We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 5* hotel”
Review of Riviera Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riviera Beach
Ranked #24 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Ploiesti, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not a 5* hotel”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

we've been for 1 week in riviera beach, all-inclusive package, second building of the hotel
strenghts: confortable large clean rooms; we were lucky to have a huge balcony (more like a terrace); cable internet connection was pretty good; good restaurant, diversified dishes, good beach
weaknesses: definetly not a 5***** hotel; quite old aspect of the carpet in the room, poor wi-fi connection, not cleaned terrace (we had to use slippers almost every time), the tables in the restaurant were not cleaned always (especially by the end of eating hours), the "used" plates were not taken from tables even if the employees saw them; local drinks (which are all-inclusive) are not quite good, so that if you want something good, you have to pay; the bar on the pool is not "all inclusive", so that if you want a beer or a coffee you should go in the hotel; the russians are better treated as compared with tourists from other countries - so it felt a little like discrimination

Room Tip: ask for rooms at second floor between 201 and 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrei g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    46
    28
    18
    11
See reviews for
70
39
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed in the Riviera Beach 2 hotel. Which is the all-inclusive hotel. Riviera 1 is for half-board guests.

I fully agree with the previous reviewers saying that this is not a 5 Star Hotel by most European standards. However I would like to point out that you do not pay 5 Star prices to stay here neither. So if you do come here, please do not expect to be waitered on, the service here is very laid back, which I personally like.

Room - All rooms are sea-facing which is brilliant. We have stayed on the 3rd floor on the last 2 occasions and my fiancee loved the view and got some amazing pictures of the pool, beach and sea. The rooms are fairly basic but the bathroom makes up for the lack of quality furnishings. The room is cleaned every day by the maid and we always get excited coming back to the room to find what she had done. Usually she would do some interesting designs with the towels or bed linen, and even my fiancee and step-daughters night-clothes. One day she even made a crocodile out of 4 different towels and the crocodile had hold of my step-daughter's clutch bag in it's mouth! Very good!

Food - There is a huge variety of food which even the fussiest eatiers should be able to find something to eat. At breakfast time one of the cooks will cook you fresh pancakes outside, inside there is the usual range of hot and cold items. For lunch and dinner there is usually 4 different types of meats to try cooked in various sauces or plain. In the evening there is a BBQ outside so you can also get some BBQ meat from there. The food is all self-service. My only complaint is that during meal times it can get very busy and sometimes difficult to find a table. This is usually caused by most people staying for the entire duration and not leaving after they have finished. Also there are notices at the entrance of the restaurant regarding dress-code and taking food out of the restaurant, but these are not enforced. I understand you go on holiday to relax and they request you were trousers in the evening, but most of the people just wear shorts and t-shirts.

Drinks - Again when in the restaurant there is a little bar in there where you can ask for a drink, or even better you can help yourself to the wine from the barrel. The wine is an acquired taste but after the first day or so you do get used to the taste of it, just like their beer. The bar-staff in the lobby bar are very friendly and most of them have been there for the past 2-3 years.

Location - The hotel is perfectly located just outside the main resort of Golden Sands (about 15 minute walk) so if you want to be away from the noise and hussle in the evening then this is the perfect place. It has it's own beach, life guard and the beaches and swimming pools are kept to a good standard.

Entertainment - The Animation Team this year have been amazing. There are 6 of them (3 boys and 3 girls) and their enthusiasm is brilliant. They have the perfect blend of trying to get everyone involved in various activities (usually darts, water aerobics, beach football, boccia, cocktail games etc) however if you say you are not interested they will leave you alone. They also run a kids-club which my step-daughter thoroughlly enjoyed. They can speak basic english, german, russian so accommodate all nationalities. In the evening, they will either do a show in Riviera one, or in Riviera 2, there will be a mini-disco, quiz night and bingo. The latter can be quite amusing as they are doing it in 3 different languages. Even if you walked past one of them they always knew your name, asked how you are and had a smile on your face. They even made a point of coming to say good-bye when we had to leave.

Summary - This is not a 5 Star hotel, but you have not paid 5 star prices, so please do not expect the service you would normally get. Rooms are basic, but at the end of the day it is simply a place to sleep and get showered etc. they do have their own air-conditioning which is great when you come in from a very hot day. Amazing views from the room. Huge variety of food for even the fussiest eaters and unlimited drinks.

We will be definitely going back there for the 4th time.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea-facing - if staying in Riviera 2 would recommend being in rooms directly over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in riviera beach for 2 weeks all inclusive place is nice and clean BUT the food was absolutely disgraceful flies in food and recyled salads and the cheese and cooled meat was sweaty looks liked never been chilled when we changed to other we were not informed apparantly there was a notice from the entrance of the the restaurant but written in german or bulgarian language complained to the reception they made out they did not understand us. Lifts always breakin down it took about a day to fix it during our stay there it was broken 4x times and one occasion broken twice in one day and we stayed on the 5th floor in which my husband has mobility problem and walks with sticks plus i got a 3 year old son and expect us to us to use the stairs until it was fixed when asked when is lift gonna be fix reception just give you a pob off answer when asked asked to be moved to ground floor we were treated like second class people.When we left we had a pack lunch and the sandwich was not wrapped just dumped in the bag the fruit was all bruised no water was given which we were promised. Wish i taken notice to the majority of the comment. So dont waste your money by paying more thinkingits a 5 star hotel maybe is the rating but not in food food or the reception not go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyv73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Golden Sands hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

I was surprised at how much I like Bulgaria, I have never been before and was expecting the worse!

It's beautiful, beautiful beach, clean environment, friendly people, what more can you ask for?

Hotel is lovely, couple of moans.... It's not 5 star, more like 4, but it's good!

Pool area not cleaned too well, I had to remove cups and straws from the day before.

Breakfast is amazing, I really enjoyed it, dinner is not so fab, but still managed to get something nice to eat.

Don't go all inclusive, it's not worth the money, you can't use the pool bar, your drinks are smaller than the half board guests, it doesn't seem worth it for the extra supplement.

They don't speak good English at the hotel, tried to order water at dinner, it was a struggle, but after seeing the price I didn't bother again.

Don't pay hotel prices for drinks, as soon as you walk out of the hotel grounds there is a stall, get all your drinks and snacks from him, he's friendly and charges less than half the price!

Golden sands is lovely with so much to offer, maybe too many sex shops, I wasn't expecting so many!!

Not many English go to golden sands, which I was not aware of!

Sand is full of shells, can be painful on your feet, not how it looks in the brochures.

You have to pay for sun loungers, cushions and umbrella on the beach, which could be quite expensive if to do it everyday.

Do not have a basement room, they look scary, dont understand why you would want to stay in room like that!

It is definitely in the best location as its slightly away from all the madness!

All rooms face the sea. It's lovely to sit in the balcony to watch the sunset in the sea!

Go, I'm sure you will enjoy it!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kings69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Riviera Beach is a good hotel for families, clean and most important: on the beach. There are 3 pools, one of them for children. The food was not the best but not bad. I did not like one thing, we had ants in the room, and also our friends. But all toghether the hotel was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrisPaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We spent our Labour Day holidays in Riviera Beach Hotel in Golden Sands. I highly recommend this place to everybody. The view from our room was spectacular, the food was delicious and the service - excellent!

We are thinking to spend also our summer holidays in this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandru D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Very good hotel - peaceful and surrounded by nature. Excellent service. We had a wonderful time! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
1.1 mi away
Melia Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage
#4 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#2 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Grand Beach
Marina Grand Beach
#14 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#13 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
HVD Viva Hotel
HVD Viva Hotel
#7 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Beach

Property: Riviera Beach
Address: Golden Sands, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Golden Sands
#17 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
#17 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riviera Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest and the largest hotel in the resort. Innovations in design and architecture. The hotel has a big conference room with 300 seats. It has a SPA & Wellness centre offering mud healing therapies. With number of international awards for service quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riviera Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Beach Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province
Riviera Beach Hotel Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing