We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Played pool”
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Admiral
Ranked #19 of 111 Hotels in Golden Sands
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Didn't stay here, but just lazed in the bar and played pool all evening. Very warm welcome by polite employees.

Seems a reasonable place to stay in Golden Sands and right in the centre of the action

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgblue71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 231 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2007

We just arrived back from our 7 days holiday in Admiral, Golden Sands. I was expecting more from this hotel, but in my opinion is not 5 stars hotel. The food is repeating every day (especially breakfast), and next day, in the evening you can see food cooked in a different way but containing the day before not consumed meals. We've had our 2 years old daughter with us, and she couldn't eat anything, in spite that they have special corner for children food where you can find potatoes fried in different forms (which is not a healthy food for kids). We didn't get room cleaning until we gave some tip to that lady. One day they took even the towels, so when we came back from the baech, we took shower but no towels (they said it was a temporary problem). The noise from the outside terraces is very loud, till 5 am, but this is not their fault, is the central location of the hotel. We were not impressed by anything, it's true that if you are not german, you don't get well treated. Too bad...

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank redrose18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2007

Whe went for many times to this hotel but this time was not ok. The food for the dinner was very poor. Whe lived in a park view room. Two friends lived in a sea view room and they had a lot of thinks (tooth brush, tooth paste, shave set, body milk, etc) in the bath and in the room to. I asked to the reception what is the difference between sea view and the park view room and they told me - just the price and the view. Then i asked them why whe dont have the same thinks in the bath and in the room and they told me that i payd for the park view not for sea view. SO ... NO COMENT!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Fitosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

The location of this hotel is fab right in the center of the resort right accross the road from the beach not a main road just a promenade. The beach was kept very clean although a little expensive for the sunloungers but you dont mind paying as it was so well kept and there were staff from beach bar that would bring you down fresh fruit and drinks what more could you ask for.
The cost of living is very low we ate out €40.00 for 4 of us for starters main course and dessert we all had a steak and drinks.
The hotel was kept very clean and the indoor pool was very nice.
The only thing was the room we were allocated was not a sea view which was a pity as the views were fantastic

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank CiaraKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

What can I say, brilliant.
Where to start.
FOOD, Sure it can be repetitive if your there for 2 weeks, where isn't? Menu rotates every 2 or 3 days.
Breakfast had a great choice catering for ALL visitors (why do we Brits think it should be geared for us?)rolls (baps), croissants, cold meats, cereals, sausage, bacon(fatty and not crispy but hey, dont have it if you dont like it) french toast, eggs boiled fried scrambled (3 types of scrambled), jams, toast, crepes, cheeses and loads more.
Dinners had about 6 or 7 main course selections including carvery, pastas, salads, rice and things to go with it (veg, pasta sauces, chips etc).
So foods great but could seem repetitive if your there 2 weeks.
HOTEL, its not long built so yes, it's in excellent order.
There were 2 adults, 1 child 1 infant so room's a little cramped but thats our fault for the booking. Minibar (prices went up before we left for high season). TV (on holiday?) had a few english speaking channels. We took a dvd player to keep the kids amused when in the room.
Lack of entertainment at night (why it gets a 4).
POOL, free to hotel guests but all pools on the front are avaliable to anyone at a premium (same price everywhere tho).
Hotel lifeguards seem to rent them to non hotel guests which is why there is sometimes a lack of sunbeds.
LOCATION, centre of resort, faultless.
We met a lot of people who's views were the same as ours and also a few who'd be returning. Even met people who we knew that were in the other 5* in the resort and they thought our hotel was better than theirs.
One thing about Golden Sands is be within about 100 metres of the beach or you're up a hill/steps to your hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scotsman4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2006

We were at the Hotel Admiral in Golden Sands for two weeks from sept. 7th. The weather was exellent. The hotel is a great building in the middle of the town and our room was on the second floor, too near to an outside bar that played terribly loud music well into the night. On the otther hand our balcony was right in the middle of the main street. Would have been great to have usable chairs out there !
Our room was nice, but we have often been to 3 and 4 star hotels in Europe with far better rooms than at the five star Admiral. The beds were exellent. The bathroom good. The wardrobe was on the small side. No usable chairs in the room, only a very small uncomfortable sofa with a cowhide imitation and one very uncomfortable and small chair. The soundproofing of the building is poor, as we were able to hear people talking in the next room during the day, when the bars were not playing their music as loud as in the evening. No clock, no radio, no information on TV programs which were mostly in Bulgarian and Russian.
Our package trip included breakfast at the hotel. As the room the buffet was only average, we have had much better elsewhere.
There were 3 bars in the hotel. The service there was no more than average at best, usually not very good.
My wife had a massage at the big spa at the Admiral. A nice one she says.
The hotel provides a small pool area right across the main street. Usually extremely crowded and loud. We frequented the Rocks bar and pool just a few meters away and enjoyed a nice and clean place with frendly service and good food and drinks at reasonably prices.
We found what we saw of Bulgaria a beautyful country, with great possibilities in tourism in the future. As it is today it is a little primitive with lots and lots of garbage almost everywhere, exept in the tourist areas, wich we found mostly OK. On the other hand we found the noise pollution what irritated us most in GS.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Logi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2006

I stayed at the Hotel Admiral in Golden Sands for a week last month (August). The quality was very high compared to other Bulgarian hotels. My wife is Bulgarian and I've been to Bulgaria dozens of times, and this vacation in Golden Sands staying at the Admiral was the best vacation I've ever had in Bulgaria. The Admiral is considered to be the best hotel in Golden Sands except perhaps the Kempinski which doesn't have nearly as good a location. The Admiral is right next to the beach, separated only by the main pedestrian street. No hotels are closer to the beach than this one. The pool was nice, especially for kids. The rooms were large and the furnishings were new and relatively stylish. Our room had a balcony overlooking the Black Sea. The view was great, but it was also exposed to very loud music from a Maroccan-style bar with belly dancers which was connected to the outside of the hotel. The bar was very cool and trendy, but the loud music went on till midnight. It didn't bother me but it might not be everyone's taste. The Admiral is a Bulgarian 5 star hotel, which is very different from an American or Asian 5 star. Don't expect luxury service, or gourmet food, or ultra-high quality towels, etc. But those aren't the things that one looks for in a Bulgarian holiday. The Admiral is a great hotel for a relaxing, stress-free and affordable vacation.

11  Thank brucenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.2 mi away
INTERNATIONAL Hotel Casino & Tower Suites
0.5 mi away
Marina Grand Beach Hotel
Marina Grand Beach Hotel
#12 of 111 in Golden Sands
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#13 of 111 in Golden Sands
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#25 of 111 in Golden Sands
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Green Park Hotel & Apartments
Paradise Green Park Hotel & Apar...
#24 of 111 in Golden Sands
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#1 of 111 in Golden Sands
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Address: Varna | Golden Sands Resort, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Golden Sands
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Golden Sands
#15 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#16 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range: $78 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Admiral 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star round-the-year hotel of unique architecture and exclusive interior design in immediate proximity to the beach, a perfect place for holiday, entertainment and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Golden Sands
Hotel Admiral Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing