We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Grand Hermitage
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
“great hotel”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I liked the service park at hygiene is the entire hotel is very clean and smells nice, I liked that it was right beside the sea and parking garages and swimming pools are great .. will recommend to my friends to visit the Melia Grand Hermitage

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Reni G,
My name is Anna Gancheva and I am Quality Manager in Melia Grand Hermitage.

From the name of the whole staff , I would like to thank you for choosing us for your holiday and for your comment about our service and facilities.

We will be waiting for you and your friends to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    320
    149
    65
    50
See reviews for
454
343
31
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Hey everybody,
I just want to leave my impression from Melia Grand Hermitage. I was on vacation with my boyfriend for 6 days, but it was enought to feel the spirit of being in a real high service hotel. WhAt i mean by saying high service is just a simple thing: everyone from the staff in hotel is really friendly to you, they will help you all the time, including the management of the hotel-they try to keep in touch with each of the guests.
The room are pretty big, with nice view and reAlly clean one.
The food in the restaurants are buffets, so you can choose different food and also they organize dinner with the tradditional food in Bulgaria , Spain and one more, but actually i try the spanish meals-delicious and close to spanish spirit.
Personaly I do like the hotel and also the Level concept-separate restaurant, special service,separate Level Reception, a relaxing zone ONLY for ADULTS( acctionaly this area is really good one with wonderful view and open bar), Level pool area, special organized garden..... I can keep writing, but i know that this is not enought to feel it.
Just find some free time and join the Melia Grand HermitAge hotel. Hope to have a wonderful vacation :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twiligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Twilight,

It is a real pleasure to know that you have enjoyed every detail from your stay here in Melia Grand Hermitage. Our guests’ satisfaction is the biggest award for us. We will always do our best to make everyone’s holiday unforgettable. Thank you very much for choosing us and finding the time to share your experience in Tripadvisor community.

We believe that you will choose us again in the future and we will have the chance to surprise you exceeding your expectations.

Best wishes,

Anna Gancheva
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Everybody from the Spa center was very kind and smily and good professionals.Also the food was very tasty.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Vanya V,

Thank you very much for the good words. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the coming season.

Greetings from Varna,

Anna Gancheva
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is located in the corner of main ring of golden sand with the biggest pool in this area.
The hotel was good, rooms were of a very good size and comfortable clean and had a lovely view out to sea with a balcony.
Unfortunately the breakfast was 6/10
Do not go for all inclusive , there are lots of good restaurant in beach road and one of the best one is exactly located in front of hotel with lots of flags,( be aware of the restaurant name : BARBEQUE (with wooden sign) which will cheating on you by extra bills)

Room Tip: it is huge hotel , try to get the room close to 6 main elevators and the air con is better in higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jamshid1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Jamshid1357,

My name is Anna Gancheva and I am the Quality Manager in Melia Grand Hermitage. Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your vacation and for the wonderful words about the facilities. On the other hand we are sorry you are not completely satisfied with the breakfast. In the high season, sometimes happen, during the breakfast , that there are too many peopleat the same time in the restaurant (rush hours from 9 a.m. to 10 a.m), but we are constantly improving and looking for solutions, and we are sure that with your next visit we will meet and exceed your expectations. I would also highly recommend to our future guests to try the thematic nights in the restaurant when we offer typical Asian, Bulgarian and Spanish cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in July with my family, 2 adults, 1 child and an infant.
The hotel is great, nice and clean.
Very beautiful and elegant room, not very large, but enough for us four, with balcony and beautiful bath. These would rather be the only good points.
Crowds at the reception was great when we arrived. Checkin was done at 3, so we had to wait, we arrived at 12.
A large swimming pool with a small baby pool and another one for children. Neither one nor the other had not arranged slides and other water toys. Sunbeds and umbrellas insufficient. At 8:30 in the morning were no chair no longer free.
Sandy beach, not too fine. Entry into the water full of clams, so I had to have special shoes. The beach is public so it pays about 20 euros for 2 sunbeds and a beach umbrela. There are some stairs from the hotel to the beach and you have to cross the main thoroughfare of Golden Sands, which is circulated but not cars.
Meal was more than 5 stars. Half of meals like junk food - chicken nuggets, potatos smiley faces, wings, fried chicken legs, like KFC, fries, burgers. Otherwise, had two meat dishes and sauce, plain rice, vegetables in the oven. Once I had salmon with sauce and grilled squid once. They had also a few pasta and salads - OK. Fruits and Cakes - varied but ultimately were not quality. Morning food was ok but very basic. For example, had only one kind of grain - corn flakes. Between meals, shaorma, roasted chicken and chicken nuggets and fries, croissants and ice cream.
One a la carte restaurant - which we did not eat.
All drinks, except for the alcoholic, the dispenser (including wine, beer and coffee). Entertainment team were OK. Various competitions were organized during the day, gymnastics, dance etc.. Evening mini disco and a show.
The hotel tourists from many nationalities, as I rarely saw. Bulgarian, Romanian, Turkish, Russian, Spanish, Arabic, Hebrew, English, French, etc..
Golden Sands resort - bars, restaurants, stalls of all kinds, lots of music, noise ... quite tedious and not very good quality.
In conclusion, the hotel is not worth the money, is too expensive for the services they offer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bea682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Bea682,
My name is Anna Gancheva - quality manager at Melia Grand Hermitage.
Thank you very much for your comment. We are happy that you have liked our hotel and found it nice and clean. We are sorry that you had to wait on the reception upon arrival. We are always giving our best to make the check- in process as quick as possible but sometimes it is difficult when a big group arrive. As well I would like to mention that the official hotel policy announced in all brochures and catalogs is that the check - in starts at 3p.m and the check- out is until noon, because we need physical time to prepare 727 rooms, especially in the high season with fully booked hotel.
About the food it would be better if you were longer with us to see that we have three thematic nights with the typical cuisine of Bulgaria, Spain and Asia.
Because the satisfaction of our guests is our priority, we have settled 14 days menu, to have good variety of the food and always to offer fresh products.
We hope to have the opportunity to meet you again in our hotel and next time to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I like the hotel, the room was very nice and big, the food was ok (unfortunately I compare with Turkey and is not nearly close with) the pool were very nice also; the place look like a turkish resort, but unfortunately with not the same ultra all inclusive concept; the beach was 200 m away and you need to go downstairs about 100 steps which is not very confortable for families with babies/trolers or small kids. The poolchairs could be rented for 7 eur each and we paied the same price for 30 min only; the beach get closed at 6:00 PM - the owner which is not the hotel take your chairs and umbrella back; that was very unpleasant. The place was nice but the entertainment was poor for a family with kids.

Room Tip: sea view room is very nice and not so expensive; it worth!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrinaPopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Hippa 2011,

We are glad that you have chosen Bulgaria and our hotel for your summer vacation in 2011. We can see that you have traveled a lot and you have big experience with other hotels and destinations and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Of course each destination and resort has their own positive and negative aspects, comparing with the others, based on many different factors. As you have correctly noticed, here in Bulgaria, the beach does not belong to the hotel and unfortunately we can not control the services offered there, but I would like to mention something about the way from the hotel to the beach. There are two possibilities for baby carriages to get down, on both sides of the hotel park there are comfortable alleys and from season 2012 we have clearly pointed them out with signs, for our guests’ convenience. As well we are proud with the Certificate of Accessibility which we have received from the government for year 2012.
Concerning the animation, like all service aspects, we are improving them with each season, and if you give us the chance and visit us again I can assure you that we will kindly surprise you.

Looking forward to see you again,

Anna Gancheva
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

please forgive my grammer this is my first time but feel this review must be done

A stunning hotel , reception is awesome with 4 staff so there is no waiting to book in . on entering your room it is so impresive huge king size bed , lots of wardrobe space , large walk in shower , double basins .free room safe, tv , balcony ,fruit and wine on arrival ,
(sounds good please read on)
breakfast is a football match people attempting to put as much food as possible on one table then leaving 90%of the food .when the baskets of fresh fruit are replenished its like a pack of dogs putting hand fulls of fruit into there beach bags ( these people are all inclusive ) ..
so its off to the pool !! .. its a stunner ,, free towels ,, however you notice the best sun beds with better covers and new brollies are reserved for "The Level customers " you are left with the far left of the pool or far right or a hole behind the pool . there is a stunning garden with trees and very posh beds and loungers but again for the Level guesrs only , these are very strictly policed by the staff and you are told to leave in no uncertain terms , the" Level" guests have there own breakfast room , dinning room , and special lounges .
we payed the extra to stay in a 5 star hotel..... but felt second class ,
one example ,, the hotel is very multi national,, one middle eastern lady tried to enter the pool in the full muslem dress yash mak etc from the right side of the pool and was told to leave by the pool staff .. however a day later a lady dressed the same from the" Level " area was allowed to bathe in the pool ,
the entertainment staff are excellent there where dance classes most afternoons , one zumba class had most of the pool area involved, in some form either dancing, watching or just having a wiggle but one "LEVEL " guest complained and the music was turned almost off and the event ruined ,
there where 5 floors above the "level" and we all felt like peasents lookin in, im only glad we where not all inclusive as we could leave after breakfast or after sun down to enjoy what is a nice resort with some good eaterys
the brochure gave us no hint of the way the hotel was set up to favour a few guests in such a huge way , and make the rest feel inferior ,
To summarise great location ,,, good staff ,,,nice rooms ,,,however if you cant afford the "Level "option dont go !!

Room Tip: its the level or nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank od161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear "od 161",
My name is Anna Gancheva, Quality manager at Melia Grand Hermitage.
Thank you very much for choosing us for your vacation and for the nice words about our Reception staff and the hotel facilities.
In relation to the Melia Level program, I would like to explain, that this is our exclusive service concept, which provide to the guests access to special areas and outlets as: The Level restaurant, The Level Lounge, The Level pool areas and garden and etc. It requires additional payment, and The Level packages are available for everybody who wants to buy it through his tour operator or directly in the hotel and to be part of it is not question of classes or nationality but free will and room availability. In addition I would like to mention that the Level guests do not have any other personal advantages(like the mentioned with the music or swimming). All of our guests are equally important for us and our only task is your satisfaction.
Once again thank you very much for your comment.
Looking forward to see you again in Melia Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#11 of 110 in Golden Sands
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#3 of 110 in Golden Sands
466 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
HVD Viva Hotel
HVD Viva Hotel
#7 of 110 in Golden Sands
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orchidea Boutique Spa
Orchidea Boutique Spa
#26 of 110 in Golden Sands
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
INTERNATIONAL Hotel Casino & Tower Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Grand Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Grand Hermitage

Property: Melia Grand Hermitage
Address: 1 Grand Hermitage Alley, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
#4 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#5 Romantic Hotel in Golden Sands
#7 Family Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Grand Hermitage 5*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a place with a unique atmosphere and service where you can relax and enjoy the serenity, the sun and the sea... Imagine a place that will exceed your expectations... Located on a quiet hill and surrounded by a green park, this exquisite luxury hotel offers the tranquility you are longing for. The 5-star resort welcomes you with stylish atmosphere, quality service and refined cuisine. Lounge on the sunniest balconies, relax in the SPA centre or have fun on the beach with the water sports available. Indulge your senses in the 5-star YHI SPA Centre: exclusive high quality massages, therapies and procedures offer a chance to get away from the stress and enjoy the serenity of your vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Grand Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Grand Hermitage Hotel Golden Sands
Melia Golden Sands
Melia Hotel Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing