We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Passing Through” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dakota Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakota Inn
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Minot
Alderson
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Passing Through”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Motel is located in a nice area with easy access to roads and all shops and stores, rooms are average but nice and clean and quiet, friendly staff, a bar is on property that has friendly staff and good prices, indoor swimming pool is clean and nice to relax beside, room price is excellent compared to others around the area. Free breakfast is basic with waffles and muffins and such...no eggs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    6
    6
    12
See reviews for
4
7
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We booked a pre-paid two night stay at the end of April, 2014 through Priceline. We chose this hotel because their ad said they had an indoor pool and hot tub. When we arrived we found that both the pool and hot tub were closed indefinitely for "maintenance." On checking with long term guests, the hot tub had been out-of-service for at least three months. Management basically said, "Tough luck." The room we had the first night had no heat until I found a hidden switch. The toilet did not work right and there was water seeping through the wall and soaking the rug. In the morning an alarm went off and when I checked with the front desk it was caused by water seeping into another part of the motel. More water had seeped into our room overnight so that at least 6 feet of carpet was water logged. We were given another room which was warm and dry. But the toilet in this room also required fiddling with before it worked. It appears as though the current management has reduced maintenance to a minimum and is allowing the place to run down. Another review mentioned mold. With water-soaked carpets that is a serious possibility. Avoid this dump!

Room Tip: Water was seeping into even numbered rooms on the ground floor (128, 130, 132, etc) Avoid this area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Minot hotels

Williston, North Dakota
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stay here as often as we can when we are in minot. the staff are very nice and try to give us the best deals they can. They have a small continental breakfast thats ok. could use more variety. They do provide pet rooms so that is nice for us as we bring our pug Tucker along with us.

Room Tip: we usually get the pet friendly rooms in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, North Dakota
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

the room looked clean but had a strange smell. kinda moldy. they were short on the towels and washcloths. the staff were nice. breakfast was so so but ok.. one good point...the toilet paper was soft! the bed left something to be desired. it was quiet on the 1st floor/

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Company put us in this dive! We were to stay in this place for 3 weeks but only lasted 3 days before everyone started getting sick from the mold in the rooms, a/c units and bedbugs! I told the GM, he said checked various rooms and found nothing. We took pictures of the problems. This place is a unhealthy environment. I wouldn't even let my dog stay here! Don't waste your time or money! It's not worth your health!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank plb615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We found the staff very polite and helpful.
We were tired and we appreciated having somewhere just off the highway.
The nearby restaurant was good and very convenient. We enjoyed the waffles at the free breakfast. All this for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sask., Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was bad. I agree with the person who said I would have rather slept in the car. We arrived late and decided to go to Minot last minute. Never imagined we wouldn't find a room. We should have clued in when this one had a room available. If you want to run a hotel then you need to keep it up to liveable standards. This was 2 years ago but by the looks of the review it hasn't changed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMichelleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minot hotels
2.5 mi away
Sierra Inn Minot
Sierra Inn Minot
#19 of 32 in Minot
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
1.6 mi away
Magic City Motel
Magic City Motel
#29 of 32 in Minot
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Minot
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Minot
Fairfield Inn Minot
#10 of 32 in Minot
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Minot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Inn

Property: Dakota Inn
Address: 2401 West Highway 2 and 52 Bypass, Minot, ND 58701
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dakota Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Dakota Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing