpected comfort. The carpet needs some work but the bathroom was clean. Oh and the pillows were in abundance on the beds so I had my choice. But, I have to go back to the staff...I arrived just before midnight for my reservation. Both the manager and the assistant woke up to help me. They were kind enough to offer me a shuttle to my next destination in the morning too. Seriously, who needs frills when the staff cares for their establishment and patrons as much as the staff here at Magic City Motel? Not me, I will be coming back every time I'm waiting on a connection in Minot. Thanks y'all. Reservation # 1714, List # 102

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrington L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. the room was well appointed with nice soaps, shampoos, coffee etc. Though it is an older hotel they have fixed up the rooms with new interiors and fixtures.. Quiet, clean and comfortable. The staff are great as well. Thanks for a good stay.

codes #102
res number 1572

Room Tip: The Staff will work with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minot hotels
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Minot, ND
1.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Minot
MainStay Suites Minot
#22 of 32 in Minot
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Vegas Motel
The Vegas Motel
#25 of 32 in Minot
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Minot
Candlewood Suites Minot
#17 of 32 in Minot
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sierra Inn Minot
Sierra Inn Minot
#14 of 32 in Minot
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 32 in Minot
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic City Motel

Property: Magic City Motel
Address: 1901 S Broadway, Minot, ND 58701-6573
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magic City Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Magic City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing