We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the finest despite the few flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Grand Hermitage
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Golden Sands
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Most probably one of the best places to stay on the Bulgarian sea cost. My wife and I stayed there in the beginning of the season for around a week and a half thus the hotel and the resort itself hadn't been crowded yet and probably this made our stay much more confortable than usual. The hotel offered real 5-star amenities from the shared areas to the rooms, not leaving much space for improvement. Contrary to our prior expectations for reigning rudeness based on past reviews here, we came across the most kind and hard-working hotel staff we had ever seen. They really made the difference and made our stay very enjoyable. The house-keeping was satisfactory for a 5-star hotel, the shared areas were impeccable, the receptionists were very responsive and attentive, but the most surprising part of all was the kindness and efficiency of the restaurant personnel. Perhaps the main reason for that was the good restaurant supervisors who were really pushing their subordinates to the limit and didn't make any compromises with the serving quality. All tables were cleaned immediately after they were used and no matter what time you arrive at the tables they always seemed as if hadn't been used. What I appreciated most about the staff was that their kindness didn't seem simulated like you are used to see but genuine and sincere.

However, an apparent drawback is the lack of variety of the breakfast. The vegetables didn't look fresh most of the time and the dessert was only compound of fruits and yoghurt. Thankfully, the dinner was much more diverse with theme evenings bringing various traditional meals from different parts of the world and a great variety of tasty pastries.

We'd really like to bring to your attention some issues with the quality of sleep which as a whole was very poor especially for people like us who yearn for rest and prefer sleeping longer in the morning. The doors and walls didn't make a good job in surpassing the loud noises coming from the vacuum-cleaner next door and the occasional manifestations of disrespect of the DoNotDesturb indicator by house-keeping and mini-bar staff didn't help for our morning rest either. But the biggest issue of all was the constant loud noise coming from the air-conditioning throughout the night despite being off all the time which made it impossible to sleep without ear stoppers. Finally, to complete the list of disadvantages, we would add a minor flaw with the TV which was black and white most of the time with except few channels but seemed more like a room issue rather than a general problem but can't tell for sure because we never advised the reception.

It is worth to say a few words about The Level basis which we chose for our stay. Its presence was the main reason to opt for this hotel in the first place over other hotels we were considering. This is kind of unique option which can be combined with any food basis but one that leads the staff to treat you as a VIP. Actually there may be a hundred more VIPs during the climax of the season judging by the size of the The Level restaurant but still it was very affordable and the level of care to the least detail was really worth it and we never regretted our decision. Between some of its benefits were late breakfast which allowed us to skip launch, separate restaurant for The Level guests with live grand piano music at dinners, free afternoon buffet, free mini-bar and a room on one of the highest floors with guaranteed sea view. There are a few more benefits which other people might also find attractive but we didn't make use of like late departure, dedicated pool area and others which I can’t remember.

In a conclusion, as far as we are concerned, a 5-star experience is mostly about how you are treated by the personnel and the level of attention you receive and having this consideration in mind we found Sol Melia Grand Hermitage to be one very well managed hotel which we really enjoyed staying at. As opposed to our prior experience with other hotels on the Bulgarian sea coast, we find the flaws of this hotel bearable and hopefully resolved and it is one we would certainly return to.

Room Tip: As close to the Lounge as possible with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear “BGTraveller6”,

It is a great pleasure reading your nice words about our hotel and mainly the good estimation of our staff service and friendliness. Thank you for having finding the time to write such an extensive review here in Tripadvisor and for choosing us for your vacation. We really appreciate that you shows us some areas of improvement that you notice, because this is the way to become even better. It would be a pleasure if you contact me personally by the following e-mail: quality@hermitage.solmelia-bg.com, and to discuss in details some of the flaws you have mentioned.
We hope to welcome you again very soon and to exceed your expectations.

Anna Gancheva - Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

what a lovely hotel ,the rooms are very spacious and very clean lovely decor and a bathroom to die for.we stayed half board and was well impressed with the food plenty of choice and evening buffet was really good they do an asian and traditional bulgarian food night ,it was nice to try different foods .i am vegetarian and there was plenty of choice for me.the pool is a good size and they do not allow you to reserve your sun bed and if you do and the towels that . have been on for more than an hour with no one on them they are removed this is an excellent idea .the hotel is beautiful inside and fantastic at night on the outside the whole place is lit up it looks lovely. the staff are really nice and friendly.i had a birthday whilst i was there and when i returned from a day sunbathing there was a letter from the hotel managment wishing me a happy birthday i was over the moon with this it really made my day (i presume the maid had informed the managment of my birthday no one new in advance) .the resort is nice just a few yards from the hotel is the beach and main street with loads of resturants and shops and you were not hassled,by the shop owners. would deffinatley go back

Room Tip: the rooms facing the pool are nice they also look over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear "Pauline R",
It is a real pleasure to get such nice feedbak from a guest.. Thank you very much on behalf of all the team here at Melia Grand Hermitage for having spent the time to write this wonderful review in Tripadvisor and for having chosen us for this very special moment as well. We are very happy that we have exceeded your expectations and that you have experienced an unforgettable birthday.
We are expecting you again as our very special guest..
With our best wishes.

Anna Gancheva - Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I know this hotel when was Kempinski, its a beautiful construction, upgraded when become Grand Melia.I was there few years a go and I was surprise.This years I was again and I was bad surprise...Like all the facillity in Bulgaria, they lose the standard, maybe because they see a lot of tourists come to visit them. To bad, I thing twice before I come back in Bulgaria. Bigger prices, and low quality. The program...all inclusive is good, but not at 5 stars hotel...Make the difference, please !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear karl b,

Thank you for your review, We are glad that you have chosen Melia Grand Hermitage again for your holiday.
We can assure you that we are always doing our best to maintain the hotel and our service standards to the highest level. About the All Inclusive program, it is one of the most wanted on the tourist market and that is the reason that we are including it as one of our products. Actually it is very well evaluated by most of our guests (families and senior couples). Of course we are taking your comment in consideration planning season 2013 and we are sure that if you choose us for your vacation we will exceed your expectations.

Best wishes,
Anna Gancheva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

during my 7 days of staying in the Melia hotel I had really a great time swimming in the outdoor pool and relaxing in the beautiful garden . rooms are big and clean . the staff are young, friendly and always smiling . the breakfast buffet is full of delicious foods,I just don't recommend all inclusive , because there are plenty good restaurants in the beach walking area you are going to miss if you get all inclusive.

Room Tip: sea view rooms in the middle are really great, with a perfect view of the pool and black sea .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear tina s,

Thank you very much for being our guest and for the great evaluation! Our guests’satisfaction is our biggest stimulus.
For your next stay I would like to recommend you our A La Cart restaurant in order to diversify your meals.

We are looking forward to welcome you again next season!

Best wishes,

Anna Gancheva
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I want to say Thank you to the staff ot Melia Grand Hermitage.I have never met such nice and friendly people.All of them young and smiling ,helpful and doing their job very gut.We had All inclusive program and we are very pleased with it.We had free drinks everywhere in the hotel.The food is very good with big variety of fresh salads and fruits,icecream,sweets.The service and the staff are exelente.The hotel looks like a palace in the night with the lights of different colours.The view from the terrace was wonderful .We recommend this hotel to our friends,because we want the best for them.Thank ‘s one more time Melia.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Albena S,

Thank you for your lovely words! We all are what we are because of you - our guests! We will always do our best to make everyones' holiday memorable and amazing!

Warm regards,
Anna Gancheva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

WoW! I was 10 days in Melia Grand Hermitage and I had the best holiday ever. I booked only breakfast because I wanted to go around. The hotel is extremly big. There were activities at all the time.The SPA center is fantastic.They have a lot of different and interesting treatments. I really lelaxed there.Definitely I will come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Gabriela R,

Thank you very much for visiting hotel Melia Grand Hermitage and also for sharing your experience!
We will be delighted to welcome you again and provide you with an unforgettable stay!

Greetings from Varna,
Anna Gancheva - Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We've stayed here several times but never during the peak season. We booked bed and breakfast. Breakfast is an experience, great food buffet style it's just amazing the amount of waste fellow guests leave on their plate. We discovered the best time to go for breakfast was 8.00/8.30 any later and it's very very busy. Wonderful large, clean rooms. We noticed a change in the quality of food generally in Golden Sands from our last visit. I would stay again but not during peak times as it just gets so busy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libran_Lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Angelina_Alix,
On behalf of the whole team of hotel Melia Grand Hermitage, I would like to thank you for being our guest! Your comment is highly appreciated and surely proves our constant effort for improvement.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in hotel Melia Grand Hermitage!
Kind Regards,
Anna Gancheva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.4 mi away
INTERNATIONAL Hotel Casino & Tower Suites
0.2 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#1 of 112 in Golden Sands
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#25 of 112 in Golden Sands
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Gradina Hotel
Gradina Hotel
#10 of 112 in Golden Sands
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#13 of 112 in Golden Sands
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Grand Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Grand Hermitage

Address: 1 Grand Hermitage Alley, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
#4 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#5 Romantic Hotel in Golden Sands
#7 Family Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range: $115 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Grand Hermitage 5*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a place with a unique atmosphere and service where you can relax and enjoy the serenity, the sun and the sea... Imagine a place that will exceed your expectations... Located on a quiet hill and surrounded by a green park, this exquisite luxury hotel offers the tranquility you are longing for. The 5-star resort welcomes you with stylish atmosphere, quality service and refined cuisine. Lounge on the sunniest balconies, relax in the SPA centre or have fun on the beach with the water sports available. Indulge your senses in the 5-star YHI SPA Centre: exclusive high quality massages, therapies and procedures offer a chance to get away from the stress and enjoy the serenity of your vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Grand Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Grand Hermitage Hotel Golden Sands
Melia Golden Sands
Melia Hotel Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing