We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place cannot see why others moan”
Review of Pliska Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pliska Hotel
Ranked #94 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place cannot see why others moan”
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We moved to this hotel following a real bad experiance at our chosen hotel. The staff where very welcoming and helpfull, so for the others that say not I disagree with you completely. The food was of a high standard and the staff regulary checked the buffet to make sure to was well stocked along with removing old items.
I must say the place was very clean and you regulary saw the cleaners all hours of the day keeping the place to a very high standard. Following a very windy night they even kindly recovered missing clothing from a near by roof, laundered and returned it to us.
Could not have asked for better service, room and it really changed what could have been a bad holiday into a great one.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unhappytraveller31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    31
    43
    31
    29
See reviews for
40
54
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Arrived 2 July for one weeks holiday with my daughter. Hotel room average but cleaned every day with fresh towels/linen daily. We had booked half board a little disappointed with food mainly salad but exensive choice (we didn't go for burgers and chips) but cheap enough to eat out if you wanted something different. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Caberet each evening was entertaining although the two singers couldn't sing but we just found it hilarious. We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool, bar area and were not disturbed by any noise after 11am. Hotel is on the quiet end of Party Street. Need to be up early if you want a bed by the pool though people were reserving and not using. We would recommend if you want a quiet, clean, cheap holiday location.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suesaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2010

after a long journey to the hotel first impresion was ok, until next morning, woke for breakfast to find a que of mostly germans, as breakfast opened there was what i can only describe as a stampede, food was unedible we were half board and we had to use majority of our spending money eating out, (my partner will eat almost ANYTHING at home so i knew i wasnt being fussy), the staff were completely unfriendly and every thing seemed an effort, in fact it was only on the final evening were we ASKED if we would like a drink, this was a first for the whole week!!!!!!!!, on one night during early hours there was even a group of german teenagers playing football and shouting in the corridors!!nothing was said to these kids and we had to endure it for hours, the only positive thing i can say was the room was clean, but i can honestly say after 2 days we really wanted to come as we have never felt so unwelcome on a holiday, this hotel should never be a 3*** as it is far from that, never never never again would i visit this hotel and would hate to think of other fellow brits working hard all year to have a lovely weeks holiday to stay at this hotel and have as misserable time as we did, AVOID LIKE THE PLAUGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cors4c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Golden Sands hotels

leeds
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

First impressions of the hotel were fantastic, check in serivce was to a high standard, there was 14 of us to get check in! and the reception staff were very helpful too.
Breakfast at the hotel catered for all nationalities with many different types of food available, i will be honest i wouldnt say its the best i have had, but it didnt stop me sitting down every morning!
Drinks in the hotel are roughly around 90p for a pint of beer, £1.20 for soft drinks, and for a snack i.e burger and chips roughly £2.50.
Rooms were on the small side, and basic, although the maid service was brilliant, couldnt fault them for anything.
Entertainment was to a good standard, but we prefered to go into the resort centre on a night time, pool area was clean, although it could get over crowded at times.
The main area of golden sands is around a 10minute walk anyway but there is bars and reasturants next to the hotel!
Overall i would defiantley return back to golden sands, and would go back to the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouse93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Arrived at the Pliska on 3rd July, to blaring music coming from the hotel disco, got our room key and was left to find our room, yes along the dimly lit threat bare carpeted corridors, we couldnt find our room as it was not on the hotel plan, we eventually found it, and the rooms were basic but yes clean, not much space for clothes, but that was least of the problems,
after a bad nights sleep we went to breakfast, join an orderly queue and hunt for a spare table, choice of boiled eggs, dodgy looking scrambled egg or fried egg if any left, nasty german sausage, and a queue at the toaster which took forever to brown, 2 choices of cereal with the most horrid watered down milk ever, coffee was like sludge and the juice watered down and nasty. fruit plentyful though the germans were taking huge handfuls, obviously to keep them going throughout the day.
Evening meals not much better, mostly tomato, feta, breads, to say size of the hotel there was only a very small area which served HOT!!! not. Food. this was usually cold and unappetising. germans taking plates of chips, leaving none for others and if u asked for any more the staff just shrugged shoulders. disgusting.
Waiters/ waitresses come and clear plates the minute you eat the last morsal of it, no need to say thank you, coz it falls on deaf ears, staff dont want to make conversation, very rude, ignorant, and unfriendly.
!st place we have ever been to and English being the minority staying there. Germans and East Europeans who are not the most friendly.
The best point is that the hotel is situated in good location, only 5 mins to main front, plenty of shops and bars and restaurants.
Weather very unpredictable for July, rained every day we were there, thunderstorms, torrential rain, got indoor pool but nothing else to do if weather bad,
Entertainment poor, same boring, terrible double act tryin best to sing, a night time synchronised swim duo, out of time and bad.
Our passports were taken off us when we checked in, and our rep advised us that we could leave behind reception til we checked out,
Luckily for us we decideed to ask for our the evening before as the reception had lost ours, we spent our last night arguing and panicking about them, spoke to our rep, and he told us to check our room for them, why would they be there when we had left them behind reception, after a few heated words, the passports were eventually found, behind the reception!!!
We would maybe one day go back to golden sands resort but never to the Pliska!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debsy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Arrived at the hotel on Sat 3rd July check in was painless as such, once checked in on a half board basis, (bed brekkie and evening meal) we were told we needed to get the lift to the 6th floor walk along the corridor and get the next lift to the 7th floor where our room was situated. Exiting the lift on the 6th floor we walked along the corridor which was carpeted with threadbare carpets, to the lift taking us to the 7th floor. The room was very basic but clean. Take your own hangers if u have lots of clothes we had 10 hangers between us, and 1 very small drawer in a bedside cabinet. The maids attended every day and the room was kept spotless, sometimes leaving our towels on the bed shaped like swans, folding clothes in piles that were left on chairs, we left a tip on the nite of our departure to say thankyou. Our first night we went to the dining area for our evening meal, along a very poorly lit corridor. We took our seats in the dining room waiting to be asked what drinks we wanted with our meal and expecting a menu. Big mistake no menu and no one came to the table, Evening meal is buffet style food and help yourself. Nothing hot to eat, cucumber, tomatoe, feta cheese, sardines, coleslaw, cold pasta with some sort of sauce, and bread. Dessert was a few little bulgarian style biscuits. I put some salad on a plate hubby decided he wanted nothing. Still no one to ask if we wanted drinks, So we left the dining room having not eaten and went to a local restaurant where we enjoyed a lovely meal. Breakfast I thought would be better, no it wasnt, greasy fried eggs with burst yolks,hard boiled eggs, powdered scrambled eggs, 2 types of cereal, hot dogs, and again salad type food ie tomatoe cucumber feta cheese. The juice was more like pure syrup, a sugar overload. A massive queue with no orderly fashion to it to toast your bread if u wanted toast. The hotel was overrun with germans with no manners or etiquette. We ate out every night due to the lack of choice of food for evening meal. On the last 2 days there was torrential rain and thunderstorms, so bad that we couldnt leave the hotel for fear of being struck by lightning. We ordered a hot pizza for which we knew we would have to pay even though we had paid half board. The pizza was edible. It was still torrential rain the following lunch time so again we ordered hot food from the menu and waited in the dining room. Whilst waiting the waiter asked us if we would eat outside, baring in mind it was torrential showers, we didnt budge but were not given a reason why,. After looking around I then knew the reason, we were not all inclusive guests and were sitting amongst everyone at lunch who was!!! Why sit outside we are paying customers and should be treated with the same respect of all inclusive customers. If you want somewhere to stay with basic rooms which are clean(or at least ours was), noisy corridors with young adults shouting and running about, and are not particularly bothered about your food being hot or repetative then this is the place to stay, WE will not however be rushing back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texty_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Myself ,husband and teenage son have just come back after a week long stay in the Pliska- the hotel was as expected "clean but basic"- we were relieved that we paid for bed and breakfast only after seeing what was on offer!!! we ate out every meal and spent little time at the hotel, but the time we did spend there we found a large number of the staff to be quite rude and unfriendly!!! (the cleaner however was very nice and made a good job of cleaning our family room) Be aware of the noise if your room is facing the pool and bar area as the music stays on until the final drinker leaves the bar (usually around 3.00am and then you will be woken up at around 6.00amish while the staff scrape the sun loungers around to set out for the early sunbathers. We averaged only 4 hours sleep a night. Our highlight of the day was breakfast at **HURRY RAMSDEN'S CAFE situated next to the entrance to the beach were we had a friendly welcome from the owner JERRY every time with great food at a good price including a great cup of tetley tea every day!!! Another good place to eat was Havana on the main strip- lovely food and great service. We would not stay at this hotel again due to the staff and food but the resort of Golden Sands was nice for a week although we would make sure we flew into Varna as the journey from Bourgas was horrendous in the minibus provided and myself and another lady had to stop the minibus to be ill although i am normally a good traveller but the journey lasted over 2 1/2hours- we decided to hire a car for the trip back to the airport and the scenery was wonderful - stopping off at Nessebar for lunch. Say hi to Jerry from julie, pete and calvin for us!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babybooHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.1 mi away
Gradina Hotel
Gradina Hotel
#10 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shipka Hotel
Shipka Hotel
#43 of 110 in Golden Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Perla Hotel
Perla Hotel
#87 of 110 in Golden Sands
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#82 of 110 in Golden Sands
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Preslav Hotel
Preslav Hotel
#36 of 110 in Golden Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Grand Beach
Marina Grand Beach
#14 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pliska Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pliska Hotel

Property: Pliska Hotel
Address: Golden Sands 9000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pliska Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Pliska Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pliska Hotel Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing