We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Holliday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Grand Hermitage
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Golden Sands
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Pros:
-------
We had a "Park View" room on the north wing with excellent view, fresh air from the forest, we could see the Sea too. The room, bathroom and balcony are quite big, very well furnished and comfortable. Additional bed was added and the room still felt very roomy.
We took half-board package, and our dinning room was the smaller and much less crowded "La Terraza" restaurant. We passed by the "Hermitage Restaurant" for all-inclusive guests and although being much bigger, it always looked very crowded.

Pool area is excellent - big clean pools, also for babies. sun beds/umbrellas all over, aqua animation (aqua aerobics and games)

There is "kindergarten" - kids aged 4 and up can have great time there, willing to go back the day after. Kids under 4 are welcome too, but parent must stay. There are real squirrels running around!

Cons:
--------
The food is the weak link of the hotel. Though there is plenty of choice, and most of the dishes are tasty, there are very little alternatives for healthy-food lovers. Some of the plates don't look and taste fresh - it seems they are recycled from the day before. In overall, it almost the same food every day - very little surprise.

The parking is not free and not cheap.

The sunbed and umbrella on the beach are not free (7lv each) - no hotel in the resort has private beach with free umbrella/sunbed.

If you are with pram or stroller - you need to take long detour to reach the beach or the promenade, as the short way is with stairs. Non issue if you plan to use the excellent pool area.

More info:
-------------
The hotel taxis are about twice more expensive (30lv) than regular taxi service. It is normal, as the drivers have to bribe considerable amount of money only to enter the resort. If you go to the road you can negotiate much cheaper ride to Varna (as low as 10lv). Taxi drivers will be very aggressive in convincing you to take their cab, they will also suggest wrong bus stop location hoping you will miss the bus and take taxi instead, and they don;t care if you are senior citizen or couple with child in stroller.
Using the bus (line 409 to city center, Cathedral, Grand mall) - 3lv per person per direction is fine most of the time - a bit slower, a bit crowded and lacks air conditioning.
We used it for 3 round trips, a couple with child in pram, and it was fine. Ask the conductor to remind you where to get off.

Our local representative suggested using hotel's change as it is honest and good rate and opens 24/7. If you plan to change in the resort, it is indeed good option, we opted to change in the city, at better rates, though the difference is no more than 13lv for each eur 100.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2010

The BEST hotel in Golden sands. Sea is super. Restaurants are various. Local beer is testy. The only ONE, but BIG REAL problem is crowds of gipsy people from Romania, always unhappy, with sour faces, complaining on everybody and everything.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oleg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

rooms are good, but no bathrobes and slippers - strange for 5 stars
hotel doesnt have beach and you need to go to public private beach infront of hotel. 10 euro per day for 2.
all inclusive here means they give you french fries all day long. a lot of gypsies in hotel.
stuff is friendly, everything clean, in the evenings animation

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller1095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The cleanliness is something you treasure in this hotel.Their staff was so friendly&ready to help even though not all of them spoke english.The breakfast was delicious.The rooms are big&fancy.The Tv showed bulgarian channels the most,you can hardly find a channel that speaks english or french.The pools were nice &clean.The view was spectacular.It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rana3az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

All was well until the first meal. Talking with some people who were staying for two weeks and that had said that food is very bad. Everything was pre-cooked and very salty. For children is a disaster. No fresh fruit juices, no one mashed potatoes only. The same salad, just an evening with grill fish. Awful. Coffee they have to all inclusive isactually ness and cappuccino as well is made with ness. In hotel bars were some poor snacks. The rooms are very nice and the pools(indoor and outdoor), but not so good food and service. I do not think I will go to this hotel again. I mean I will not go to Bulgaria because it says it is the best hotel for them. I forgot to mention that I was talking to restaurant manager, but there was no change. They do not realize where wrong. Think that food is very good and they seem so normal to be eating fast food in a five star hotel. I told the manager that in the morning bacon smelled bad, she said it's not possible to be expired, but did not realize that they hold very high temperature in the restaurant, although it should be kept in containers at cold. Finally there is no point to upload. A very bad restaurant ......
If you want your car safe cost 10 euros per day. Sun beds on the beach cost 7 leva, umbrella cost 7 leva, too. 5 stars shameful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andramer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Melia Grand Hotel at Golden Sands Varna is very beautiful big hotel with nice and friendly staff, for couples and especially for the families with children... big rooms, big indoor and outdoor pool , tasty food....The only problem for me was the sirculation problem inside of the hotel.. It needs more elevators... The location of hotel is great also...go and enjoy of the big hotel luxury..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank komotini1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Good Hotel


Good Points : big hotel , clean , big room , big pool inside and outside , respectful personal BUT..................!
Bad Points : you have to pay 10 euro/day for car parking (other your car will pe take by police) ,no hotel's beach you have to pay 10 euro/day (2 chairs and umbrella) , on the food area is very crowdy , you cannot drink anything , local beer is owful , coffee is unbalivable and local alchool drinks is dangerous for stomach ( i have really a night of stomach ache because their stupid wine) , the water is owfull.
The road from Bucharest till there is like hell! The road is broke , no avertisment about where you are and where you have to go !
Take a GPS otherwise you are dead in Bulgaria !
You will pay another 800 euro to Turkey or 1000 euro to Spain but it worth !

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogdan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.4 mi away
INTERNATIONAL Hotel Casino & Tower Suites
0.2 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#1 of 112 in Golden Sands
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#25 of 112 in Golden Sands
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Gradina Hotel
Gradina Hotel
#10 of 112 in Golden Sands
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#13 of 112 in Golden Sands
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Grand Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Grand Hermitage

Address: 1 Grand Hermitage Alley, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
#4 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#5 Romantic Hotel in Golden Sands
#7 Family Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range: $115 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Grand Hermitage 5*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a place with a unique atmosphere and service where you can relax and enjoy the serenity, the sun and the sea... Imagine a place that will exceed your expectations... Located on a quiet hill and surrounded by a green park, this exquisite luxury hotel offers the tranquility you are longing for. The 5-star resort welcomes you with stylish atmosphere, quality service and refined cuisine. Lounge on the sunniest balconies, relax in the SPA centre or have fun on the beach with the water sports available. Indulge your senses in the 5-star YHI SPA Centre: exclusive high quality massages, therapies and procedures offer a chance to get away from the stress and enjoy the serenity of your vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Grand Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Grand Hermitage Hotel Golden Sands
Melia Golden Sands
Melia Hotel Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing