We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont do it”
Review of Hotel Zdravets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Zdravets
Ranked #89 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
west midlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“dont do it”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have never been abroad before so this was our first time so we didnt read any of the reviews i wish we had done now .When we arrived we got off our coach went into reception where there was a pool of water i tried to tell several members of staff but no one seemed to care there wasnt even a wet floor sign.We signed in and went to get into the lift which said it could hold up to 6 people you would have been lucky 4 at most we got to our rooms to find they were very basic we unpacked and i went to have a wash to find our towels had large holes in them.Later in the day we went and had a look round the hotel the staff didnt speak or smile just rude but i dont blame them i blame the management they had little or no training and didnt now half the time what they were doing,as the week went on it didnt get any better.There wasnt any entertainment over the weekend and when we did have some during the week it was poor but not the boys fault.We couldnt go in the pool until late sunday and then they didnt want us to use it.when we did use the pool there were only40 sun lounger and about 4 tables to sit at there were no parasols we were told to go into town and hire one if we needed one the hotel holds over 200 guests that it just can not cater for.The food was bad we went ALL INCLUSIVE but went out most night to eat, there wasnt enough dining tables and chair for all the guests so you felt as if you had to rush just wasnt good enough.The resort itself is breath taking with golden sands and blue seasim glad we went with friends or the holiday wouldnt have been very good and thanks to the friends we made.while we were there several people had accidents by walking into the glass door because there are no signs and you cant see them with the net curtains over them.

Room Tip: try and get a pool side view but if you go to bed early dont bother because of the noise off the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smudge079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    19
    8
    12
    17
See reviews for
15
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I've been to many all inclusive hotels and don't consider myself to be too fussy but Zdravets is by far the worst I've ever stayed in.

The food was really, really bad and if going here then be prepared to eat out a lot. I didn't realise that there was so many different ways to serve up eggs. Chicken for every single lunch and dinner and it wasn't cooked properly but the best has to be the cold plain spaghetti and pasta we were offered for breakfast.....yummy!!

With the exception of the two reception and one barman the staff at best were glum and at worst damn rude (to the point of man handling one lady who wanted another drink). We thought they maybe didn't have teeth as they never smiled or spoke. The Manageress strode around in a steely manner but never once spoke unless to order her staff around.

As the week went on and more guests arrived it became clear that they could not handle any volume of guests, one small coffee machine at meal times meant large queues, lack of seating in the dinning room meant people had to be seated in an adjacent room and only 40 sunbeds to serve over 100 rooms meant people couldn't lay round the pool.

The pool area was not washed down once in a whole week and dirty cups, glasses and ashtrays were left.

There are lots of beautiful hotels in Golden Sands, I suggest that to avoid disappointment you book one of them as the Zdravets has most definitely got to be the worst.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.....although you probably won't get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Golden Sands hotels

sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Not a good hotel if you want to enjoy your holiday relaxing round a pool and enjoying good food! The food was so bad that meal times became a chore. We went to this hotel (all inclusive) as it was the only one to advertise a vegetarian menu. Big mistake as they weren't able to say which meals had meat in and which didn't. You certainly couldn't tell by looking at the food.
As for the pool, it was not even open when we got there and was very murky the next day. It did improve as the week went on but as there were only 40 sun loungers for up to 240 people. The pool towels and parasols mentioned in the brochure were none existent!
The room was adequate for a 2/3 star hotel but not for the 4 star it claims to be. The room towels were so old that they were grey and threadbare. Toilet tools were often replaced with only half rolls which made us wonder who had used the other half!
Hospitality in this hotel was shameful. There was only ever 1 place to have a drink with the all inclusive deal as the pool bar (with seats for about 25 people) closed whenever the restaurant opened! The only comfortable place to relax and have a drink was not included in the all inclusive package so obviously 'all' inclusive doesn't really mean what it says. There is no where in the hotel to get a drink alcohol/tea/coffee/water between 10pm and 8am. The hotel offered to hire guests a kettle to use in their rooms but there was only one kettle between everyone!
On the plus side, we did have a very good balcony with a sea view.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank any name will do!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hy, my name is Claudia and I am from Bucharest, Romania....I was at Zdravets hotel from Golden Sands, Bulgary in September 2012 and it was awful, terrible, I don't have words to describe how horrible was this hotel. They say it is a 4* hotel, but me and my husband consider is 2*. The food was horrible, what they put you at lunch, it was at dinner, too. The pool was very ugly, the romms very small....in one word, this hotel was the main reason for having a bad vacation(we spend 4 nights at the hotel).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 80Claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jarrow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have recently spent 2weeks all inclusive with 15 friends at this hotel. From the moment we arrived we were met with a happy friendly smile (c/o Martin on reception) The hotel on a whole was clean and well maintained, the staff were friendly and helpful with any issues being address promptly. As such a large group we were well taken are off in the dinning room with the staff allocating a group of tables for our use only..( big thank you to Maggi and her team ). The grassed area of the hotel was an asset to our large group which allowed us to relax together. The bedrooms were cleaned daily with the special added effects from the great team....(what those ladies can be made out of a towel !!!) ...
My only gripe about this hotel would be the fact that the bar closed at 10pm and also the lack of evening entertainment.

Room Tip: request pool views as front facing was all trees in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

well done to all the friendly and helpfull staff at the hotel especially martin on reception always cheerfull with a lovelly smile,also the friendly staff in the restaurant who reserved a table for our big group of 17 so we could eat together and not forgetting the lovely ladies who did our rooms.all these are a credit to the hotel.very clean and food was lovely.only downside was bar closing at 10pm and no entertainment on an evening but apart from that great hol.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

brilliant very friendly staff our group of 17 friends were greeted with smiles and happy staff at the reception as soon as we entered the hotel Martin was very funny and extremely helpful .
The restaurant staff worked really hard and reserved us a table every meal time in the buffet diniing room,
Our rooms were cleaned to very high standard every day and were very comfortable.
The food was good. overall found the hotel and staff and security excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan2jaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mak
Hotel Mak
#86 of 110 in Golden Sands
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#66 of 110 in Golden Sands
46 reviews
8.1 mi away
Joya Park Complex
Joya Park Complex
#19 of 51 in Varna
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Yavor Hotel
Golden Yavor Hotel
#84 of 110 in Golden Sands
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#91 of 110 in Golden Sands
96 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ambassador
Ambassador
#81 of 110 in Golden Sands
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zdravets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zdravets

Property: Hotel Zdravets
Address: P.O. Box 90, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zdravets 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Zdravets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zdravets Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing