We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”
Review of Shipka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shipka Hotel
Ranked #37 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel has a great location, right next to the party street. Still the noise was ok at night.
It's pretty close to the beach and the center as well.
We had bed and breakfast: the food was rather cheap, but eatable. The room we stayed in was really nice (apartment) with a great terrace with sea view. Air conditioning was ok, wireles internet connection was rather poor in our room.
They changed towels twice a week and cleaned our room every day.
All in all, good value for the money. I would recommend it if one is not too picky about details.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cri2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    62
    41
    17
    15
See reviews for
42
43
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice and near the beach , just down a small hill , it was near all the discos but the noise wasn't bad at all , we went bed and breakfast some of the food I wouldn't have had for breakfast, but they cater for all nationalities , we always found something to eat . We had a room which looked out onto the pool, there was an indoor pool as well but it was freezing , all In all another lovely holiday .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Perfect location,it is where all things happen in golden sands,close to the beach and to pubs around,nice view..
too bad for the service..towels and Bedsheets are not changed daily..if u ask the Housekeeping they tell u its a policy..maybe because it was a room booked with travel agency and would have been different if on account..if you go make sure to lock your money in your bag or not to leave big amounts in the room while ur away..as we heard many people saying money was stolen from their room..Breakfast was good a big variety to choose..not for the desert and fruits..as in all the seven days spent..they looked not fresh at all..
it might be better to ask for a high floor room..as u might get anoyed from people coming from the pubs after midnight if you are a sensitive sleeper..Pool closes at 18:00
enjoy your trip ..

Room Tip: Ask for high floor Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BA_Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel was clean. The reception and overall check-in experience was smooth. Impeccable housekeeping service except the towels have to be changed more often.Beds were slightly uncomfortable. The breakfast offered was well rounded and had a good taste.Above average for the price offered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel rating was better than poor but really not average. We arrived at the Shipka 6 days into our fateful holiday. If you know the Varsharva hotel, the Shipka is a palace except it isn't and we had to pay an upgrade of £600.00 for the pleasure. Its faded, no investment, repairs of doors that won't unlock lifts that stop for no reason all done peace meal.. We were told in the vicinity of Golden Sands there were thousands of people and there were less than two hundred brits . You may think that is good. We were we know for sure always charged for food taxis etc more than the eastern europeans. Our Bulgarian neighbour from his resort came to see us at the Shipka and was apaulled. He was treated quite differently to us.
Our party of 3 girls 4yr 12yr and 14yr my husband and I. We couldn.t eat the food at the Varshave so the Shipkas breakfast was good. Continually repleniished, fresh fruit, pancakes with numourous toppings, different breads, eggs, varied cheeses, not all plastic. Different juices variety of salad I think that was the highlight of our day,our granddaughters ate for England..
Golden Sands wasn't a family resort because it was full of youth from Poland Rumania in fact everywhere at night it looked like swarms of ants. Could never let the older girls go with out us cos they were always approached by unsavoury men, not boys.
I think Balkan travel have sold us short, licence to print money.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Golden Sands hotels

Golden Sands, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

this was our second visit to the shipka, and must say that last years visit was better, although we really enjoyed our holiday the shipka could have been better. the room was never cleaned in all the 2 weeks we was there, the towels are still only being changed every 4 days infact we only saw one cleaner 3 times whilst we was there.
dont get me wrong this is a nice hotel and is good value for money, just could do with cleaning more often, and maybe a check under the beds wouldnt go a miss as we found a stinky old sock, god knows how long that had been there.
the staff our very nice and polite, and always had a smile on there face, and very helpful.

Room Tip: if you want it quiet try and keep away from the front as its quite noisey, but that was down to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveandjanet499087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awkar, Lebanon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This summer I went to golden sands and stayed in Shipka for a week. I would not be exagerating if i said it was the worst trip I've ever taken. First, we went to the room, the lights were not working so I asked the lady at the reception to send someone to fix it, twice! Nobody came. I fixed that problem myself by shaking the light bulb! second, I had a startling phone call to the hotel room phone at 3 in the morning from a drunk guest who claimed to be the receptionist and when I complained to the real receptionist she told me they can't do anything about it. The hotel is on a main street with a lot of noise from bars and karaoke restaurants that extended throughout the entire night until dawn. The doors do not lock from the inside. Breakfast buffet was mainly eggs and cheese and wasn't good. They never changed our bed sheets or gave us new shower gels and shampoo. We had to ask the receptionist for all those like we were beggars. The pool was small. Long story short, This hotel is not family friendly and very chaotic and the cleanliness is poor. I did not feel safe sleeping there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#38 of 110 in Golden Sands
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bonita Hotel
Bonita Hotel
#63 of 110 in Golden Sands
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#88 of 110 in Golden Sands
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tintyava Hotel
Tintyava Hotel
#84 of 110 in Golden Sands
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#82 of 110 in Golden Sands
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mak
Hotel Mak
#76 of 110 in Golden Sands
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipka Hotel

Property: Shipka Hotel
Address: Golden Sands Beach, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Golden Sands
#25 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shipka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shipka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipka Hotel Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing