We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a lovely hotel and would stay again for sure!”
Review of Atlas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlas Hotel
Ranked #23 of 111 Hotels in Golden Sands
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We (my partner and a couple of other friends) stayed here, at the end of June to the beginning of July and I can gladly say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the beach and around a 3 minute walk to the start of the shops.
We found that the staff were very polite and friendly with a couple exceptions, which can be expected anywhere to be honest. (If you're rude to the staff then you can't really expect them to remain polite and friendly with you.) There we're a fair few rude people staying at the hotel at the time we we're that's for sure.
Our rooms were spacious and clean and the cleaners were excellent. We always had extra toilet roll, fresh towels and the beds were made or changed. The bathroom was lovely too. We were surprised on how large the shower was. The rooms are provided with a safe (which you have to pay a small fee for), a hair dryer, refridgerator and a t.v. There is also AC in the rooms.
The hotel food is okay. Some of the dishes were nice, others not so nice (depends on your taste of course) We chose to eat out occasionally, especially at breakfast.
The pools aren't very big and sometimes it was frustrating trying to find a sun lounger without a towel reserving it. ( It strictly says no reserving sun loungers with towels) I guess this rule doesn't count for some people? The pools aren't very warm, but once you're in the water its not a problem.
Overall an excellent stay and we'd deffinatley stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellzbellz1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 167 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

It's a nice hotel...not a really 4 star in my opinion.
restaurant: - not very varied but good food
- waiters could be more friendly
room: - very large and clean
swimming pool: - not very big but clean
staff: - ok
animation team: - super...regards to IVO, IVAN, FIFI, ANNA .....they are great

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cretiu_ionut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

A very good hotel, not far from the beach and with great indoor and outdoor pools, fitness room and. Good all-inclusive services, good food and drinks facilities and quiet surroundings.

I'll check in here again, for sure :)

Room Tip: Try getting a room with a sea view ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mircea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I have read many reviews about the Atlas, sadly, many are not good. Maybe if people treated the staff with a little respect they would find they got a smile! We have been to the Atlas twice and would recommend it highly. There is a good choice of food in the restaurant, the biggest problem is with a lot of "all inclusive" guests, which we weren't, they take so much food to their tables (most of which they leave). The pool is great, a lovely sun trap. The rooms are large and comforable. Most of all, I have to say that we only ever found 1 member of staff who was a little surly, the rest are brilliant and we have kept in touch (Deso (bar staff) Mitko (entertainments) & Yorgi (bar staff at the pool) for the last 3 years. So please, do not pre judge, be patient, smile at the staff and ask their name. You will find it makes a world of difference to your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NigeElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We had read the reviews of other guests and weren't sure what to expect. We had a very pleasant surprise when we arrived after a faultless flight with Balkan Holidays. The Atlas is a lovely hotel. We were really pleased with our room. It was much bigger than expected and spotlessly clean. Not much of a view from the balcony but then we dont go on holiday to just sit out there all day. If people only want the food they get at home STAY AT HOME! The staff we spoke to were all pleasant and helpful. Yes the pool was cold but it is september. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenorthcheapskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Hi everyone. After I've booked a room in this hotel (with a very decent price, about 130 euros for 2 persons, 4 nights and 2 daily meals (breakfast and supper) I read all these bad reviews on tripadvisor and got scared, taking an option to cancel the reservation in consideration. Glad I didn't.
Let me take it from the beggining, as this is my first review :)
Roadtrip thru Bulgaria was awful. The roads are worst than the ones in Romania, the vignette is more expensive and the highway is short (about 80 km, goes to Varna, close to the Golden Sands). EVERYWHERE there are absurd speed limits, I mean sometimes you're cruising on a straight decent road outside the urban area and you get 60 or 40 km/h speed limit. Cops aren't quite everywhere, but when you expect less you see them hunting for foreign drivers :) The silly limitations are ussualy when intersecting some country road but they are almost always absurd.
Then you get to Varna - a city with a million holes in the ground. Traffic is prety crowded, but streets and bulevards are terrible due to the holes...it depends on which routes you take, it's not very clear if yiou leave it to the traffic signs.
Golden Sands...well you wont find it written like that anywhere. It's "Zlatni *something* ", only in bulgarian. I had a lot of trouble finding the hotel in the resort but don't get fouled by taxi drivers ho ask for 5 euros to show you the way - ussualy it;s very close but you just don't see it :) For the ones ho don't go by car like I went, you're lucky. No stress with the nameless streets and alleys, with the people that get in your way, with the many one-way zones. Careful drivers! Golden Sands hotels have very little or no parking places. This one has a few, but don't go in the resort by car. You risk getting it picked up.
Atlas Hotel - very decent hotel. Big lobby with WiFi, tables, bar and a lot of couches for the guests. Reception personnel is usually friendly if you don't go yelling about something. Seen some grumpy workers, but it's not by far something u see everyday.
Room was ok also, big bed that can be separated (or united, depends how u find it at arrival), many mirros and a nice bathroom. My room was with smoking allowed, as I asked it like that. View is ok from the balcony.
Food is awesome. No matter that we ate at breakfast or supper, there are many varieties that you can choose from. Some are even cooked in front of you, like eggs, eggplants, steaks, etc. I really can say that I was very pleased. I only regreted that I didn't went for a reservation with all meals included, as the beach restaurants and very pricy, even the McDonalds on the beach seemed somethat overpriced. Even kebabs and corn are 30-40% pricier that the ones in the Romanian sea resorts.
The Golden Sands resort is awesome, just perfect no matter if you're a young couple, an old couple (a lot of German old couples indeed, but they are pretty friendly; just noisy and picky) or just a bunch of guys and girls ho want to drink and have fun.The promenade street along the sea is superbe, with many little shops, bars, clubs, supermarkets and those expensive restaurants I was talking about. It's clean and nice. There are a lot of benches with seaview everywhere and 90% of the hotels that go along with this promenade street seem new or recently repaired - unlike 50% of the Romanian sea resorts.
Beach...is the one thing I did not liked. It's expensive compared with the Romanian one (prices are almost triple). Atlas Hotel is 250-300 metters away from the beach so it doesn;t have it's own lot. So, you gotta pay or stay in the small free areas, which are not very close to the see.
Before you get into the water there are 2-3 meters of sea shells and small rocks, that was very uncomfortable. 2 out of the 4 days we stayed there were many jellyfish in the sea, right at the shore. That was unpleasent too.
Anyway, in the last day at the hotel we've also had ant problems like someone else mentioned. But I killed them and didn't found others...guess the hotel personnel should do something about that.

Final words: I would recomend to anyone. Great hotel, great food, nice pool (with freezing water...forgot about that), nice fitness room, friendly personnel and not far from the beach - a little walk does wonders for everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The food is the same each day and served cold.

People are rude including staff, never smile and full of Germans who push and shove past you.

Staff are not helpful at all, the toilets have cent all over them instead of grout where the have replaced them.

The "All Inclusive" is only for there cheap drinks "Happy Shopper" pop and local beer.

The pool is freezing, i asked so see if the indoor pool could be warmer, they said no as it costs too much money and they will close in October.......... ?

This is a 4 start hotel, it should be 2

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nbloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.2 mi away
HVD Viva Hotel
HVD Viva Hotel
#7 of 111 in Golden Sands
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Astera Hotel & Spa
Astera Hotel & Spa
#9 of 111 in Golden Sands
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#13 of 111 in Golden Sands
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Grand Beach Hotel
Marina Grand Beach Hotel
#12 of 111 in Golden Sands
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
INTERNATIONAL Hotel Casino & Tower Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Hotel

Address: Golden Sands Resort, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#18 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range: $90 - $891 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlas Hotel is situated in Golden sands resort, 350 meters southwest of its centеr and 300 meters away from the beach. Newly built in 2003, the Hotel has central air conditioning and all necessary for those who love comfort and luxury. There is an outdoor, indoor and children swimming pools with toboggans. Guests could find everything necessary for its holiday, sport and self care - SPA centеr with various healthy and relaxing treatments, Turkish bath, sauna, fitness, massage, hairdresser, billiards, table tennis, volleyball playground. The Hotel has 283 rooms - 12 suites, 17 studios, family and twn rooms with excellent view to park, pool or to the sea. Comfortable furniture - air-conditioner, cable TV and private safe, mini bar, telephone are just a part of the equipment of each room. For your convenience, you will find telephone and hairdryer in the bathroom. There are main restaurant, bistro, lobby bar, pool bar with various foods, drinks and cookies for the guests. Atlas also is offering the possibility to organize company meetings providing its conference room with a capacity of 120 seats and excellent service for the participants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Atlas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Hotel Varna
Atlas Hotel Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing