We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a teribel experience”
Review of Kaliakra Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kaliakra Palace
Ranked #81 of 111 Hotels in Golden Sands
Reviewed August 15, 2013

the clining room i s apparently good but ... no shampoo, no, soap, no hygienic papers - the administration, after 2-3 solicitation offer a minimum of this prodacts
wi-fi conection was onlly on paper because don't work onlly in reception room
the water of piscins is verry coold
the place for children in a ruine
the fittness room is a noubody land where the childron play the games verry dangerous
the fitness instructors is only on papers
and manny ohers ... !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loghin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Kaliakra Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 166 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

I went to Kaliakra with kids for a week. It was mostly a very nice stay. The location was excellent right on the beach, staff very nice and the overall condition good and clean. The all inclusive package covered most of our needs regarding food and drinks. Nevertheless the prices in other restaurants were so affordable we sneaked out for dinner for a couple of evenings since the hotel menu didn't vary that much.

Our room was on the top floor with sea view. This was mostly a good thing. The view was spectacular indeed. Also it was as far as possible from the pool where the hotel animation team held the evening programs until midnight and the music was pretty loud at times. The wind nicely

I'm a light sleeper so the night party people woke me up several times a night coming back from bars since the room soundproofing was really poor. Anyway, earplugs helped and depends on person how annoying you think this is.

The good side of waking up at six o'clock every morning was that this way I was able to book us the poolside chairs. I read about the chairs being reserved very early beforehand but didn't believe it's true. However it was... You book the chairs simply by placing your towel on a free chair. Towel on a chair is sacred and nobody will remove it until the service guy cleans the pool at 9 PM. So my policy was visiting the pool the first thing in the morning, leave the towels on the free chairs (usually only maybe 5 chairs tops were available this time), then get some coffee from the machine and read my book until the kids woke up 2-3 hours later, then have breakfast and after that go enjoy the pool for the day. Some people I talked with were awesomely pissed off at this, since it was basically impossible to get a poolside chair after 7AM. On the day we left, I noticed all chairs were booked at 6.30.

The hotel location was really good right on the beach. There's nice restaurants and bars within walking distance as well as some souvenir shops. There was also a ping pong table and kids' pool with a cute tiny water slide.

The meals didn't have much variation to them - they served the same pork and chicken every night, with some fish on the sea theme night. The salad buffet was more versatile which kept me from eating out every night. In nearby restaurants a good meal with drinks cost about 10-15 euros per person. Sometimes there wasn't enough food or plates and it was somewhat annoying to fight for the last bite of chicken with the other guests.

The hotel staff was really nice and helpful and did their best to keep us happy and can't blame them for the slight feel of the hotel having too many guests for the size of the setting. I wouldn't come here with kids under 8-9 since there was so much waiting sometimes or no free seats on the breakfast and that would be a pain with really young ones. If you don't mind some little annoyances here and there, Kaliakra is a nice and affordable place to enjoy some lazy summer days.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AleksiManninen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

With his family chose this hotel by accident, but after the wonderful holiday there regret our choice. The food was great. Very tasty and different every day. The rooms are spacious and the sea view is great depending on what side of the hotel you are. The animators were very good every night was different performances, failed to cheer the audience had interesting games that took part in the crowd. The animators created a great mood.
The hotel has 2 pools one large and one smaller. The hotel is located a short distance to the sea. Crosses a pedestrian only street and you are at the beach. The beach is fine sand is fine and very pleasant to the touch. The hotel is near the city centre, where there is enough entertainment and restaurants.
Enough is remote from the centre to be a quiet evening.
I would recommend to all my friends this hotel for a relaxing and enjoyable experience of summer holidays.

Room Tip: There is only one elevator which is a drawback for high-level. For you are not dependent on the lif...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RadoslavVasilev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was with my boyfriend at this hotel this year in September, for 5 nights. The location is excellent, in the first line of hotels, next to the sea. The hotel doesn't have private beach but it is not necessary because the pool is very close to the beach.
I recommend this hotel for people who want to spend a relaxing holiday. Rooms are big, modern and refurbished- (finished in 2012). Rooms are cleaned every day, the adults pool is not too big but not too small but the children pool is very small so if you have children maybe they won't be very excited.
The food it's OK, not too various but the ice cream and cookies are plentiful.
Animation team is very active and don't let you to get bored. You can play various games: pool games, volleyball, darts, football, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roxana1Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Brilliant location, lovely stay at hotel. Right on the sea front had a balcony room with sea view was clean and comfortable. Service was great especially katrin at reception who was very helpful. Would definately recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holstar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The title may sound a bit confusing but let me explain. The Kaliakra Palace operates 2 types of all inclusive. FIrstly there is the traditional all inclusive and then theres ultra all inclusive which is something ive never heard of before. If you think the title is confusing then the way the staff treat the 2 different types of inclusive holidays is mind bogling. If you are ultra all inclusive you cant get want you want 24/7 whilst standard all inclusive stops at 11pm. The way you are treated differs by the colour of your wrist band.

A little background before we tell you our personal experience. The Hotel can board over 500 people but its resources (sun beds and dinner table places) number around 150 so there is a constant problem of fighting for places. During our stay, of the 500 guests only 20 were english

Now for our experiences:

When we arrived at the hotel we were met by a surly receptionist who chose to break off dealing with us to deal with the ultra inclusive guests several times. He mistakenly charged us for a safe deposit box in the room When he was told by his manager that the safe deposit box was included in our room cost he phoned my wife and as very aggresive before finally hanging up

We had to ask 4 times for the room to be cleaned and eventually 6 days after arriving at the hotel we had our sheets changed and then only once more in the whole of the 14 days.

The pool security guard informed us that we could not reserve the sun beds at any time and any time we werent on our sun bed and somebody wanted a sun bed he would give them ours. This resulted in hurriedly taken meals so as not to lose our beds. when we spoke to the hotel manager about it he stated that the policy of the hotel was that if you werent on your sun bed after 2 hours then your towel would be removed, which is fair, however the guard continued to give away other peoples sun beds for tips - which the hotel forbids.

Part of the ultra inclusive deal appears to be that anybody including children as young as 6 can get alcholic drinks either for their parents or themselves, which we witnessed on 2 occassions.

Finally when we booked out at 2am in the morning, the same surly recptionist was on duty and asked if we had broken the air conditioning unit or taken any towels.

We will definitely not be going back to this hotel and cant recomend it - unless of course you want to pay for the upgrade.

One thing that also needs mentioning is that the hotel states it is beach fronted which is correct but does not provide sun beds on the beach - you have to pay for these separately about £15 per couple per day.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are alledgedly better
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

won`t be going back, was on 7th floor nice room lovely views, Went with my sister we did look at reviews but went with the good comments,(wrong choice). very poor english,ignorant and rude staff.rules need to be put in place regarding sunbeds they are all taken up with towels by 7.00, some did`nt get used untill after dinner time. Food was same all week just disquised as something else. This was my first trip to bulgaria and i will go back but try another resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank helen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden Sands
5.8 mi away
Hotel Kaliakra
Hotel Kaliakra
#11 of 31 in Albena
103 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bellevue
Bellevue
#36 of 51 in Varna
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grifid Hotel Vistamar
Grifid Hotel Vistamar
#5 of 111 in Golden Sands
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#21 of 111 in Golden Sands
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#77 of 111 in Golden Sands
108 reviews
8.4 mi away
Joya Park Complex
Joya Park Complex
#27 of 51 in Varna
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaliakra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaliakra Palace

Address: Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Golden Sands
#39 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#42 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range: $67 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaliakra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Kaliakra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaliakra Palace Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province
Kaliakra Palace Hotel Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing