We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if you don't care about a pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Souris Valley Suites
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Minot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

There is really nothing bad to say about this hotel except for the fact that it doesn't have a pool. We had our 2 year old daughter with us so a pool would have been awesome, and I know she was disappointed. We stayed one night for a meeting we had here and thus didn't have a choice in picking the hotel. The room was very nice and clean. There was only a standup shower, no tub, but that wasn't a big deal to us. This would be a great hotel for an extended stay as all the rooms have little kitchens in them with a full size fridge, microwave (a free bag of popcorn too), sink, dishwasher, and all the pots, pans, glasses, and silverware to go with it. There are also DVD players in each room and DVDs available at the front desk to watch for free. The continental breakfast was good, with hot and cold foods available - also a bar open during the evenings. There is a business room with 2 computers and a printer available for guest use, too. As long as you don't care about having a pool or not, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brillo6510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 113 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our medical plane flew into Minot and the first thing I did was get on trip Advisor to check out hotels. Souris Valley Suites had very good ratings and a very nice price tag. Some of the other places were $50 more a night. Rooms are very large and it is nice to have full size fridge and a big desk area. The bed was super comfortable with nice soft linens. There's a managers reception (which is actually dinner)Tues-Thurs evenings and a huge daily breakfast buffet. The cinnamon rolls were the best I've ever eaten. I believe Souris Valley is geared more to extended-stay customers so if you want daily cleanings and/or more towels, all you have to do is ask. I almost forgot the laundry facilities...the best! and free and a lot of them! They sell very reasonably priced products in their store. They have nice work-out equip and outside area for grilling. There is no pool, so if you are traveling with youngsters, that might be one downfall.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nurse1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Not anything special but comfortable and clean.Only stayed 1 night but has a full size fridge stove and all the cookware & utensils you need for a longer stay. Didn't have the comp breakfast or the managers reception.Staff was freindly. Always a +.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shooterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Nice large rooms, but for the daily rate, found no daily housekeeping done. For $120 a night would like fresh towels and beds made up daily. Full kitchen on check-in, but if need more coffee or amenities, must go to front desk to obtain. Staff very curteous and helpful.

Room Tip: End rooms in the winter do not warm up well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gussie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is one of the newer places to stay in Minot. Very reasonable rates. Nice hot breakfast included. Very friendly staff. Clean. Quiet. Close to most places in Minot. Rooms are nice. Wonderful to have your own full-size fridge, microwave, etc. We stayed here for a racquetball tournament at the local YMCA so the complimentary washing facilities at the hotel came in very handy. Nice touch to have a quiet bar open at 5:00 each day. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is not interested in a pool or hot tub.

Room Tip: 3rd floor ... east or west side is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Acura93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I enjoyed staying at the Souris Valley Suites. It was my first time staying here and found the staff to be friendly, accomodating, and continued to ask how my stay was. I stayed only one night. As a business traveler, the hotel was easy to get in and out, had good internet connection, breakfast and a managers reception. The hotel and room was clean (even with all the oil workers staying there). The front desk staff and management were extremely eager to make sure my stay was welcoming. The remote control was missing from my room, but within a few minutes a new one was delivered to my room. The breakfast was as good as can be expected in a hotel buffet style. The exercise room was clean and had a variety of machines. A great experience for a business traveler.

Room Tip: I travel about 75 nights a year and enjoyed this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I really liked the suite concept, it was really nice to have a full size fridge in the room. I was also happy that there's a bar IN the hotel. Nicely appointed rooms, great staff! It was also good to have DVDs available at the front counter. The DVDs make a long stay there a lot more pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YourNextGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minot hotels
4.7 mi away
Hyatt House Minot
Hyatt House Minot
#2 of 31 in Minot
472 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Kelly Inn
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Minot
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minot
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Riverside- Minot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souris Valley Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souris Valley Suites

Address: 800 37th Ave SW, Minot, ND 58701-7305
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Minot
Price Range: $70 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Souris Valley Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and convenience are always important in a hotel, especially when you’re planning to stay a while. The all-suite extended stay Souris Valley Suites in Minot, North Dakota, was designed with the needs of extended stay guests in mind. The rustic lodge decor creates a warm and inviting environment and a residential atmosphere that is enhanced by the friendly North Dakota personalities of our helpful staff. Each of our 136 studio and one-bedroom guest suites are equipped to ensure a comfortable and rewarding extended stay. Each suite includes a full kitchen, quality bath amenities, and wired and wireless high speed internet at our hotel in Minot, ND. Start your day on the right foot with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Utilize our 24 hour business center to put the final touches on any project. Other onsite amenities at our Minot hotel include our Grillin Pavillion, Evening Managers Reception on Wednesday enjoy a rotating menu of savory bites, Bakken Lounge (On Site Bar), Fitness Center 24 hours, Free Guest Laundry 24hours and Valley Market where you can purchase an array of items that you may need during your stay. Souris Valley Suites is located in the heart of the main business district and is within walking distance to Wal-Mart, Village Inn, Buffalo Wild Wings, Pizza Ranch and more. The hotel is conveniently located 6 miles south of the Minot International Airport. It is also within minutes of other things to do including the Roosevelt Park Zoo, Dakota Square Mall, the North Dakota State Fair Grounds, Minot State University, and the Minot Air Force Base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Souris Valley Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing