We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Welcoming Laid Back Chalet in La Plagne”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Glorious Dining Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lizzie a
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Welcoming Laid Back Chalet in La Plagne”
Reviewed February 9, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We visited at the end of January for our annual ski trip, and it's fair to say this is the best chalet I've stayed in for various reasons. Half our group had stayed here before and had recommended it, therefore we were keen to book again. Our flights were quite delayed coming into Geneva but Sarah was more than welcoming (when we eventually did arrive) and was a great introduction to our holiday + alpoholics. Upon arriving at the chalet, we were pleased to discover how laid back and unassuming it was, alongside being very generously sized. The layout was perfect for a group of our size and the different variety of rooms and activities (music, massage, cinema room, hot tub, sauna + Mario kart) kept everyone entertained across the week.

The service and hospitality throughout the week was great. It can't be easy dealing with a group of 21 rowdy adults but Jess and Charlie pulled it off effortlessly. The food was awesome, having stayed in a branded catered chalet last year Charlie's offerings were far superior and the portion sizes and variance were perfect after a day on the slopes.

A few of us rented boards throughout the week which I'd definitely recommend as they're very reasonably priced and good quality bataleon boards, and Charlie was more than happy to help if people wanted to change boards or play with different ones.

Overall a fantastic week. La Plagne itself is a bit quieter as a resort but this made no difference to us as Chalet Orshanti was such a great place to stay and meant we spent more nights in as a group than we did out, it was a real pleasure and I'm sure we'll be back soon. Thanks!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon V
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Brilliant .... Again!”
Reviewed February 9, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is the second time I've filled Chalet Orshanti with 21 people and it's the second time they've all had a great time. To be honest it's getting a bit boring ... do something wrong :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chalet and Food
Liked least: Only Booked 1 week
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya K
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great people, great week, great chalet, great snow, great skiing, great craic!”
Reviewed January 30, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had a fantastic week in Chalet Orshanti, Charlie, Sarah and the crew made our stay a wonderful experience from we arrived until we left. We're well seasoned in Chalet holidays and it's fair to say that the customer service and hospitality were second to none to the point where Charlie spent an afternoon tracking down a lost mobile phone for us - successfully - and he couldn't do enough when a guest broke her leg. Nothing was too much trouble. Charlie is very in touch with his business, his team and his clients - a great combination. The chalet is fantastic. Well appointed rooms, facilities to make your holiday a great experience including cinema room, games room, hot tub and sauna. Loads of space to change in the boot room (normally a bug bear for me) and nothing is too much for Charlie and his team. I would recommend Alpoholics and Chalet Orshanti.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Comfortable bed, massage,hot tub and hospitality
Liked least: Ease of access to piste.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2016
Thanks Tanya for your incredibly kind words! I think you are maybe being a little too generous but we certainly try our best to provide the best guest experience we possibly can. We look forward to seeing you again :-).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“10/10 Highly recommend”
Reviewed January 13, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The Chalet was amazing. Really close to the slopes and decked out with everything you could possibly need for a ski holiday with a sauna, hot tub and cinema. They even had an on site masseuse!

The chalet hosts were friendly but highly professional. They made us feel right at home and provided the kind of service you would expect in a 5 star luxury chalet. I was not expecting this level of service for the price. Our host Charlie even lent me a brand new snowboard to try out.

The food was great. The dishes were different every night and seemed to get better as the week went on. I've stayed in many catered chalets so was glad not to receive typical, clichéd French dishes!

I can't recommend Alpoholics highly enough and will definitely be going back for my next ski trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilburLen...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A chalet company that can cater for everyone with high standards.”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I have just returned from my 2nd year with Alpoholics. It was hard to improve on the year before because the food is still excellent with wine and beer included during dinner. They still have a big outside hot tub which you can use till 10pm. The big addition this year is the home cinema with complementary pop corn, while watching a movie of your choice, with proper cinema seats and large projector screen., such a good way to chill out through the week. I went with a party of 4 and really jelled with the other guests. Great holiday and would always recommend to friends and families.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAH
London
2 reviews
“Great chalet, in house cinema, sauna and hot tub!”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Chalet Orshanti for the opening week of the season in December and had a fantastic time.

The rooms were spacious with plenty of storage for all our kit, the food was excellent every day and we couldn't ask for more from the chalet and staff.

We made full use of the sauna and hot tub to relax at the end of the day. But the big surprise was the awesome in house cinema! V comfy and awesome sound!

The two of us also made use of the bataleon/switchback test centre, trailing new boards and bindings during our stay.

We drove out there for the first time this year and the chalet was easy to get to, with plenty of free parking in Plagne 1800 after you have unloaded your bags, but as we were the only ones with a car we managed to park in a space near the chalet which was great!

Big thumbs up Alpoholics team!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T W
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a group”
Reviewed December 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I posted on a forum what i wanted from my ski holiday, two mins later Charlie called and informed me about Orshanti. I was hooked on what he said as it ticked all the boxes for the 17 of us looking for a great holiday. The chalet was just what we wanted and close to the slopes. It's biggest asset was the staff. The 3 guys were so down to earth and such a laugh to be around. Their menu and meals blew us away every night, such good quality. I haven’t been back as we like to visit a different resort every year, but I would recommend this to any large group who wants a comfortable stay in a great location!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The evening food
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2015
Thanks Tom! You should see the chalet now as the hot tub is outdoors and there is a full HD 10 seater cinema where the hot tub once was! Hopefully we'll see you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing