We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No surprises there - clean, good meals, close to the beach”
Review of Lilia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lilia Hotel
Ranked #36 of 111 Hotels in Golden Sands
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I believe it's the 4 time i'm staying at Lilia. Taking into account the past experiences i chose Lilia for the first holiday abroad with my 1 year baby. The hotel is a good compromise between the noise from the southern part and the silence(too much silence i believe) from the northern part(which is starting from Luna Hotel). Make no mistake - you can sleep like a baby("tested" personally both during the night and day). The main positive thing after this holiday it's the feeling i had that everyone - receptionist, bell boy, housekeeper, restaurant personnel is trying to help you feel good. And they seem to like that(a smile was enough proof for me). The food in the 5 days i stayed was variated and good. In front of the hotel at 50m the sandy beach is clean; you can have a sunbed(30leva/15 euros for 2 persons per day) or you can use your towel. The main customers seemed to be Germans, Russians and Romanians. The reception spoke good English(i don't speak German or Russian so i cannot comment on that). My feeling is that the hotel is paying very much attention to the couples with children.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snakebyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 145 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2011

stayed in this hotel in august 2010, aside from some problems while checking in (we had to wait far longer than the stated 2pm check in) everything was good with the exception of the front desk staff. we changed money there, but in the end gave up and just used the next hotel down. the girls on the desk in hotel lilia were pretty unfriendly (we had the impression it was towards younger guests - me and girlfriend both in mid 20s), but the hotel is fine, nice and clean & great location at the quieter end of the resort. that means less blaring music, less english bars, less people wandering around in football shirts etc. that being said, it was a pleasant 10 minute walk right into the centre - this is the better end for families.

re the food - seriously what do people expect, a full english? most of the guests are german, and the hotel is in bulgaria, so why on earth would they be serving english food? if you want english food, why go on holiday to bulgaria? the food was very samey and we broke it up by going out to eat a couple of nights, which is nice and cheap. the hotel doesn't really run any trips, and the girls on the desk didn't even know where the bus stop was (for the bus goign to the water park) but not a dealbreaker. would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimMorston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I spent a week in this hotel, in July 2010.

Swedish buffet was only an expression ...unfriendly eyes watching you.

I remember very well a waiter taking an orange from 3 years child' hand with <<нет оранжевый, ONLY IN THE RESTAURANT>>.
So, same restaurant, same staff...

It could be better...

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank K_turist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We spent two weeks at Hotel Lilia - All Inclusive.

On arrival we were helped with our bags and shown to our room by the friendly concierge. We did not have a sea view room and thus were overlooking tennis courts of another hotel - this wasn't an issue however the road was a bit noisy during the nights (we were on the second floor). The rooms with sea views were excellent as the hotel is just a stone's throw away from the beach.
In terms of food and beverages that were included in 'All Inclusive' it was very poor. Drinks included were orange squash, coca cola, fanta, sprite, tea/coffee, white/red wine, local beer (lager), vodka, local brandy and an aniseed drink - similiar to sambuca. It was fine for a week - but after two weeks you really do get fed up of the lack of different drinks available - the bar is open 10 am - 10 pm and drinks are only allowed to be drunk in the bar or the outside terrace - you have to pay for them if you want to take them to your rooms or sit by the pool.... The food at Hotel Lilia was pretty poor by anybodies standard - the majority of hotel guests were German and the Hotel seemed to base its cooking around this demand - greasy 'hotdog-style' sausages, dried scrambled eggs, fried bread - for hot food, however they did provide an array of croissants, breads, cheese, meat and fruit as well as yoghurt and cereals which made the breakfasts more bearable. Lunch and dinner were samey foods with the overuse of dill in all dishes, very salty and greasy. They had fresh salads available and staple chips and pasta for those a bit fussier with their food - it was usually rice, chicken, pork and fried fish with potatoes and overboiled vegetables (only one type of vegetable - overboiled sweetcorn, overboiled sprouts or beans). Desserts were bowls of angel delight-like puddings, cakes and ice cream.

After five days of the same food we got extremely fed-up but luckily it was very cheap to eat out.

The room was cleaned daily with sheets being changed twice-weekly, it was two-single beds pushed together with very lumpy mattresses, the aircon was great and there was plenty of room to move around in the rooms - there was only one english television channel available.

The location of the hotel was fantastic - it was a little quieter down near the hotel as the main nightlife strip was just a five minute walk along. The hotel overlooked the beach and a five minute walk away from big wheel saw you get to the pier where fishing trips could be booked.

The hotel was a good base for sightseeing and nightlife however if you wanted a hotel-based holiday it would just be too boring and repetitive.

Golden Sands as a resort it very built-up but still quite cheap - most bars offered happy hours that went on all night offering two for one cocktails. An average meal cost us 45 levs - £20 for a bottle of wine, water, two starters and two mains - fantastic!

There are a couple of bars to recommend:
Mamma Mia's - a little further on from the main wheel (if you are heading from the Hotel Lilia) plays all international football matches - you just tell them which one and they put it on a screen for you.

A fantastic restaurant with great entertainment and friendly staff is just a stone's throw from Mamma Mia's (its on the corner just off the two main nightlife strips road that connects them, if you turn right from Mamma Mia's up a few steps there is a restaurant - I think it is Germahka - or something similiar - where we had the best meal and best wine for the smallest bill)

We booked a morning fishing trip through one of the street sellers based in the conservatory halfway along the strip - we were on the boat for 10 am - they provided lunch and drinks and it was fantastic - any biggish fish that you caught they barbequed for you for your lunch along with mackerel, salad and bread - definately worthwhile.

Also consider doing the Varna Bus Tour - tip is to go all the way round once to get a good view of the city and its sights then go round again and hop-off at the specific places that interest you - 19 lev.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank popplingtonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Hotel Lilia is in a nice quiet location on the golden sands strip. the rooms are cleaned daily and the foyer is always being polished and cleaned. the food at breakfast was below average with the meal being aimed at the German diet with horrible sausages, yucky eggs, no bacon. The toaster was useless and the tea bags tasted like lemon washing up liquid. The rooms could have done with a kettle and there was no iron board or iron to be had from reception. The hotel has a roof top pool which you have to pay extra for and also a gym which again should be free. There are no kids clubs and little to occupy them apart from the main pool. There is no English papers or magazines available but a plethora of Russian and German.
Up the steps from the hotel is a wonderful restaurant called Golden Beach, on left hand side about 40 steps up past tennis courts, food is cooked to order and is the best I have tasted in Bulgaria. I found the main strip boring and repetitive so a walk up the hill is a must.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank breakish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Really enjoyed our 10 nights at the Lilia. Found the staff really helpful and efficient...all our requests eg extra pillows, hangers and our noisy neighbours were dealt with immediately. We had a triple room with sufficient space and storage. Breakfasts were plentiful with fresh fruits, cereals, choice of bread/rolls, croissants, pancakes, yoghurt etc. Fried didnt look too appetising but great variety otherwise. Pool lovely but no bar by pool. Glad we werent all inclusive as drinks selection and bar service seemed less satisfactory. We ate at variety of local bars and restaurants reasonably cheaply Varna worth a visit..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

hotel was very nice shame about the miserable staff,food was ok shame it didnt cater much for the English,breafast was poor same everyday sauage,egg and pancakes,nice pool and the weather was superb ,if all inclusive waiting to get a drink was a drag as one bar person was serving while another member of staff was sitting at the end of the bar writing down what we were having,can anybody get a smile out of the lady bartender in the restaurant good luck !!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
1 mi away
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#25 of 111 in Golden Sands
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Hotel
Luna Hotel
#67 of 111 in Golden Sands
174 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pliska Hotel
Pliska Hotel
#96 of 111 in Golden Sands
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Paradise Green Park Hotel & Apartments
Paradise Green Park Hotel & Apar...
#24 of 111 in Golden Sands
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grifid Hotel Vistamar
Grifid Hotel Vistamar
#5 of 111 in Golden Sands
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilia Hotel

Address: Golden Sands, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range: $42 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lilia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lilia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilia Hotel Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing