We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best attraction in Minot!”

Scandinavian Heritage Park
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Minot
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best attraction in Minot!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband is in the military and we just got stationed here from Louisiana. We decided to take our kids out to expand our knowledge of the area and ran into this wonderful place! It is a beautiful, well maintained park that is rich in Scandanavian heritage! The Stave church was very beautiful and the lady that volunteered there was very helpful in explaining not only the artifacts of the church but for the whole park! I am now looking forward to revisiting the park during the Norsk Hostfest next month to have the full experience. If you see any sights in Minot, let this be on the top of your list!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Effie431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    72
    22
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cute little park with lots to see”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

For a park run by volunteers and funded by donations, it is incredibly maintained. The Gol Stave Church replica and the Dala horse were definitely the draws. A wonderful volunteer gave us the historical rundown of everything in the park: it was like having a private tour. There is also a little gift shop where you can find state maps and information on other sights in Minot. Lots of free parking, and admissions are by donation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WanderingTraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrot River, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a beautiful little park, Very relaxing place just to sit and think. Nice walkways, waterfall, bridges and a huge stone globe that rides on a cushion of water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank terdyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was very impressed with this! Hard to believe that something kept in such great condition is run strictly from visitor donations and volunteers! There were people (volunteers) located at the various buildings on the site who were very knowledgable about the Scandinavian countries and the artifacts on display. A truly thrilling tour. Worth stopping by!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very interesting with beautiful structures. Wonderful setting for pictures. Nice to be able to walk around and look at all the cultural things.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mammatapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scandinavian Heritage Park also viewed

 

Been to Scandinavian Heritage Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing