We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,426)
Filter reviews
1,426 results
Traveler rating
672
405
198
90
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
672
405
198
90
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews level restaurant level guests level room sunshine cafe paella separate restaurant sea view indoor pool large hotel animation team five star hotel main restaurant great facilities water slides all inclusive program per day rooms are big
Filter
Updating list...
634 - 639 of 1,426 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we enjoyed our stay very much, it was very clean and the room very large the beds are comfortable service very good. the people are always very helpful. My wife and I stayed there from 11 till 19 July.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Hamid M,

First of all thank you for your great feed back, we are glad to see that you had a pleasant stay at Melia Grand Hermitage. We are willing to welcome you back on future vacations.

Best regards,
Anna Gancheva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Location: Golden Beach
It is really close to the sea and the promenade. I would really recommend to get up very early and go to the sea in the very morning to enjoy the warm sun and the nice atmosphere at the sea.
By bus it takes app. 30 min to go to Varna City and to the Delphinarium. Moreover Albena and Balchik (botanic garden) could be reached in less than 30 min by car. You can make the transfer in 50 min from Varna Airport to the Hotel.

Pool area:
there are many loungers and a special area for The LEVEL guests, so there is no need to hurry up in the morning. Very large outdoor pool with a special area for children. Life guard were available the whole time. Moreover, a very large indoor-pool.

Food was excellent:
In the LEVEL restaurant we could have breakfast until 11:30 in the morning. Always a wide choice of fresh rolls and fresh fruits, fantastic array of salad stuff, fresh fish and a meat selection and omelets/pancakes cooked in front of you. I liked very much the fresh orange juice available in the morning. Always a wide choice of drinks: beer, sparkling wine, red wine, white wine, various soft drinks. Staff were very friendly and efficient. The was never a queue in the LEVEL Restaurant.

Room (The Level):
Large room with two king size bed. Very large bathroom with a bath tub and a shower. Minibar was refilled every day. Flat screen TV with a large choice of programms (TV channels from different countries). Very quiet at night, so sleep was very good. Everything appeared well-maintained.

Service:
very excellent service, staff is very polite. Drinks were brought immediately. Moreover they helped us with various questions: where to get stamps, which bus you could take to go to Varna, etc.

Cleanliness:
very clean room, towels are removed every day, room was cleaned at least one time per day. Nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christiane X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Christiane X,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments. Especially we truly appreciate your nice words about our staff that we consider our most valuable asset.

We are particularly glad to hear your comments about our comfortable rooms and our convenient location, moreover your high estimation for our LEVEL program.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon to continue providing you with our excellent service.

Best wishes
Anna Gancheva
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much in this big 5* Hotel. Most importantly, it was very clean and the room quite spacious. We travelled past the peak of the season, so the hotel was not fully packed with people.

Service:
Very good to excellent. The people are always very helpful and attentive.
In the LEVEL restaurant, the waiters cleaned the tables quickly and brought the drinks immediately. Sometimes, we got water without gas instead of with gas. But by telling them, the correct drinks were brought at once.
In the Cafe in the reception area it was not immediately identifiable which drinks belong to "All inclusive" - but hey, we can always ask, right? ;-)
We had a minor complaint about our hairdryer and it was immediately taken care of. They exchanged it in no time - wow, that's how it should be done.

Room:
Very good matresses. A lot of space, even for our luggage. Normal size TV with cool feature: in the bathroom is a loudspeaker that plays the sound of the chosen TV channel. Bathroom very clean and spacious: a shower, bath tub, toilette, bidet, big mirror, cosmetic mirror, towel exchange every day. Free minibar for the LEVEL guests. Additionally non-transparent curtains, because sunrise is very early - perfect for late risers.
Sea view rooms have sun from mornings to lunchtime. Most non sea view rooms have sun from afternoon to evenings.

Cleanliness:
I can't complaint anything. So, this is very valuable.

Location: Golden Beach
It is really close to the sea. One has to go down some steps and you'll reach the promenade. The beach to the right is more beautiful than if you go to the left. Next to the hotel is a Minigolf site. You have to walk 5-10 minutes to Hotel Admiral, where the post office is (and a free shuttle to Grand Mall Varna). If you would like to go to Varna by bus (no. 409) you'll have to walk 5-10 minutes up the hill and then to the left in order to reach the bus stop.

Spa:
n./a.

Food/The LEVEL Restaurant:
A choice of cold and warm food + dessert and bread station.
Always some made salads and also single salad ingredients to create your own choice of salad plus dressings. 2 different kind of soups. Always fresh FETA cheese. Varying specialties. Always a choice of warm meat or fish, Pasta, French Fries etc.
For breakfast there were freshly cooked fried eggs and pancakes - yummy!

What more:
As a LEVEL guest I liked most the access to the LEVEL garden with some roofed but open double sun beds - we spent most of the time there. It is much more quieter than directly next to the pool. And, we also liked the indoor pool very much.

To sum it up:
We liked it very much and we can recommend it - no doubt! :-)

Stefanie

Room Tip: We had a 7ths floor sea view twinbed room. Nice view and very quiet. (The Level upgrade)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StefanieFOA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear StefanieFOA,

On the behalf of the whole Melia grand Hermitage team I would like to thank you for spending from your valuable time writing this review, comprising comments about the quality of service we offer and the Level product in particular. We are glad that we have met your expectations and you are satisfied with your vacation. For sure the information you have shared will be very helpful for our future guests and you, we hope to welcome again next season.

Best wishes and greetings from sunny Varna.

Anna Gancheva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I came to Melia Grand Hermitage with grand expectations. However, I walked away disappointed. The hotel does have its good side:

- the rooms are spacious
- it's a brief walk to the beach
- the beds are comfortable

But aside from that the feeling was that the hotel was trying to squeeze pennies out of its customers by cutting corners:

- the coffee was cheap instant coffee
- all red meat tasted the same
- the fruit variety was poor

And as an 'all-inclusive' guest I was appalled to find out that there is an upper class of customers , the 'Level' customers, which are granted benefits such as:

- real coffee
- special area by the pool

All in all, I definitely won't be coming back to Melia Grant Hermitage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Robert M,
We really appreciate your investment of time in order to write this review about your recent stay in Melia Grand Hermitage.
We would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacation and giving us an honest feedback about our facilities and services. About the coffee I would like to mention that we are working with Nescafe, which is one of the world leaders in this market; the fruits’ variety is depending from the seasonal market but there are always 6 kinds, at least, offered to our guests. Of course we would like to apologize if we were not up to your taste standards concerning the preparation of red meat and we will take your opinion into consideration. Regarding your comments of the “Level” product, this is an exclusive service in our hotel, which you can find and reserve in your travel agency or buy in the hotel. The benefits of the program provide highest standard services and we strongly recommend it to you, if you give us the chance to welcome you back in the hotel.
Once again thank you for sharing your impressions.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Most probably one of the best places to stay on the Bulgarian sea cost. My wife and I stayed there in the beginning of the season for around a week and a half thus the hotel and the resort itself hadn't been crowded yet and probably this made our stay much more confortable than usual. The hotel offered real 5-star amenities from the shared areas to the rooms, not leaving much space for improvement. Contrary to our prior expectations for reigning rudeness based on past reviews here, we came across the most kind and hard-working hotel staff we had ever seen. They really made the difference and made our stay very enjoyable. The house-keeping was satisfactory for a 5-star hotel, the shared areas were impeccable, the receptionists were very responsive and attentive, but the most surprising part of all was the kindness and efficiency of the restaurant personnel. Perhaps the main reason for that was the good restaurant supervisors who were really pushing their subordinates to the limit and didn't make any compromises with the serving quality. All tables were cleaned immediately after they were used and no matter what time you arrive at the tables they always seemed as if hadn't been used. What I appreciated most about the staff was that their kindness didn't seem simulated like you are used to see but genuine and sincere.

However, an apparent drawback is the lack of variety of the breakfast. The vegetables didn't look fresh most of the time and the dessert was only compound of fruits and yoghurt. Thankfully, the dinner was much more diverse with theme evenings bringing various traditional meals from different parts of the world and a great variety of tasty pastries.

We'd really like to bring to your attention some issues with the quality of sleep which as a whole was very poor especially for people like us who yearn for rest and prefer sleeping longer in the morning. The doors and walls didn't make a good job in surpassing the loud noises coming from the vacuum-cleaner next door and the occasional manifestations of disrespect of the DoNotDesturb indicator by house-keeping and mini-bar staff didn't help for our morning rest either. But the biggest issue of all was the constant loud noise coming from the air-conditioning throughout the night despite being off all the time which made it impossible to sleep without ear stoppers. Finally, to complete the list of disadvantages, we would add a minor flaw with the TV which was black and white most of the time with except few channels but seemed more like a room issue rather than a general problem but can't tell for sure because we never advised the reception.

It is worth to say a few words about The Level basis which we chose for our stay. Its presence was the main reason to opt for this hotel in the first place over other hotels we were considering. This is kind of unique option which can be combined with any food basis but one that leads the staff to treat you as a VIP. Actually there may be a hundred more VIPs during the climax of the season judging by the size of the The Level restaurant but still it was very affordable and the level of care to the least detail was really worth it and we never regretted our decision. Between some of its benefits were late breakfast which allowed us to skip launch, separate restaurant for The Level guests with live grand piano music at dinners, free afternoon buffet, free mini-bar and a room on one of the highest floors with guaranteed sea view. There are a few more benefits which other people might also find attractive but we didn't make use of like late departure, dedicated pool area and others which I can’t remember.

In a conclusion, as far as we are concerned, a 5-star experience is mostly about how you are treated by the personnel and the level of attention you receive and having this consideration in mind we found Sol Melia Grand Hermitage to be one very well managed hotel which we really enjoyed staying at. As opposed to our prior experience with other hotels on the Bulgarian sea coast, we find the flaws of this hotel bearable and hopefully resolved and it is one we would certainly return to.

Room Tip: As close to the Lounge as possible with a sea view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear “BGTraveller6”,

It is a great pleasure reading your nice words about our hotel and mainly the good estimation of our staff service and friendliness. Thank you for having finding the time to write such an extensive review here in Tripadvisor and for choosing us for your vacation. We really appreciate that you shows us some areas of improvement that you notice, because this is the way to become even better. It would be a pleasure if you contact me personally by the following e-mail: quality@hermitage.solmelia-bg.com, and to discuss in details some of the flaws you have mentioned.
We hope to welcome you again very soon and to exceed your expectations.

Anna Gancheva - Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews