We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not special”
Review of Golden Yavor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Yavor Hotel
Ranked #84 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, but not special”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Expensive, but just basic hotel. Our room was big and clean including two toilets: one small and bigger one with bathtub. We made a mistake and bought "all inclusive". There were many kind of food, but everything tasted same and there was no healthy food availabe.

Pool area was nice: two pools one to kinds and one to adults. No bad place to stay at all, but next time I'll go somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
37
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here in August for 5 nights all inclusive in one of the apartments.
Air condition was not working and despite the fact that we complained several times nothing was done.We requested another apartment but they said none was available. Not to mention how dirty was the carpet.
Good location and ok food .
The staff as everybody pointed out was not so friendly .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neaosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights all-inclusive in July 2012. Please read below for an honest review. Don't just take my word for it-check out the photos I have uploaded of other guests thoughts from the hotels comments book.

STAFF

The staff at this hotel are unbelievably rude and unhelpful. The man on reception thought it was appropriate so continually respond with "and?" when presented with a query or issue. We were sent to another hotel to pay to use their internet and printer because the man on reception refused to help us use our in-house facilities.

FOOD & DRINK

The food is more in line with a 2 star accommodation than the 4 star status this hotel claims. Everything is designed to minimise costs and this is demonstrated by a delectable nightly offering of Asda smart price chicken nuggets and partially rotten potato's served in the roast variety. 

Diet coke is not provided free with all-inclusive. It is £4.50 for a 1 litre bottle from the hotel shop. Given that my mum is diabetic, this posed a substantial health and financial worry for us. Eventually after a very frosty meeting with the manager, we negotiated this to be included.

There is one toaster for the whole hotel; simply making two slices of toast in the morning a very lengthly process.

ROOMS

Actually fairly clean and fit for purpose. We paid for a pool view but we did not get one. When raising this with reception, we were told that the room constituted a 'pool view' because we could see another hotels pool through the trees, approximately 200 metres down the road. Unbelievable.

Having stayed in countless hostels whilst backpacking through India and South-East Asia, I am certainly not a snob and do not fall into the very British trap of expecting  the same quality of food and service we regularly enjoy in the UK. In the 37 countries I have visited, I have never been spoken to or shown as little respect as I did at the Golden Yavor Hotel in Bulgaria.

Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dmp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Golden Sands hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

All inclusive, ok! Bar staff a bit grumpy and there was apt of queuing for drinks. Food a bit of a mismatch. Enertainment most nights. Al fresco dining area & drinking area at night around the pool was nice . Met a gr8 bunch of peoe, this added to the enjoyment. Mixed nationalities which was great. After 11pm we all went into golden sands night life, which is brilliant. Think the earliest we came home was 7am... Lol.... Golden Sands great nightlife & cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view... And you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livelovelifelaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Likes:
The location is excellent! The hotel is situated next to the “entertaining area”. It is not far away from the beach (it takes about 5 minutes to get there). You have a lot of facilities in the hotel including computers with internet or you can bring your own computer and pay the wireless option. The pool is very big and clean as well. There are a lot of sun beds, sun beds’ mattresses and towels for the pool area. The apartment we stayed in was rather spacious, quite clean, the little kitchen was well equipped, the fridge was big, the air conditioner functional, the TV had Bulgarian ,English, German, Romanian, Russian and Spanish channels. The receptionists were friendly and helpful.

Dislikes:
The hotel has some flooding and mould problems. In the dining hall there was a big stain on the ceiling and everyday water was pouring out of it. In our bathroom there was a huge mould stain on the ceiling. The bathroom wasn’t very clean as required at a 4-star hotel but acceptable. We were upset about the food because it wasn’t cooked well (too much oil, the chicken was raw in the middle, it had no spices). There is a quite large variety of foods there but they didn’t taste the way we expected to. I also wanted more entertaining at the pool area. There was some music for about half an hour every day and that was all…

Conclusions:
If you want to spend your holiday at a luxurious hotel Golden Yavor is not the option. If you just want to spend a relaxing holiday at the beach you can choose this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank petra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We spent 9 nights in this hotel and everything was above expectations. This resort is really worth the money, many people are afraid of Bulgaria, but it is better than most parts of Greece or Spain. Newly built hotels everywhere, good location, lovely beach 3 mins from the hotel. Tha food was always fresh and perfect, lots of fish and salad, (what I like), but meat also plenty. We did not go AI, but in the apt. we had all cooking accessories and fridge, which served us well. From the hotel there is a free shuttle to Varna Grand Mall, comfortable and air conned. The rooms are modernly furnished, spacious, lovely bathroom. The only downside of the hotel is that it is quite noisy at night. There is no night bar or so, but people are not told off when jumping in the pool drunk at 4 a.m. and if you like to sleep at open window you can not. If you are ok. with air condition when sleeping, this can cause no problem. Theer are Not many English people in the resort or in the hotel, mainly eastern-Europeans and a couple of German (But they are the noisiest).

Room Tip: 5th or 6th floor apartements in the medium wing towards the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank szilvih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Studio rooms are big, not sterile clean, but ok. Pool is big, and is wonderful for bigger children (depth 145cm). Kids pool is 70cm deep. WARNING! Massage center in hotel SPA area (Mr.Kirov) is not recommended for women: it was not professional - the discusting man tried to touch inpropriate way under my underwear several times and even put my hands to his private areas while doing the massage for my hands and shoulders. I did a report to the hotel but I assume he continues his business anyway.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Sanina2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mak
Hotel Mak
#99 of 110 in Golden Sands
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#53 of 110 in Golden Sands
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#66 of 110 in Golden Sands
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#11 of 110 in Golden Sands
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#13 of 110 in Golden Sands
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Havana Casino, Hotel & Spa
Havana Casino, Hotel & Spa
#16 of 110 in Golden Sands
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Yavor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Yavor Hotel

Property: Golden Yavor Hotel
Address: Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
#42 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Yavor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Yavor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Yavor Hotel Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing