We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its time for animation!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marina Grand Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marina Grand Beach
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Golden Sands
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Its time for animation!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and three children (11,13,15) for two week and had a great time with the activities at the hotel lead by the animation team- Mimi,Koko,Karri and Damyan. There was a kids club for the younger children then activites such as water gymnastics, cocktail game, volley ball, table tennis for the older teens and adults. The team were always happy and smiley and so enthustiatic. They spoke good english and were always glad to see and talk to you. There was a great choice of food at meal times which varied each day, but unlike many hotels there was not a kids corner for the children but the food served was good enough for the kids and adults. The hotel was clean, spacious, close to the beach and markets.The beach was a 2 min walk from the hotel and offered a range of water activites and the market offered also, a range of different stalls from clothes to souvenirs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    49
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
89
46
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I went with our 2 children (Ollie 7yr, Mia 5yr) and another family with their 2 children and we ALL had an AMAZING holiday! We were all so sad to leave. Before I talk about the hotel and resort, our children will never forget the events team, with a special THANKS to Mimi, Rado and Damyan who took our children under their wing at the kids club, doing various activities throughout the day & disco parties at night, allowing us to have some adult time whilst knowing the children were having so much fun! Mimi, Rado, Damyan; we miss you all! They were not only there for our children but were great at motivating the adults to join in as well; water polo, boules & volleyball on the beach etc. You could relax by the poolside knowing that your little ones were safe as the life guards were just fantastic, we have never seen such pro-active, conscientious and friendly life guards, thank you too! The hotel was very spacious, clean and friendly, equivalent to some 4* hotels in the UK. Rooms were great, large, with lovely views from the balcony of the sea, especially at night! The food was great, lots of choice and something different every day, plenty for adutls and children to choose from. There could have been a better selection of puddings and fruit though, and it would have been nice if the children could have had ice cream, lollies throughout the day in our All Inclusive package. The resort was lovely, not too big either, felt safe when strolling the streets and stalls, great choice of bars, restaurants etc. and we were right on the beach, very clean, bit busy with the typical tourists beds/parosols etc....sea was awesome, clear, soft sand under foot, you can walk and swim right out and still be safe with the children, some days fantastic waves, which the children spent many hours jumping and swimming through. Places to see, Varna (nice city, 20mins on local bus, very cheap, great children amusement park, very cheap too), nice woodland walks to a monastry, catacombs, water park near by, 15min walk or quick bus,...most exciting trip was the adrenaline (literally) Jeep Safari, kids absolutely loved it, so did we, lots of laughing, screaming, as we zoomed through deep muddy rivers, stopped for lunch in a local village, tasted local raci (similar to bandy) and danced to local folk songs, that was a really pleasant expereince spending time with a local family in their home/garden! We've said to all our friends and family, defintely give Bulgaria a go, and would definitely recommend the hotel and resort to anyone! Came home feeling recharged and the kids just want to go back again! Thanks to everyone at the Grand Marina Hotel, and very best and sincere wishes to Mimi, Damyan and Rado, from Mel, Dave, Ollie and Mia - The Chilman Family (2nd to 16th June 2012)...we hope to see you again one day!

Room Tip: Definetly choose sea facing, high up for the views of the beach, sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MelissaChilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

As I sad from title, the hotel is max. 3*+. They have a problem with punctuality. At our arrival, we spend half an hour in the hotel lobby, because "the room is not ready". Good welcome! At last, we entered the room and in bathroom, suprise: it smells like a rural train station toilet!
Another special welcome: the water in the hotel is not potabil! And you have to buy it from the market. Stupid thing, in order that we've paid the "all inclusive" services.
The food is low, nothing spectacular, nothing fresh to drink. It's hell for an italian, because all the pasta recipes were identical, with no taste or fresh ingredients.
The alcohol is free only bulgarian drinks. One of the most bad beer in the world is at this hotel.
The beach was the worst suprise. The hotel did not have reserved any piece of it. The sunbeds are rented by private bulgarian and they rent the sunbeds with speculate prices.
Lot's of russians and drunk young germans. The first are stupid, rude, ugly. The last were noisy at night.
Conclusion: better avoid this hotel and area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CucuMucuMotorsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spend a nice week at the end of June in this hotel. The hotel is more like 4* as room comfort but with 5* services. Marina is a clean hotel, very close to the beach (50m) and the downtown of the resort and the stuff is very, very nice and always helpful.

Because we have two small kids we booked a quite spacious apartment with a nice sea view. If you have two kids I am able to recommend an apartment because a double room it cold be cramped. The all inclusive system is reasonable you could find something to eat and drink all the time. The food was pretty good, tasty and fairly diversified, they have been prepared for families with children. We haven’t used their pools so I cannot say anything about them. We went daily to the beach were we rent sun beds and umbrella.

I can recommend this hotel for families with children because it is clean with good food and very nice staff, on the beach and very close to other attractions suitable for kids.

Room Tip: apartments are pretty large and with a nice seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank razm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brig
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hotel has a very nice location - facing the beach, and the rooms with sea view are great. The amenities are just enough for a standard beach vacation. The hotel is more of a family hotel, not very good for couples and young people. The food in the restaurant is not very good, they often put rotten fruit and vegetables for guests, and the choice of drinks is poor, too. The overall service is also quite poor, very few people trying to really be nice to guests. Our hosekeeper was very good, but the next day we had awful cleaning. The older lady cleans well. The front desk was also like that - some people working very good and caring for guests, the others not even bothering to listen to you.
Last day we had this very bad situation with the taxi to the airport. We checked out and asked the guy to call a taxi to Varna airport. Then we asked, how much would it cost. When we came from the airport, we only paid 20 euros. So we left ourselves 45 leva (a little bit more than 25 euro) for the way back. The guy told us it would cost 30 leva. But when the driver came, I just intuitively asked him to confirm the price: he said 65 leva. Ridiculous! We went to reception only to see that the front desk agent did not hear us saying the word "airport". Yeah, well, like we decided to go for a walk in Varna with our suitcases :)
The driver was very rude, and was almost yelling at us. While we know how much he spent on petrol, as we took a car for two days. So my advice is when you leave Golden Sands, try to avoid these taxis. Just search for a normal taxi company or get in touch with the driver who brings you from the airport.
All the rest except for the fact we could not play table tennis, because animators take the balls, and they had day off when we asked, was fine. :) In general, if you avoid paying too much attention to what is called 'good service', you can just enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: Pick top floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milka4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel four times & we will be back again in September because we have found everything is very well run to give the customer total satisfaction

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harmsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Very good location for Golden Sands (as from most of the hotels you need a car to go to the beach... this one is really front row!). Clean rooms- no objections whatsoever. Average food- but read again the title! Sunbeds and umbrellas are free only at the pool, not on the beach (where they get pretty expensive). Tip: for the pool towels you have to pay a deposit- take care if you leave early in the morning- you will need to do something with the money... (20 levas per towel). Tip: read carefully what, when and where drinks/food are included- some tourists seem to expect more than promised; this is just an all inclusive, not a super all inclusive- you have to be happy with the local whisky (baaaad), not to complain that you do not receive a Chivas for free...Smoking now allowed only on the bars terraces, at the restaurant not even on the terrace. Special note for the animation- more than I would have personnally expected in Bulgaria (no offencs)

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view- it worth every penny. And if you want to see sunrise from your balcony choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LouCaRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.7 mi away
Melia Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage
#4 of 111 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#1 of 111 in Golden Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Beach
Riviera Beach
#26 of 111 in Golden Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HVD Viva Hotel
HVD Viva Hotel
#7 of 111 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
INTERNATIONAL Hotel Casino & Tower Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Grand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Grand Beach

Property: Marina Grand Beach
Address: Golden Sands, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Golden Sands
#6 Best Value Hotel in Golden Sands
#8 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
#9 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Grand Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Grand Beach is a 4-stars hotel situated in the lively southern part of the resort, only 30 m away from the golden sandy beach, hotel offers a perfect combination of calm atmosphere, excellent service and lots of opportunities for summer fun and relaxation.All spacious double rooms and apartments, most of which overlooking the sea, are comfortably furnished with Italian furniture, balcony, telephone, air conditioning, mini bar, cable TV, safety deposit box, bath, bathrobe and hairdryer.Enjoy your drinks in the unique atmosphere of the lobby bar, mezzanine bar with a terrace, pastry shop and pool bar. See the most beautiful view in the resort while you try the exotic cocktails in the sky bar. Our professional team will be always at your service to provide warm hospitality, good cuisine and high spirits together with lots of unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Marina Grand Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Grand Beach Hotel Golden Sands
Marina Grand Beach Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing