We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oh my god have nightmares about this place cried all week!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaika Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golden Sands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chaika Hotel
Ranked #105 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Dursley Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“oh my god have nightmares about this place cried all week!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

this hotel is worse than a prison! all of us were ill from the so call breakfast that consisted of a moldy old toaster and a bowl of fruit covered in wasps! beds were dirty and cramped into a box room and it stank had to lie on a towel and left it on the bed and when we left hotel the manager stop us and told us we had stolen it! what a joke and if we tried to use the shower it flooded the whole bedroom and the toilet leaked into it too. we were booked to stay for 2 weeks but only lasted 5 days and begged for any flight back to uk please if your reading this dont go there i am far from fussy but would have rather camped in the cold rain in uk lol

Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sharonbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    2
    1
    10
See reviews for
3
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2006

I have just come back from a weeks holiday in Bulgaria, staying in this 2 * hotel in the resort of Golden Sands. I was obviously not expecting luxury, due to it being a 2* allocation on arrival deal, but this hotel (If you can call it that) shocked me.

We got there at night which didn't help, but it was no better in day light. A very dark hotel with hostel type rooms inc. a bathroom with a shower that floods the floor. Room didn’t feel secure and the electrics were coming out of the wall. The only good think about the rooms were the beds- very comfortable. The restaurant down stairs was appalling. We did not eat here, due to the poor food which was cold and had flies milling around. We went to the Riviera Resort next door which did a fantastic breakfast for 9 Levs (just under 4 pounds).The toilet downstairs were also a disgrace.

The reception staff were polite, especially the bell boy Vince. A very nice guy that helped out with anything that needed doing. The bar staff were AWFUL!! VERY rude.

The hotel itself was a health and safety hazard. My friend managed to sprain her ankle on the steps, as they were camouflaged, so you could not see where the step ended and the floor began. Hotel was very badly lit, so a nightmare for people who have bad eyesight. Uneven flooring outside and lots of uneven (unlit at night) steps up to the hotel. Balcony had a barrier that a small child could climb or crawl under and the outside of the hotel had many trip hazards.

We stayed here with Balkan Holidays. DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS COMPANY! This hotel is a 2* Bulgarian hotel and has passed the Bulgarian standards. It is NOT a British 2* rating. The resort of Golden Sands is lovely, so if you plan on going there, go with a British company and get a 3*+ hotel if you can. We had a great holiday, but this hotel, my friend’s injury and the unpleasantness of certain staff put a dampener on the trip.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Golden Sands hotels

England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2006

I hated this hotel on sight as a single parent on a limited budget the price i paid was i thought good until we arrived. The first morning after sleeping in a dirty mouldy room we went down to breakfast and discovered mouldy food. My son is only five years old and i found this totally unacceptable. We also discovered that to get to the beach or any decent hotels with a pool we had to climb down a large flight of dangerous steps which at night were extremely dark and for my child scary. The only saving grace of our holiday was the hotel pliska which we used on a daily basis, even sneaking in to have our breakfast there which made me feel like a common criminal, not a good feeling on what was supposed to be our "great" holiday. All in all i would advise anyone thinking of going to Bulgaria to ensure they avoid this hotel like the plague.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank starstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, U.K
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2006

when we got to the chaika i thought it was a school, we stayed up with some scotch people we had met and searched for the pool, oh yes their wasnt 1, thank goodness!!

we went to bulgaria in a party of 6 two 15 year old girls 2 middle aged women and men, in hope to buy a property in nearing city, varna.

one the middle aged women had a stoma bag which got infected because of the disgusting "digs" we had paid to stay in for 2 weeks, as soon as me and my mum walked into our room which was instead of corridor 1 or floor 1, was named block a, somewhat like a concerntration camp! my mum burst into tears at the sight of the off white bedsheets, musky smelling wardrobe and damp floors, but we put up with it for the firts night and thought it may get better throughout the 2 weeks, on the firts morning we went down to"breakfast" which was in the"disco room" fitted with dance floor and all!

you could have toast, cold toast, lukewarm toast or egg on toast so my dad (who is diabetic) opted for the egg on toast. it was green.

the staff could not speak english at all there was one member of staff then who worked all hours behind the bar named peter, he recognised my dads distress and tried to sort the problem out, lets just say we didnt eat there again.

bulgaria is a beautiful country with amazing sights and lovely people, the chaika lets it down so so much.

we returned the following year and stayed at the hotel bonita, amazing lovely, CLEAN welcoming place, not a school in the middle of a forest.

Katie Lynch Nuneaton

  • Liked — peter the barman the only english speaker, and dido the "breakfast boy"
  • Disliked — it stank.
  • Tips/Secrets — do not go to the chaika, its like a school/concerntration camp in a wood. BONITA ALL THE WAY!!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank katielynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2006

After booking a cheap holiday to Bulgaria, golden sands, online, i was slightly worried that we were 2* allocation on arrival, but for the price we paid for 2 weeks - £200 i could hardly expect luxury.
We arrived after a pleasant flight at Varna airport to meet the first of the Balkan holidays reps, then were allocated our hotel and swiftly off on our way. Having read as many reviews on 2* hotels in golden sands as possible before going away, i was filled with dread after reading these reviews on the hotel chaika and promised myself to kick up a fuss if we were allocated that hotel. I even went as far as printing the web pages out so as to use in a case against the hotel if the situation arose.
We were given our welcome pack at the airport, and the hotel Rai was listed for us, however on inspection a tip-exed out hotel chaika could be seen, i breathed a sigh of relief and counted my lucky stars that our hotel had obviously been changed last minute.
So we got to golden sands and were dropped off at hotel rai... or so we thought! it turns out that we were no where near golden sands, in fact our allocation on arrival had landed us in a town named journalisst that was not even on the map! we could walk to golden sands, but it took us 20-30 mins once we discovered the shortcut, but were annoyed at the prospect of this or paying 30 lev taxi fares eveyday.
Now for the praise of our balkan rep -Todor, he was a lovely guy! we told him how disappointed we were at the location as we had paid for allocation on arrival within golden sands. The hotel Rai was absolutley fine, clean and safe if a little old fashioned, but we were just too far away, so our rep agreed to try and move us.
We were given two options, move to hotel Chaika (!!) or pay £80 and move to hotel tsvarets in the middle of the resort on party street. The thought of moving to the hotel I had read such awful things about was not a nice prospect, but we decided to go and look at both.
Getting to Chaika we soon saw it was basically the equivalent of the hotel Rai and with only a short walk into the resort. It was not anything spectacular, but nor was it as bad as people make out, sure the bathroom or wetroom was not amazing and the curtains need improving, but for a basic room, in walking distance to nightlife and restaurants and being part of golden sands it was perfectly acceptable for us and we had an excellent holiday. We even had a fridge in this room, so we thought it was great, especially when it was 38 degrees in the shade!
We looked at tsvarets but were absolutely dismayed at how they could charge us £80 for rooms even more basic and old fashioned than Chaika and Rai, with a death trap lift and constant noise from party street. So ironically it turned out that hotel Chaika couldnt have been more suitable for us. The location is perfect, you escape the noise at night, but are close enough to stumble back drunk, the aquapark is just a walk up the road, and buses and excurtions go from around the corner. We also got to use the facilites of hotel Pliska including a lovely pool, bar and sunloungers for free as Chaika guests.
So, in summary, hotel Chaika is nothing to rave about, but for people like us that dont actually go on holiday to spend much time in a hotel room, want a cheap holiday to a nice destination, then there is nothing to worry about. Infact as an allocation on arrival hotel I really cannot understand how one can make so much fuss about a room that is costing them next to nothing. If you want all the extras and no worry about where allocation on arrival is going to put you, then book your hotel seperately above 3*s.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarahloulouey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwynedd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

having just returned from chaika hovel sorry hotel a few hours ago i feel i must update this site asap for anyone fool enough to go to golden sands on aoa as they will surely end up here we didnt pay a fortune but beware there were people there who paid almost twice as much as us because they booked on teletext and were charged all sorts of extras such as in flight meals which were free through directline travel on the internet no lift no pool grubby towels we had to go and buy beach towels to use for showers .as the only thing their towels were fit for was standing on .twin beds on opposite sides of the room toilet needed a gallon of bleach cant blame cleaners if they havent got tools for jobs needing doing constant pool on wetroom floorshower 60s style dripped allthe time indifferent rep who must have heard it all before and dreaded going there were offered a change at extra cost and declined as he couldnt tell us what it was like couldnt take us to see it so we decided it was probably the one they moved people to when they complained and may be marginally better so we cleaned bathroom (you cant buy disinfectant in golden sands) only bleach so take your own .hired a car and kept out of there as much as possible beware if you have to walk ther e the road up and down is a deathtrap at nigh t no lights loose sand and gravel potholes this is third time at golden sands we stayed at pliska 2 weeks last september .preslav 2 weeks this may and chaika 1week (thankgoodness) this june wouldnt go back to golden sands prostitution is rife men cant walk along roads alone without being pursued by them and they hold on to their arms and wont give up very sad as these are not women some are as young as 15 or 16

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank megawhitewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Golden Sands stopping at Hotel Chaika, arriving at half past 4 monday morning.First impressions were'nt bad, spacious lobby, bit dark and polite staff. When we found our room eventually that was a little bit of a letdown,with only a sheet with a hole and a yak herding blanket for bedding, a minibar full of ice and no tv remote. Fortunately we were exhausted so curled under our sheets and nodded off. In the morning using the en suite was a bit of an adventure,we were'nt sure if it would be better to leave our shoes on while having a shower or not! Nothing daunted we went to have a coffee in the bar where the staff were again polite and spoke english.To cut a long story short we found the hotel manageable but would recommend eating out as there are a lot of very good restaurants and bars on the front.The walk to the hotel and the paths around it do need better lighting, but at a push we'd use it again.The people who came with us were split into 2 camps, some were aghast at its basicness while others like us realised that for the money cheap and cheerfull is all you get. If you want a plush holiday with pool and champagne this place isnt for you, if however to you a hotel is only a staging post for sleeping and refreshing before going and enjoying the not inconsiderable charms of this area of Bulgaria, then i'd say go for it.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.9 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#1 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grifid Hotel Arabella
Grifid Hotel Arabella
#2 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Eden
Villa Eden
#9 of 41 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage
#4 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orchidea Boutique Spa
Orchidea Boutique Spa
#26 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bambook Bamboo Guesthouse
Bambook Bamboo Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Golden Sands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaika Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaika Hotel

Property: Chaika Hotel
Address: Golden Sands, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Chaika Hotel Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing