We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Souris Valley Suites
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Minot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here one night in March and the service was okay until after we checked out. My 3 year old got sick and ended up throwing up a little on the bed sheets. we stripped the bed and the next day I was charged two nights stay for a cleaning fee. They said they would not wash the sheets and had to replace them and the comforter which was just fine and clean. I will never ever stay here again or suggest it to anyone else. When I asked about the fee the lady on the phone was extremely rude!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SourisValley1, Director of Sales at Souris Valley Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Miranda,
I do apologize for your recent experience, but our staff was not notified about your child being sick. We do not let our staff handle any type of bodily fluids per Health Department Regulations. If we would have been notified when this happen we could have made an exception. Again I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused, if you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 113 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

We booked our room for one night in February and went with another couple. We selected this hotel mainly because it was pet friendly and we never even heard any noise. The room was very nice and clean and especially quiet which I really liked. We was very impressed with the kitchenette. The complimentary breakfast was very good with a nice selection. Also the staff was very professional and friendly. And best of all, Wal-Mart was really close! We would recommend this hotel and will go back there next time we're in Minot.

Room Tip: The end suite was very quiet and roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 899DebbieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SourisValley1, Director of Sales at Souris Valley Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

899DebbieS
Thank you for taking your time in reviewing Souris Valley Suites. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with Souris Valley Suites. We look foward in seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

It was late and we were looking for a room and no one had anything available we went to expedia and found this hotel and I am glad we did. Very clean and very nice rooms. Service was great and Breakfast was good as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SourisValley1, Director of Sales at Souris Valley Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Jody,
Thank you for taking time to review Souris Valley Suites. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and our Hot Breakfast Buffet.
We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was our 2nd stay and it was as pleasant as the 1st. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Everyone greeted you with a smile and "hello". Had trouble with a vehicle plug-in and the front desk clerk came out to help! (No need to call & wait for maintenance) All the staff that we encountered would go out of their way to help you if possible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 447brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SourisValley1, Director of Sales at Souris Valley Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Brent,
We are happy you enjoy your stay at Souris Valley Suites. I want to thank you for taking your time reviewing us. We hope to you again at Souris Valley Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked and stayed 3 nights in Nov 2013. We traveled with another 3 couples all of us staying at Souris Valley. And doing some serious Christmas Shopping.

The room itself was very clean, 2 queen sized beds, these rooms are suites with kitchenettes with full size fridge with ice machines, stove top, microwave, dishwasher, nice sized sink, cutlery, basically all you would need in a kitchen.

Our bathroom was spacious with great counter space, shower and a tub. Our friends who had King sized beds, had showers only, I was not impressed with how the showers were laid out, you walk in and around a corner, not inviting and really to me dark. Not my cup of tea, and with my imagination, I would expect to see that in a horror movie.

I was very impressed with our room and layout and the cleanliness of it.

Customer service was amazing, we were allowed an early check in. They were very accommodating and allowing us to use the breakfast area and bring our own drinks, so we could visit as a group and enjoy our later meals.

There is a continental + breakfast I believe from 7-10am. The breakfast on Friday was wonderful and fresh lots to choose from, juice, milk, coffee, tea, muffins, fresh fruit, yogurts, a mixed sausage and potato mixture, bagels, toast etc. It seemed lacking on Sat and Sun morning, there were more travelers and they seemed to have a hard time keeping up with the demand, and as well the clean up of the tables. Everyone just took it in stride and waited patiently.

There was a bar I believe open until 10pm, its in the breakfast area, although we did not use this, it looked well stocked with a friendly bar keep.

There was a exercise room, but there is not a pool for those who have young children or who want the exercise.

The location is very convenient, you could not ask for better.

Now for the However part....The beds...not only myself, but the other couples, especially with us ladies, we found the beds to be extremely uncomfortable, rock hard. To the point where I seriously thought I had whip lash. Half of our group felt this way. And it took a good week or so for myself to feel normal again. It really took its toll on us and made our get away trip very disappointing.

If it were not for the bed situation at this hotel I would definitely stay there again. Or for some ( such as my husband) they were just fine with the beds.....

Happy Shopping!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SourisValley1, Director of Sales at Souris Valley Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Tammy Thank you for taking time to review Souris Valley Suites. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I am in and out so quick, they make it easy. Quiet room, good breakfast and I am off. :) It snowed overnight and the guy clearing the lot had cleared a path to the door of my car!! So kind! The only complaint, no water pressure in the shower :(

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jess2274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SourisValley1, Director of Sales at Souris Valley Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

We are happy you enjoyed your stay in November 2013. I do apologize for the water pressure, but I will let our staff know about your experience with us. We hope to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel before flying out of Minot the next am. It was our first stay and we'll definitely be back. The rooms are a good size - huge walk in shower, lots of desk and counter space. We loved that there was a fridge and plenty of room for snacks and food if you were staying a few nights. The bbq area outside looks like a great spot for groups to spend evenings and the bar/breakfast room was quite big. We'll definitely stay here again on future trips to Minot.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank CarissaCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SourisValley1, Director of Sales at Souris Valley Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

CarissaCG thank you for taking time for your review. We at Souris Valley Suites we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be back. We look forward in seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minot hotels
4.7 mi away
Hyatt House Minot
Hyatt House Minot
#3 of 31 in Minot
464 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minot
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Minot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minot
1.0 mi away
Best Western Kelly Inn
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Riverside- Minot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souris Valley Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souris Valley Suites

Address: 800 37th Ave SW, Minot, ND 58701-7305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Minot
Price Range: $70 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Souris Valley Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and convenience are always important in a hotel, especially when you’re planning to stay a while. The all-suite extended stay Souris Valley Suites in Minot, North Dakota, was designed with the needs of extended stay guests in mind. The rustic lodge decor creates a warm and inviting environment and a residential atmosphere that is enhanced by the friendly North Dakota personalities of our helpful staff. Each of our 136 studio and one-bedroom guest suites are equipped to ensure a comfortable and rewarding extended stay. Each suite includes a full kitchen, quality bath amenities, and wired and wireless high speed internet at our hotel in Minot, ND. Start your day on the right foot with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Utilize our 24 hour business center to put the final touches on any project. Other onsite amenities at our Minot hotel include our Grillin Pavillion, Evening Managers Reception on Wednesday enjoy a rotating menu of savory bites, Bakken Lounge (On Site Bar), Fitness Center 24 hours, Free Guest Laundry 24hours and Valley Market where you can purchase an array of items that you may need during your stay. Souris Valley Suites is located in the heart of the main business district and is within walking distance to Wal-Mart, Village Inn, Buffalo Wild Wings, Pizza Ranch and more. The hotel is conveniently located 6 miles south of the Minot International Airport. It is also within minutes of other things to do including the Roosevelt Park Zoo, Dakota Square Mall, the North Dakota State Fair Grounds, Minot State University, and the Minot Air Force Base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Souris Valley Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing