We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think about staying in this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
Ranked #24 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I don't know where to start! It is not a real hilton and i wouldn't give them one star not 4 stars! THEY didn't clean our rooms and it was garbage everywhere, they don't change our wet towels
The staff that works there is not polite,not trying to serve guests at the hotel,Food is terrible,no entertainment activities,nothing!!!!!!
Most terrible hotel that I stayed in Ever!!!!!!!
And in the end when we were leaving the hotel, the menager told us to pay for two small towels we were shocked and very disappointed.We paid to stay at the Hilton Hotel,but this hotel is far from real Hilton hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Evalina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 412 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

We returned from holiday this morning and we stayed at DoubleTree, Varna. Hotel was a very poor standard, we have stayed in golden sands for the past 4 years so knew that it was not a high standard resort but this hotel was worse than we expected.
Some of the staff were friendly and spoke to us but others did not understand us or try to speak. Food as expected as previous stays in golden sands, but again poorer for the hotel branding name. have to say that breakfast omeletes were brilliant++
Maid service if you can call it that, was carried out by 2 giggly teenagers! there timings varied between 10am-5.15pm which is unacceptable when you need to get changed/dressed/showered with clean towels and bedding.
Swimming pools were good, indoor lovely and warm most of the time.
Rooms big and spacious, plenty of cupboard space, bathroom/shower good size.
Would not go back in a hurry to this hotel, but do love the resort and local people.
146 steps to hotel on a 2-3 times daily was not the best expecially after a couple of local halfs!! many times thought would slip due to steep steps and being on top of the swimming pool almost! :-(

Room Tip: beach facing rooms had amazing view day/night
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We just got back from a weekend stay at the Doubletree by Hilton, Varna. After comparing prices we decided to go with this hotel just because of the Hilton Brand, thinking it would be a "safe" choice. well- we were wrong.

* Not enough towels, Ever! not in the room (one day they just didn't replace our wet towels!) and NEVER in the pool! at both times we came, once at the end of the day (which made a bit sence, but still) and one at 11 am- there were no towels for the pool! only after arguing a bit with the front desk girls the second time (after they suggested, again, to take our room towels which means we won't be able to shower afterwards- since they never bring you towels on time!) they asked a bell boy to go get a few towels. I'm sorry- couldn't you think of that before? this is a service you provide.
* Food- we took the all inclusive deal. The breakfast was not bad though the bread is always dry and unless you toast it its unedible. Unless you're a big drinker or there with kids, don't go for the all inclusive- the lunch and dinner are really bad, soaking in oil (and dill! whats with that?!) and you can get pretty good meals at restaurants at the golden sands walk for not bad prices. oh- and the chocolate chip cookies are a myth. never any there...
* Pool- the pool is at an ok size, however- not enough tanning beds/chairs ever. Also- the way the hotel is located means that after 14:30 the pool doesn't get any sun and its a bit cold to be outside in the water, or tan for that matter (the hotel sits on a hill and the sun hits its western side facing the road). there is an indoor pool, but swimming after 7 PM is forbidden. Plus- both pools are only 1.30m deep. feels like a kids pool.
* TV-yes, no one goes on vacation to sit in the room and watch tv, and we disregarded the previous complaints in that matter. However- it DOES matter that they only have one working channel in English- the MGM channel. one day that channel wasn't even working (!), kinda sucks when you feel like resting a bit in the room in front of the tv but there's nothing to watch...

A few pluses:
* Rooms- not a bad size. nice balcony with a view though you do have to pay extra for sea view. However- it should be mentioned there are NO BATHTUBS and only a little "shower room" which is weird.
* WIFI- free wifi at the lobby, which sometimes worked at the Helios pool as well.
* Distance to beach- about a 10/15 min walk downhill with a lot of stairs. its not a bad location though there are closer hotels which were cheaper.the way back at night (after 11 pm) is kinda dark so beware...
* All Inclusive- like at any hotel, drinks are free, and this means a lot of their beer. that did ease the pain a bit.

I will say that the workers were at most pleasant and its not their fault that people are disappointed with the hotel, and for a good reason.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

they dont have enough for all the residents.
they dont have enough towels
they have a tv but no channels
if u go at the begining of breakfast or dinner you will eat, if u go 20 min later all food will disapear and they dont refill at all , nor do they clean any mess, only one station for cooking eggs and pancake only one worker in the bar so u will have to wait alooooot.
food is uninspiring, food is bland, food is BAD.
its fair to say the rooms are rtather clean spacious big balcony (the carpet smelled funny)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ashrafak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I have been traveling to the Bulgarian Seaside for several times in the past 2 years. I can say that this hotel it is new in the Hilton Portfolio so we should be patient with the conversion. As the prices are very low you should be questioning yourself before post a bad review. I can say that the Helios Spa hotel was a 3 stars hotel and that you cannot convert 200 rooms to 5 stars in 1 year or so.
Nevertheless, I should express my opinions regarding the stays here. First of all we have been welcomed with the traditional hot chocolate Doubletree cookie. Very tasty after a long trip with the car. We had some issues with the parking as it was full season and they only have 20 available parking places for all the 175 rooms or so. After arguing with the people at the reception, mainly because the advertise on their site having parking available, free and no reservation needed, not mentioning that the ONLY have 20 lots...they managed to find a solution and send us to park few meters down the street at the Aqua park where it was payable around 5 EUR per day. Appreciated the solution, never mention it was the right one ;)
Second impression was that the hotel looks nice, the pool locked clean, the guest were a problem, terrible screaming all the time, complaining about everything and acting miserable with the staff. Even if the services were not perfect appreciations are to be made as the girls at the reception were bearing every single complain emphasizing and patient.
We were given an upgrade to a sea view room after all the parking trouble. The room was really nice, spacious, with a big balcony and an amazing view to the black sea and to the resort. Not a Hilton room. They were missing 70 percent of the brand standards in room setup.
This year I hope they will surprise me and the next review will be at least a good one.
The food in the restaurant was a lot. We only had the breakfast included but if all the meal were the same, I don't regret the choice I made. A lot of food with a variety for all tastes. So nothing to be underlined here. The internet connection was free in the lobby or at the PC room (4 computers) and payable in the room (unless you have a Gold or Diamond HH card - and becomes free). The computer room was all the time full with children as the parents were drinking in the bars (all inclusive basis) and sending their children to play around. We could not even check your email because they were sitting there for hours. Once we went out and after 3 hours of walking around when we came back same children were there playing stupid games on the internet.
The way to the sea is nice to walk and in 5-10 minutes you should be there if you dot get lost :)
You have three options:
-by the minitrain witch is a service free of charge from the hotel (leaving every hour) to the end of the resort (mainly is for getting to their so called private beach)
-by foot in two ways: one is a stairway next to the left pool that takes you down to the street and then you have to turn right and follow the way to the promenade area and to the beach. Second is getting out of the hotel and go back to the crossroad and follow the main streets (This is so called "stupid way")
Even if they have a private beach we never use it as is not free or anything special. We preferred to stay at the Admiral Club Hotel Beach or any other private beach...closer to the hotel.
There is also a nude beach at the end of the Golden Sand Resort direction Albena if you want to release your inhibitions. :)
Places to go out: Arrogance Club is very nice - 4 clubs in one (different rooms with different music) prices acceptable. PR looks nice also.
Restaurants: Parmys, Gerana and a very nice traditional one Old House.
Things to visit: Aqua Park across the street, The Palace and the Royal Gardens in Balkik (20 minutes driving - Albena direction)and if you have some spare time visit also Cape Kaliakra nice ruins and landscapes to shoot, Aladhza Monastery in the forest of the National Golden Sands Park and of course Varna with its attractions.
Minuses: Not a Hilton Hotel in standards yet, Low Prices/High Name are bringing a lot of unwanted guests,
Pluses: People at the Front Desk very calm and rational, willingness of helping and solving problem, and appreciation for members of their loyalty program. (upgrades and free wifi in the rooms)
Hope this was helpful, anything else you need to know, just ask. I will come back with another review next month when I will be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms and the corner suites are very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Florin1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Avoid this hotel.Services are very poor compare with last year.The so call "private beach" is at 4km and is so "private" that you need to pay for everything.Towels for going to the pool or beach you can get it if you are lucky, around 11 o'clock.For us this Hilton brand is taken in this location in the underground.Again AVOID if you want a pleasant stay in Golden Sands.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank 11dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We booked this hotel because it was a Doubletree by Hilton. We normally choose Hilton hotels when we travel. But this hotel was a dissapointment. Hotel standard was ok, not very luxurious but totally ok to be a hotel in Bulgaria. But many other things were quite bad...

Bad things: Breakfast, this was like being at a 2 star hotel. Reception staff did not speak good English, so sometimes it was difficult to speak with them.
Good things: Good location, nice views. Nice but small pool area. Free wifi in reception area.

So this Hilton was not as I expected. They should not call in Hilton...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swedishtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage
#4 of 110 in Golden Sands
1,239 reviews
0.1 mi away
HVD Viva Hotel
HVD Viva Hotel
#7 of 110 in Golden Sands
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#13 of 110 in Golden Sands
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#20 of 110 in Golden Sands
164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#2 of 110 in Golden Sands
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
INTERNATIONAL Hotel Casino & Tower Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands

Address: Golden Sands, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Golden Sands
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Golden Sands
#17 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
#19 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range: $40 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton™ is the hotel that turns travel into a human experience again. It all starts with a warm chocolate chip cookie, a small touch of our warmth and care for each guest; we provide genuine comfort with our Sweet Dreams® sleep experience and highly-experience staff who are dedicated to helping your stay be the very best. Come see us! We’ll always have a cookie with your name on it ready and waiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Varna - Golden Sands Hotel Golden Sands
DoubleTree By Hilton Varna - Golden Sands Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing