We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,411)
Filter reviews
1,411 results
Traveler rating
664
403
196
87
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
664
403
196
87
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslevel restaurantlevel guestslevel roomsunshine cafepaellaseparate restaurantsea viewindoor poollarge hotelanimation teamfive star hotelmain restaurantgreat facilitieswater slidesall inclusive programper dayrooms are big
Filter
Updating list...
639 - 644 of 1,411 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

i was in melia two weeks.I had wonderful time.Everytwhere is very clean,good facilities,friendly staff.The food is very tasty and the desserts are delicious We had a big room,with very comfortable bad.There is alsow SPA,Fitness,Big pool ,Every night we enyoed the animation shows.It was very interesting.The reception staff is very helpfull,and they provided us a lot of information about the hotel,We realy had a good time this summer in Melia and next year we think to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borislava A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Borislava A,

Thank you for your comment! It really is an honour for us to satisfy our guests’ wishes! Our biggest goal is to provide you with as many good memories as possible!
Thank you one more time for enjoying Melia Grand Hermitage experience offered by our staff!

You are more than welcome to visit us next season!

Greetings from Varna,

Anna Gancheva
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Really nice experience in Bulgaria. Hotel offers a "LEVEL Service". We enjoyed the stay so much. Great service, nice food, huge "junior suites", beautiful garden to realx for Level guests. We all will come back....

Room Tip: Junior suites with stunning sea view (7th floor)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Emily S,

We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your holiday and you were satisfied with the benefits of our Level program. To meet our guests’ expectations is our main goal and we are looking forward to welcome you next season, to have the chance to exceed them.

Sincerely yours,

Anna Gancheva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family and i stayed for a week in the hotel all inclusive, the hotel and rooms were really nice and spacious but the whole 5* experience was let down by the service and food. All of us had diarrhea due to the poorly cooked food that was served cold. Selection was poor and tasteless and if there was anything decent you had to fight with alot of greedy people who would pinch all the food! Not at all what i expect as a dinning experience in a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Learna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear “Learna C”,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about you recent stay in Melia Grand Hermitage and for the good estimation of our facilities. About the food, in previous comment and in our personal correspondence we took the opportunity to explain that there is no possibility and no cases of food poisoning in our hotel according the records of the Health Inspectorate, hotels doctor and our internal log book. Beside this we have already taken some actions to improve the variety of the menu and to increase the temperature of the served food.
So one more time thank you very much for choosing us and we hope to welcome you again in Melia Grand Hermitage.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent one week in this hotel and it was very nice. The room is very spacious, clean and comfortable. Excellent location. They have a nice spa, and indoor pool. The outdoor pool gets too crowded sometimes and you have to pay if you would like to sit on the beach (for the umbrella and mattresses).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear "clara m",

On behalf of allof us hera at Melia Grand Hermitage, I would like to thank you for having spent your vacation with us and for the kind words in your review as well! We are very happy to know that we have met your expectations and that you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes

Anna Gancheva
Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I wanted a relaxing holiday, with sun, beach and tours. I had heard a lot of good things about Bulgaria, so decided on going out to Golden Sands, Varna. I was with my partner.
The Melia is a large hotel, very close to the Black Sea, and the beach. Although a large hotel, the service is excellent. As you would expect, the peak period has a lot of students working at the hotel - but all of them were friendly, and very helpful. Service was attentive, but discrete. The food was served in a large and spacious restaurant - and was self service. There was an amazing choice. There were excellent fresh salads available, and many different main courses - always fish, and meat courses. There were several themed meals with a different set of meals. In addition there were pastries, ice cream, and fruit. The service staff promptly cleared up tables, and cleaned up after people. If this was not enough, there were bars with cooked snacks and pastries. One great feature was the ability to get early breakfast when going out on early morning excursions.
It was very easy to get excursions. A number of good trip providers make themselves available in the hotel lobby, and they have an informal office with literature in a room on the ground floor. I do not know about the trips in English - I took my holiday from a Dutch company, and they offered many trips in Dutch. I used a delightful Russian agent for trips - which were really wonderful, and extremely informative, but the language may prove a barrier to many UK people. My only problem with the trips was that there was much to see and do. This meant that they were somewhat hectic, and busy. However, they were great fun, and there were always stops to ensure the journey was not too tiring.
The hotel has two swimming pools - one indoors, and one out. We used both, but preferred to go to the beach and swim in the sea. The sea was great, and warm. However, there was a period when the incoming waves were very strong - I believe as the result of a storm at sea - and it was not possible to swim.
The room we had was wonderful. We were on the 8th floor, with a view over the bay, and the swimming pool. The bed was comfortable, and the amenities great. There was a TV with many channels. We only watched it a little, and that was mainly the Russian channel. The UK stations were dominated by the Olympics which did not interest either of us. The hotel had additionally provided a room on the ground floor with a large TV which was tuned to the London Olympics, which allowed interested guests to watch with others. The room was large, and airy. The bathroom was large, spacious, and lovely.
We had a problem with a smell in the bathroom when we arrived. But we spoke to the front desk, and within minutes we had staff investigating the problem, and thoroughly cleaning the drains. The hotel also offered us alternative accommodation should the cleaning have not been successful. This was all very impressive given that we arrived in the wee small hours of the morning.
There was quite an interesting mix of guests. Very few people from the UK, but many from other parts of Europe - especially Italy. There were also many Russians, Armenians and Jews. The majority of staff, including the cleaning staff, spoke understandable English.
To sum up - we spent a delightful two weeks at the hotel. A wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Our room on the 8th floor facing the sea was wonderful.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear MikeBoyle,
Thank you very much on behalf of everybody here at Melia Grand Hermitage for having chosen us for yor vacation and for the excellent score you have given us in your review as well. We are very happy that we have met and exceeded your expectations and that you had a fabulous holiday.
We will expect you to visit us again.

Greetings from sunny Varna
Anna Gancheva - Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews