We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magic City Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magic City Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 S Broadway, Minot, ND 58701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Minot
Dickinson, North Dakota, United States
1 review
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Made reservations way in advance to have three rooms (one of them a pet room) during fair time. We all showed up for the Kid Rock concert to find that the hotels computer had gone down and they had lost all the reservations. I was expecting nothing but problems however the manager stiepped up and honored our reservations, took care of the whole situation and gave us three very nice rooms. Couldn't have been happier with how all turned out. In all, it's not the Hilton but the price was good and the staff couldn't be more helpful. I'll stay there again any time I'm in Minot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
5
2
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hazen, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

yes the rooms area good price, they are next to a bar and still being worked on. I had no problem staying there for a week with my wife. I actually made money staying there helping people get there cars running, if they were not drunk and made $300

Room Tip: just ask for what you need in a room and they will try and help
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This motel is horrible very ghetto. The bar is right in front of it so you can forget about a good nights sleep. The door didn't even close all the way. Dirty room poor lighting. All around horrible. I hate to have to wright bad reviews but some people deserve to know. We stayed one night here. Went to another hotel and were able to stay for $15 more. For all the amenities we have come to expect from hotels in 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelingman199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Minot hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This place appeared to be a place where crackheads stay. The room was dark, smelly, and not nice at all. There was a couple getting kicked out, causing a scene, screaming, calling the police and carrying on. It did not feel safe. The only positive was that the staff let me cancel my room without charging me a fee. I was expecting a quaint, cozy, non corporate hotel...but really, it's kind of a dump with drug users as patrons. I am thankful to the staff though, because I'm now relaxing in a much nicer and safer hotel for only $20 more. I wish I could say nicer things...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chinacatamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, North Dakota
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

well...there were a few issues i had but in all it turned out ok. I like to stay in places where i can save some money. the people here gave me discounts, but double charged my credit card, but in the end they fixed it and i got my money back. the room was fine and the bed was comfortable, though the room was a bit drafty. The bathroom was extremely cold and drafty. they are renovating so i give them credit for the improvements. housekeeping left a little to be desired, but they fixed that also. so all in all...i would stay here again, but would first make sure the room was warmer and i would pay cash.

Room Tip: just make sure your room is warm. even though there were a lot of people in the motel it was fairly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Rooms are small and certainly not fancy but was extremely clean, staff was nice and beds quite comfortable. Wouldn't spend over $100 to stay there (found a $70 coupon) but for the price it was not bad.

Room Tip: Find a coupon
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vinny2Thumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I don’t think it would be possible to have anything but a great experience staying at the Magic City Motel. Work brought me to Minot for the first time this past week and being a frequent business traveler, I have certain needs that need to be met. They not only were… they were exceeded! The Manager Heather and the rest of the staff were very friendly, courteous and made me feel at home and my room was neat and clean. Plus the fast WiFi was a bonus. I had a first rate experience.

I'd highly recommend the Magic City Motel to anyone. Keep up the great customer service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minot hotels
1.1 mi away
Souris Valley Suites
Souris Valley Suites
#17 of 32 in Minot
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 32 in Minot
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minot / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minot
0.8 mi away
Noble Inn
Noble Inn
#1 of 32 in Minot
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Minot
Fairfield Inn Minot
#10 of 32 in Minot
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic City Motel

Property: Magic City Motel
Address: 1901 S Broadway, Minot, ND 58701
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magic City Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Magic City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing