We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could try to vary the menu and get a better way to keep the food hot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grifid Hotel Arabella
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Golden Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Please note prices are from banks in Bulgaria on the 18th May i.e. 2.45 lev to the UK pound.
Return taxi to Varna 50 - 55 lev. sun bed and brolly 19 lev each. cigarettes 5 lev. Bus no 9 109 409 to Varna 3 lev. bus stop at end of resort or the top of the hill. Conductor collects the fares, get off at he Cathedral return stop opposite.
I used Wizz air from Luton (tip print boarding card before you check in or a charge is made) good flights and on arrival meet by Balkan Holidays rep and only myself in a private car on return mini bus with 5 passengers only. Rep at resort very good but gave wrong info on cigarette allowance to UK it is only 800 now not 3.200 as per last year.
Room at hotel very big and kept spotless fruit and bottle of wine in room and mini fridge topped up every day. One bar stays open until 2am. Pool kept very clean and also the indoors one was not to cold. Gym on the 7th floor and good equipment.
Hotel is full of Germans Russians and some French so I think the chefs cater for them. The food I am afraid lets this hotel down badly. Same every day and on the Friday special night no improvement. Good job they have a microwave or else you will eat warm meat and fish. No variety all week. I was talking to some french people and they said the food was poor. The french should know.
The evening entertainment is not very good a stupid puppet show one night and some Balkan Dancers making an effort. disco until 2am. The animation team do make an effort but darts more darts and basketball have they got no imagination.
If the entertainment and food was improved I could say go there but that is my opinion.
Quickest way to beach and bars down the steps at the rear. Sign said parking 20 lev a day so if you have a hire car I would enquire.
The hotel is kept clean and your plate is gone before you can blink in the dining room, Very pleasant staff that are a credit to this Hotel
Shop and money exchange 24/7 in lobby but rate of exchange poor go to the bank and take your passport with you also required at the Casinos.
I hope this report helps.

Room Tip: Near the lifts if on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank coachdriver57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 480 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

Late booking for an excellent price and having last visited Bulgaria(Albena) some 15 plus years ago when resort was rather basic, I was rather concerned at what I might get for my money. I needn't have worried as this hotel is quite simply one of the best run I have ever encountered and I have stayed at many worldwide. I have read previous comments about it being German orientated but personally see this as a positive as German people generally demand a very high standard and therefore I would be encouraged to stay somewhere where this is prevelant.In any case all staff are friendly to whoever you may be.The only minor complaint my wife and I could make was that no tea/coffee making facilities were available in the room, which itself was basically furnished/decorated but exceptionally clean. The evening entertainment was not of a standard we are used to but this did not detract from the immensely friendly and hard working animation team who performed most nights.
In short,I would encourage people to try this hotel as I cannot see you being disappointed.
Asides from the hotel I would suggest you fly to Varna Airport which is 20 mins away and not Bourgas as we did, which is an uncomfortable two and half coach journey over and round the coast and mountains. We also stayed in the resort at the end of the season when the place was closing up and turning into a shanty town but I could imagine it being a hive of activity during peak periods, with plenty to do.
I will be back,for sure!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This Hotel is situated right in the centre of town close to the beach, shops just about everything in a very short walk away.

You could not want for more from an all incisive hotel, I must give a special mention to the hotel manager she was very visible and approachable on on top of everything at all the key times. She leads he team of managers to achieve the highest standards but still remains approachable and not too stuffy. I had a small problem with my bath not emptying, I told reception, went to have something to eat and on my return to the room problem solved! I was impressed.

I should also give praise to the animation team, all very very hard working. The fitness manage was excellent, great fun, very professional, and full of energy and motivation. The entertainment was a bit corny and not 100% PC, but good fun.

The only negative is not the hotels fault, but there are a lot of Germans and the food is aimed at this market, a bit bland for my pallet, but it you like processed pork or angel delight served 20 different ways you will be in heaven. There are many options in addition to this and the Gala meal, once a week is a buffet of a very high standard.

Soft drinks, tea, coffee and beer all on hand, plus the main bar and mini bar. That said nobody over did the bar and got ridiculously drunk , so if your on a loud bossy week and would like to drink like a fish, probably not the place for you loads of selection.

You can also work off all the food in a gym in top floor.

I would strongly recommend this hotel but be warned as a Brit you will be in the minority and will probably end up talking a "German" version of English within a week.

Sehr gut, ja

Room Tip: Make sure it is sea facing, a room on the left wing upper floors will get the late afternoon sun, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Stevejacobs65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Just got back from Grifid Arabella hotel. I am not telling "got back" from Golden Sand, because Golden Sands are millions miles far away from what i remember them 10 years ago. G. sands are now dirty and looks like one big booth. But the hotel it best ever. Like a Bulgarian, i am used to see 4 stars hotel, that just have the stars and no service at all. But this is an exception. Big rooms, big balcony, extremely clean. Plenty of varied food at every meal. I do not drink, so i can't say how was the alcohol but i can only suppose that it was good, because all the foreign clients sat around the pool and never saw the sea, just to have free drinks all day long. The staff no matter how exhausted they were, smiled all the time and were very helpful. I will highly recommend the hotel to all my friends. One very slight remark - vacuum cleaning starting at 8.30 a.m it's not very appropriate. Thanks, we got ear stoppers :). Also thanks to hair dresser, can't remember exactly her name, Monika could be....

Room Tip: Rooms at the last floor (7) are quitests, because there is no possibility to have above guests with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nataliya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Just got back from Grifid Hotel Arabella. 3 words AMAZING ! We dont say we would go back to a place that often and this place is defently one we would go back to.

Rooms :- The rooms are very big. Plenty of room and beds are moderatly comfy for hotel beds. Not that much space to store clothing items though but what can you do !

Food :- I am a really fussy eater (that bad that i pull a piece of chicken apart to see what is inside it ) and i found something to eat every day. The Italin a la carte is WONDERFUL. we didnt try the bulgrian. But the Asian wasnt our cup of tea ........ But it was a good laugh , Food presented nicely in both of the A la cartes.

Staff :- The bar staff are always happy ! The resteraunt staff are allways helpful and as soon as you finish your meal the plate is gone !!!

Cleanliness :- Its very very clean. The even polished the leaves on the plants..

Anamation team :- THEY ARE FANTASTIC !!!!!!! PAVEL , MERY AND VLADO ARE WONDERFUL. THEY COMPLETLY MAKE YOUR HOLIDAY !!! The mini disco songs are hilorious esspecially bcaue you dont have a scoobie what they are going on about.! The shows are Hit and miss. The fancy fair is the best !!! The gala Night is iffy we were sat out side and we didnt feel part of it and there were two sittings and there were just too many people.

The only downside was the drinks they had Pepsi not diet coke and the achol wasnt very good. The beer was week. But what can you do.

All in all a Brill holiday and will be back soon !!!! If you have any questions please ask.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princessbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Ah where to start. We'll we travelled here 1st August for 2 weeks. We were a party of 7. 2couples and 3 friends. Otherwise know as "The Usual Suspects" This was Myself and my Fiancee's 3rd visit. Were definately be back next year. This hotel is the Best Hotel in Bulgaria.... The staff are amazing. Nothing is too much trouble. The entertainment team are Fantastic. There is plenty to keep you entertained. They work so hard and their club song is great. All the staff are very helpful and Dani the Guest Relations Manager is excellent. Rooms are lovely and very well cleaned. The food and drinks are outstanding. The buffee is plentiful and there is loads of variety. The A La Carte restaurants are excellent. The Italian , The Asian and The Bulgarian. All are excellent and you can eat in them as many times as you like. The snack bar is also fantastic!!!!

If you get a white band ask about upgrading to the gold band as this allows you to use the sister hotels beach bar and snack bar. Fantastic !!!

Have a great time staying here. Its the best choice and your holiday will be excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank badgless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed here as part of a group of 14 from the UK.

We were here 3 years ago and I have to say that they have somehow managed to improve things even further. They hotel is spotless and the food is superb. The staff are so helpful and facilities are fabulous..

If you are considering staying at the Golden Sands resort you must stay at the Arabella!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HughieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.7 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#1 of 111 in Golden Sands
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
INTERNATIONAL Hotel Casino & Tower Suites
0.5 mi away
Melia Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage
#4 of 111 in Golden Sands
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#13 of 111 in Golden Sands
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
0.4 mi away
HVD Viva Hotel
HVD Viva Hotel
#7 of 111 in Golden Sands
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grifid Hotel Arabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grifid Hotel Arabella

Address: Arabella, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Golden Sands
#2 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
#2 Family Hotel in Golden Sands
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Golden Sands
#2 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#2 Romantic Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range: $119 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grifid Hotel Arabella 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grifid Hotel Arabella is conveniently situated in the heart of Golden Sands resort, only a few steps away from the half mile-long sandy beach. All 292 rooms and apartments at the hotel are modern and tastefully furnished: bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer, carpet floors, sofa, direct dial telephone, central air-conditioning, satellite TV, complimentary mini bar service (mineral water, soft drinks and beer, refilled daily), safety deposit box (at a charge), pillow menu, balcony/terrace. You can benefit from the extensive Ultra All Inclusive Grifid Hotels offer with a wide choice of buffet and a-la-carte dining options. No matter if you choose our main restaurant with a range of international and traditional cuisine or you undertake a gourmet journey in the welcoming atmosphere of the three a-la-carte restaurants: Bulgarian, Italian and Asian, your palate won't be disappointed. You can also unwind at the Grifid Arabella spa center. Our wellness specialists will take care of you in the elegant zone dedicated for massage, Hammam, sauna, beauty parlour and hairdresser's studio. Two outdoor swimming pools, one of them with a whirlpool, as well as a heated indoor pool are at your disposal daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grifid Hotel Arabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifid Hotel Golden Sands
Grifid Resort All Inclusive Arabella
Grifid Hotel Arabella Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing