We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shipka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shipka Hotel
Ranked #36 of 111 Hotels in Golden Sands
Golden Sands, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

me and my family have stayed in a few hotels in goldensands over the last 5 years and can say with confidence that hotel shipka has been the best by far.
the staff was always polite and always had a smile on there face, the rooms was nice and clean, in fact the only down side was that the towels was only changed every 3 days instead of the usual 2 days.
overall a nice hotel. that nice in fact me and my wife have just booked again for 2012 at the shipka.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steveandjanet499087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    61
    39
    15
    15
See reviews for
41
41
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

The room service sucks ,they have a policy to give clients towels every 3 days only!I asked for toilet paper and the receptionist told me that they were out of it!No light bulbs working in my room on the 10th floor so I had to wait for the next day for the technician to wake up and take care of it!Wifi goes off and on in the lobby!No hot water sometimes!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willo1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Room service 0 !!!!!
Small room!!
unconfortable bed!!!
Fitness center 0!!
In my opinion the rate of the hotel is minus 3* !!!!
And thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nathalie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Golden Sands hotels

Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We only had to pay for 2 adults, our son stayed for free. We received an apartment at no additional cost - that was nice, but the bedroom had to separate beds - not that nice. It was clean enough. Breakfast was not that good - after 2-3 days we had enough of the same food. It is NOT a quiet spot, it was late until late in the night. The hotel is located on a busy commercial street, about 200m from the beach.

Room Tip: do not get a room on the lower floors - it will be very loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meffy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploiesti, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Our staying here has been the most horrible experience we have had so far . We have been kept prisoners( our car was in the hotel parking and it was blocked by 10 other cars and we were told that we couldn't leave and that we had to wait until all other guests left), we were insulted and forced to stand in a queue in order to be able to eat since there were few tables and many more guests. The room temperature was around 18 degrees and the reception told us that thay couldn't do anything about it. We told them that we were extremely disatisfied and thay said it's too crowded and thay can't solve the problem. We will definitely not come back in Bulgaria again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AliPloiesti_Romania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Åmål
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

We were very satisfied with our two week stay at the Shipka hotel. We made a list of good and bad things.

Good things:

* good location ( close to sea and the main street )
* not so noisy
* cleaner all the day ( they cleaned our room in the afternoon when we woke up late)
* fridge in room
* pool indoors and outdoors
* atm right outside the hotel ( use it instead of exchange offices )
* nice reception
* bath good for two - but we are not so big :)
* wide stairs - if you need it :)
* nice view - We could see the sea
* internet ( but only one computer though so it might be busy )
* big lobby
* hotel bar
* hotel looks quite nice

Bad Things:
* no manual balcony light (it went on and off automatically and for quite a short period )
* drunk Germans singing "give me dope joanna"
* trash was not emptied one day
* no weather forecast - other hotels had it so we went there to check
* only separated beds ( but can be combined manually if you want )
* pool only to 17/18 (indoor/outdoor)
* breakfast to 10:30, we are not morning people so we could have imagined eating breakfast at 12 :)
* no toilet paper first day
* strange color of balcony light (very artificial)
* poor pool bar selection ( they did not have many drinks that was in their menu )
* a bit poor breakfast selection

We did not eat lunch or dinner at hotel so we don't know the quality of that.

But all in all the bad things were minor and we would very much recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay in golden sands.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Little_Swedish_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

I payed 64 euros/night bed and breakfast for me and my wife and the conditions inside where good for the money they asked. the food was ok and enough, they had many fruits in the morning and so on. Sometimes I had the feeling that the food where not so fresh.
The rooms are a litle bit dated.
Our friends found the closet dirty in the rom when they check in and they where wery unsatisfied.
to be onest , to rate this hotel with 3 points is a litle to low so, 4 points is a lile to much but, I will give them a 4.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mondragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#47 of 111 in Golden Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gradina Hotel
Gradina Hotel
#10 of 111 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#90 of 111 in Golden Sands
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tintyava Hotel
Tintyava Hotel
#86 of 111 in Golden Sands
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#74 of 111 in Golden Sands
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Perla Hotel
Perla Hotel
#87 of 111 in Golden Sands
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipka Hotel

Property: Shipka Hotel
Address: Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Golden Sands
#24 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shipka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shipka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipka Hotel Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing