We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
72
113
56
30
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
113
56
30
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water park older kids the dakota square mall breakfast room fridge and microwave front desk staff waffles business center waterpark waterslides shopping arcade splash convenience target shoppers cleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 308 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2008

I had never stayed at a Sleep Inn before, usually opting for a Comfort or Cambria when staying with the Choice Hotel chain, so didn't really know what to expect.

Arrived 2 hours before check-in and there were no rooms similar to what we had booked ready yet, which was expected. The front desk employee was very gracious and friendly and even offered to see if something else to our liking was ready so we could check in right away. We ended up roaming the mall and looking over the water park instead. The Mall is small to average sized and fairly nice, with limited store selections. The water park has 3 good sized slides, with the yellow one a bit rough on the seams, the purple one completely enclosed (tunnel-like) and a bit dark/scary for youngsters with an aversion to that sort of thing and the orange one which was our favorite mostly because the seams weren't too noticeable.

As for the hotel, it looks pretty standard from the outside, but the inside was nicely up to date with soft, thick carpet in the lobby and hallways. The room was very clean, tastefully decorated and had everything we needed, including a soft recliner and large shower (no tub). The ceilings were high and it wasn't just a plain old white-walled square hotel room. Most importantly (to us) was that the bed itself was comfortable. We had trouble with hard mattresses at the previous 3 hotels stayed at during the week and were very happy to finally get a great night's sleep.

Not the most convenient location for anyone with a need to go the the Air Force Base as it's on the opposite end of town from the base, but not a horrible drive by any means.

There seemed to be plenty of good places to eat nearby and in Minot and once we figured out the neighborhood, found the Wal-Mart Supercenter to be an easy 5 minute drive from the hotel.

Lots of well-lit parking and card-secured exterior entrances for those especially concerned about security.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chadsK5907JZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

After our fiasco at the Comfort Inn down the street, we booked the Sleep Inn. This hotel is far better than the Comfort Inn. The rooms were up to date and very clean. There was even a water park attached to the hotel. It was far enough away from the rooms that there was no noise pollution. It had an excellent breakfast with very friendly staff working it. Great front desk as well. Because there really isn't a great choice in sit down retaurants, unless of course you love the Applebee's and can eat there constantly, fast food is really all there is. We went to McDonald's and took it back to the room. The McDonald's was out of ketchup packets. The front desk was nice enough to lend us a bottle of ketchup! For Minot, this is a five star hotel. Oh, by the way, if you are looking to hit the road early in the morning, the McDonald's doesn't open till seven AM!

Date of stay: July 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GSU1EAGLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Our family stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Our 5 year old really liked the water slides. The pool you land in is a little deep. Bring a life jacket for the little ones if they can’t swim. The mall attached to the hotel is a nice feature too. Lots of stores, and not really very busy. Rooms were relatively clean; however any place that would require a little extra effort to clean there was dirt to be found.

Date of stay: July 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutTouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We went to minot on Victoria day and we stayed at the sleep inn hotel.I traveled with my three kids and my husband. My kids loved the water park but me and my husband hated it. the rooms were terrible for the priceand the waterpark was much to loud.but the continental brekfast was okay. and the staff were freindly so it didn't turn out all that bad. Sincerly Dr. Emily

Date of stay: February 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank superchickOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

We checked in and stayed a full 7 nights in this hotel. As far as I could tell, we were the only people staying an entire week during this time as the waterpark and hotel itself seemed very empty. Once we completely unpacked into the room, I opened the curtains to notice we were given a room with a view of the HVAC system to the kitchen/breakfast area below leaving no view to enjoy. The HVAC system would cycle on and off several times an hour all week and was very noticable. Why the front desk would give this room to a family staying an entire week when the hotel was completely empty is beyond me. I mentioned this issue to the front desk and they suggested we talk to the manager about a rate adjustment. We tried to speak to him several times and he was always too busy or on the phone. After 4 or 5 times trying to reach him, the front desk again asked him to talk to us and he (Terry) came out of his office, looked right at us and then walked back into his office. He then sent the front desk lady out to tell us that he said there's nothing he could do except suggest a smaller, cheaper room (We had A Suite..half of the hotel is suites). We were beyond insulted that we were pretty much living in this hotel and the manager wouldn't even talk with us...but came out just to look at us? The toddler pool is too cold for toddlers as others have mentioned and the adult pool is much warmer for some reason. The chlorine content in the pools was too high as it ate the words and paint right off of my sports watch which I have worn swimming for the past few years. The yellow water slide is very rough where the seams come together and it ripped my sister-in-laws bathing suit completely apart. Do not take small children on the water slides. This hotel has a waterpark, an arcade and is attached to the mall and is still ranked 5th best in Minot, which says a lot. If you like the mall, staying here is the optimal place for you, otherwise I would check elsewhere.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Matt701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews