We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic City Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magic City Motel
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Minot
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a bad place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Rooms are small and certainly not fancy but was extremely clean, staff was nice and beds quite comfortable. Wouldn't spend over $100 to stay there (found a $70 coupon) but for the price it was not bad.

Room Tip: Find a coupon
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vinny2Thumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    7
    2
    12
See reviews for
6
2
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I don’t think it would be possible to have anything but a great experience staying at the Magic City Motel. Work brought me to Minot for the first time this past week and being a frequent business traveler, I have certain needs that need to be met. They not only were… they were exceeded! The Manager Heather and the rest of the staff were very friendly, courteous and made me feel at home and my room was neat and clean. Plus the fast WiFi was a bonus. I had a first rate experience.

I'd highly recommend the Magic City Motel to anyone. Keep up the great customer service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at Magic City a few years ago and it was shabby. I stayed again last week and was suprised to see that the hotel had been upgraded to a place where I wanted to be. The hotel may have gotten new management, but the services and cleanliness were much improved. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Yes, I have stayed in nicer hotels but I don't have any serious complaints. The staff was incredibly helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. They were really quick to check me in and address my concerns.

Affordable, clean and has beds, pretty much what I'm looking for in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeredCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

It was great being at Magic City. Every evening I was getting back to my room and I was feeling at home. Except for the fact I do not have WI-Fi at home but it was efficient at the Hotel.
Plus: 100 feet away I had both a nice bar and a restaurant.

Very kind manager.

Go to Magic City Motel: it nice

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo33045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

it is a good holtel with super staff all the way from the manager heather to the front desk darcy. i would definately stay there again and the rooms are clean it shows the whole staff goes the extra mile

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spoon29741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Hotel doesnt have a sign on the road. Very hard to locate for those not from the area. Unsure how you would know its there without the sign! Lighting is awful in the rooms. No inside door lock or bolt. Had to prop a chair to secure the door. Bathroom does not have a door rather an accordian pull door that didnt stay shut. Spend your money elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Warminmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisNicole, General Manager at Magic City Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
I would like to first off thank you for the Review of our Newly Acquired Hotel, We always appreciate the feedback from our guests.
We realize the sign is an isuue,and have been in the process of obtaining a new sign but because of the economy in and surronding Minot we are having issues with getting the sign in a timely manner.
We are still in the process of fininshing the renovations to the Hotel, the other items listed on the review are on the list of completion.
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Minot hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minot hotels
0.8 mi away
Sierra Inn Minot
Sierra Inn Minot
#14 of 31 in Minot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minot
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Minot
Fairfield Inn Minot
#11 of 31 in Minot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hyatt House Minot
Hyatt House Minot
#3 of 31 in Minot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Astoria Hotel & Suites Minot
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Minot South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic City Motel

Property: Magic City Motel
Address: 1901 S Broadway, Minot, ND 58701-6573
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magic City Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Magic City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing