We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice of Golden Sands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Grand Hermitage
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Bucharest
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best choice of Golden Sands”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

The hotel is meant to provide mainly an all inclusive or at least half board offer. This means that all its services comes from this philosophy and have some specific charactheristics which goes to the idea that tourism at Melia is in fact an industry.
The resort provides huge spaces, lots of food and plenty of rooms. In exchange for your money you'll get pretty good quality especially comparing with another bulgarian resorts from Golden Sands.
Don't look for intimacy at Melia but for relaxing atmosphere at low costs.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat_ioan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    321
    150
    65
    50
See reviews for
457
343
31
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

The hotel is meant to be an all inclusive or at least halfboard package hotel.
It offers huge spaces, spectacular view of the sea and good quality of food and wine.
If compared with some other east european resorts near the Black Sea it can stand as one of the best choices in terms of budget and quality.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat_ioan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

maybe we expercted too much of an all inclusive stay in melia. any way when we arrived we found no fresh food, no clean room, no slippers,no lotion...... .

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank roya293999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

My husband, his parents and I recently spent 2 weeks at Melia. We opted for B&B, they went for Half Board.
Check-in was easy, our bags were brought up and no issue made of the confusion caused by trying to separate bags outside our room. Room is lovely, very spacious, huge (although very low) bed, comfortable armchairs and footstool and a balcony. Balcony is small and shaded as its a bit enclosed, but it was nice to sit out and read there at times. What I loved was there was a clothes horse out there. Bathroom is large as well, separate bath and shower. The shower is what I miss most - fantastically spacious and really strong water pressure.
We had breakfast in smaller dining room one or two mornings, but then as it was quiet, everyone ate in larger dining room. Breakfast was fine, plenty of variety, although it was the same variety every day! I didn't taste any of the hot food other than beans. The cheese and cold meats were lovely, there was lots of different breads, there was someone cooking pancakes and there was the usual cereal options plus toast. The only thing I didn't liek there was the queue for the coffee machines - there were 2 stations, but there always seemed to be a queue. In addition, there were quite a few queue jumpers there - a pet hate of mine!! But overall, I was quite happy with breakfast, it's from 7:30 to 10:00.
There are 2 banks of elevators and we never really had to wait that long for one.
I went to reception a number of times. On this forum, alot of people have mentioned them being less than friendly. I found them okay. Only complaint again would be about queue jumpers. On 2 occasions, the reception staff served someone that had clearly come after me!! Passports are retained at check-in, I got ours back 2 days later, but when I went to get it, only 1 of the passports was there - mine is still in my maiden name and I'm assuming they didn't know who I was when they went to file them - after a seach it was located - while it was slightly worrying, at no stage did the staff even entertain the notion of it not being there, they just kept looking for it.
I used the business centre quite a few times, there are PCs there and also large games consoles. With the games console, we bought a telephone card and used the internet on that, it worked out quite a bit cheaper than using the PC on a timed basis. In the initial days I found the person at the business centre a little abrupt, but over the time, she was actually very nice and I can only assume she had difficulty understanding me at first.
The pool area and sun beds were nice, becuase of the way the hotel is built, parts of the area get shaded early in the afternoon. It was quiet while we were there; in general we were able to choose to sit out whereever we wanted.
In most places i've been previously, the pool staff would tidy up the area late in the evening, here they tended to put the chairs back in positiion immediately they were vacated. I actually found it very annoying and intrusive!
Another poster commented on plates being left on table, we had the opposite experience, both at the hotel and all over the resort. Second anyone was finished with a plate, it was removed - even while everyone else at the table was still eating. Being the fastest eater of our crowd, I was invariably there with an empty setting!!

My parents-in-law weren't happy with the half board. They found the choice poor and the food invariably cold. They also commented that any meat wasn't cut well, but served almost in hunks. We didn't eat at the hotel any evening, so I can't comment.

Overall, great holiday, very relaxing and loved the Melia.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Just come back from a week in Bulgaria staying at the Melia Grand Hermitage all inclusive. Despite the weather being somewhat overcast on our first two days, it didn't spoil our holiday. The hotel appears to be the best in the area, having seen some of the others. The plush surroundings, elegant decor and charm was outstanding. The location was brilliant, only a very short walk (albeit down a hill) to the sea, bars, restaurants and shops. The hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious, there are loads of sunbeds and clean towels for the pool every day if you so wish. The downside for me was that although the meals were varied and tasty, the 'hot' meals were often luke warm, even when a new tray was brought out. I also felt that tables were often laden with dirty pots and the remains of someone's meals for a lot longer than I would expect for a 4* hotel. However please do not let this put you off as it was a lovely hotel and if that is all there is to complain about then you could do far worse , I'm sure! There werehowever some rather nice 'touches' such as you have a switch by the bed that puts either a red (do not disturb) light outside your door, or a green (please make up my room) light. Aswell as the usual shampoo and shower gel there was also bodylotion in the bathroom. You could also have the sound of the television 'piped' into the bathroom for you to listen to.whilst your bathing or suchlike! So if you asked if I would recommend this hotel, indeed I would!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainematty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Hotel was is of a good standard generally although I thought that the attention to detail on the cleaning front was a bit lapse e.g. dusty shelves in the bathroom and the edges of the shower were mould-stained at ground level. Breakfast had good variety and while busy, the staff seemed to manage the turnaround rather effectively. The hotel is v close to the beach but the beach was smaller than Id anticipated from the pictures on the internet - and the fact the most of it was taken up with 'pay per day' umbrellas and sun loungers meant that there was even less space! The resort was quiet late Aug / early Sept but there were loads of bars and restaurants open. People seemed friendly generally, although the personnel on reception at the hotel could have been a bit more friendly / welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadera, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Pros:
-------
We had a "Park View" room on the north wing with excellent view, fresh air from the forest, we could see the Sea too. The room, bathroom and balcony are quite big, very well furnished and comfortable. Additional bed was added and the room still felt very roomy.
We took half-board package, and our dinning room was the smaller and much less crowded "La Terraza" restaurant. We passed by the "Hermitage Restaurant" for all-inclusive guests and although being much bigger, it always looked very crowded.

Pool area is excellent - big clean pools, also for babies. sun beds/umbrellas all over, aqua animation (aqua aerobics and games)

There is "kindergarten" - kids aged 4 and up can have great time there, willing to go back the day after. Kids under 4 are welcome too, but parent must stay. There are real squirrels running around!

Cons:
--------
The food is the weak link of the hotel. Though there is plenty of choice, and most of the dishes are tasty, there are very little alternatives for healthy-food lovers. Some of the plates don't look and taste fresh - it seems they are recycled from the day before. In overall, it almost the same food every day - very little surprise.

The parking is not free and not cheap.

The sunbed and umbrella on the beach are not free (7lv each) - no hotel in the resort has private beach with free umbrella/sunbed.

If you are with pram or stroller - you need to take long detour to reach the beach or the promenade, as the short way is with stairs. Non issue if you plan to use the excellent pool area.

More info:
-------------
The hotel taxis are about twice more expensive (30lv) than regular taxi service. It is normal, as the drivers have to bribe considerable amount of money only to enter the resort. If you go to the road you can negotiate much cheaper ride to Varna (as low as 10lv). Taxi drivers will be very aggressive in convincing you to take their cab, they will also suggest wrong bus stop location hoping you will miss the bus and take taxi instead, and they don;t care if you are senior citizen or couple with child in stroller.
Using the bus (line 409 to city center, Cathedral, Grand mall) - 3lv per person per direction is fine most of the time - a bit slower, a bit crowded and lacks air conditioning.
We used it for 3 round trips, a couple with child in pram, and it was fine. Ask the conductor to remind you where to get off.

Our local representative suggested using hotel's change as it is honest and good rate and opens 24/7. If you plan to change in the resort, it is indeed good option, we opted to change in the city, at better rates, though the difference is no more than 13lv for each eur 100.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#11 of 110 in Golden Sands
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#3 of 110 in Golden Sands
467 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
HVD Viva Hotel
HVD Viva Hotel
#7 of 110 in Golden Sands
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orchidea Boutique Spa
Orchidea Boutique Spa
#28 of 110 in Golden Sands
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
INTERNATIONAL Hotel Casino & Tower Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Grand Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Grand Hermitage

Property: Melia Grand Hermitage
Address: 1 Grand Hermitage Alley, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
#4 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#5 Romantic Hotel in Golden Sands
#7 Family Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Grand Hermitage 5*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a place with a unique atmosphere and service where you can relax and enjoy the serenity, the sun and the sea... Imagine a place that will exceed your expectations... Located on a quiet hill and surrounded by a green park, this exquisite luxury hotel offers the tranquility you are longing for. The 5-star resort welcomes you with stylish atmosphere, quality service and refined cuisine. Lounge on the sunniest balconies, relax in the SPA centre or have fun on the beach with the water sports available. Indulge your senses in the 5-star YHI SPA Centre: exclusive high quality massages, therapies and procedures offer a chance to get away from the stress and enjoy the serenity of your vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Grand Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Grand Hermitage Hotel Golden Sands
Melia Golden Sands
Melia Hotel Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing