We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money, quiet and relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orchidea Boutique Spa
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Golden Sands
Bucharest
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value for money, quiet and relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

The hotel was almost what we expected: the rooms were very spacious, the bathroom was big and had a tub and a shower. They changed the towels every day, it was very clean. The hotel has a nice pool and a small one for the kinds, and, although the hotel was full with tourists, the pool area was not crowded. We had breakfast and dinner included; it was a free bar; the food was abundant, Bulgarian style. For us, that we looked for a place to relax, the location was OK - the hotel is at the end of Golden Sands as you go to Varna, on a hilltop, surrounded by lots of trees (more like a forest). But, for someone wanting to go to the beach or take a walk in the evening, it is quite far. They say in the hotel presentation it is only 400 meters from the beach, but that is true if you go through the forest. But if you follow the road, the closest beach is about 1km away, and the center is about 3km away. Means of transportation:
- the hotel provides a shuttle bus to the closest beach, from 10 am to 4 pm almost hourly
- you can use a cab: 10 leva to the center and 15 leva back (it costs more because the returning road is longer)
-you can use your own car but take care to park it in a designated parking. We've heard there are some free parking lots, but we didn't stay long so we parked at hotel Admiral with 3 leva/hour.
1 eur =1.85 leva
1 ron = 0.40 leva

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmagdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    38
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
34
40
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

This hotel was absolutely amazing and I would definitely say it warrants its 4 stars. Very spacious rooms, lots of storage (but not many hangers), 6 ft bed with a mattress you sank into, huge thick towels changed daily, sheets changed every couple of days, free shower gel, shampoo and bath crystals and a decent shower. No plug in the sink though (very common for Bulgaria) so shaving a bit of a problem.

Breakfast was good, everything you could possibly want from a hot meal to rolls, croissants, toast, cake, even Turkish delight. We did take our own English tea bags, and glad we did, but there was a machine that served coffee, chocolate, and juice and water.

We had dinner in the restaurant one night, as it was raining and the food was very good and quite reasonably priced.

The only downside for the Hotel is its location. The brochure we read said it was 1.5km from the centre of the resort. I would actually say it is double that and up a steep hill. There is a shortcut through some trees and up an unlit pathway with 53 steps but if you have walking or breathing difficulties, this is not the Hotel for you. There is a shuttle bus but it stopped at 4.00pm.

The Hotel could also benefit from a snack bar around the pool, as the only thing on offer was crisps. You could order food from the Restaurant and I think you could eat it by the pool area, but the one day we decided to do this, we had a torrential downpour so ate in the restaurant instead.

There is a Sky Bar on the roof of the Hotel which is open, weather permitting. It is not too unreasonably priced for a Hotel.

There are digital safes in the rooms, and the cost was 24 leva per week.

There is an indoor pool, which is about 12 metres in length but it was empty all the time we were there. There is a Gym and lots of choice for spa/massage treatments, again fairly reasonably priced.

There is a currency exchange booth in the Hotel but you will get a better rate in the resort.

Golden Sands itself came alive at night. There are lots of stalls selling hoodies, t-shirts, shoes and Bulgarian Rose toiletries. Watch out for the Muppet Bar people, we walked around the back of the main street and ended up with about 7 leaflets thrust upon us, even when we said we already had one.

Best place to eat – Angels Steak Bar (between the Hotel Pliska and the Hotel Shipka), steak was absolutely gorgeous and on the last night, after talking to the owner, he told me he imported his beef from Scotland and it was all Aberdeen Angus meat. Well worth it. On the beachfront at the end of the resort, is a little green and white striped gazebo in which you will find Peter & Jerry, Hurry Ramsdens. Well worth going in there for the fish and chips cooked by Jerry’s Mum, best we have ever had and two pieces of fish. They also do jacket potatoes, have English tea and English sausages with HP sauce.

I used my Nationwide Flex card in the ATM’s to withdraw my currency and got a rate of 2.35 leva to the pound.

All in all, we had a great holiday despite lots of rain, but it never lasted long and was in the mid 30’s for the majority of our time there.

Yes, I would definitely recommend the Hotel to anyone, but its location is not ideal.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

The hotel is beautiful, no doubt about that, the main problem that the location, which is NOT mentioned in the Balkan Holiday brochure, is, due to the high hillside location is totally unsuitable for those with walking difficulties. There is a mini bus run which the hotel supplies running 4 times daily, the last one being 4pm. Taxi fare for a round trip to Golden Sands is the equivilent of £10.00., which is about a 15-20 minute walk downhill, and considerable longer for the return journey and Bulgaria is not as cheap as made out to be.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodmcneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

It happened to me to be checked out just in the first hour. I was astonished to find out that out rooms were not reserved, even though I have received the confirmation with few days before.
It was incredible that they did not send an e-mail or just to make a phone call to anounce this inconvenient with one day before to arrive there. The manager did not help us at all so that we had to look for other hotels by our own.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan_papala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

Great hotel!I really loved it!Big room,cosy atmosphere,very good service,clean and cheap compared to what it is offering!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thalias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near here
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

I would love to be back again.

It is a nice place to be, especially if your purpose of stay is just for relaxing and spa.

The location is far from everything except beach, and taxis here usually rip foreigners off by far more than normal rate, so if you will just chill at the spot or walk to the beach the whole stay, it should be nice for you.

Breakfast is a eat all you can style, but you dont need to go serve yourself. what they do is, they give you a menu and you can order as much as you like from it. drinks are self service.

I really enjoyed the jacuzzi bath, and their amenities are good.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w0rld_w0nderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.0 mi away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#11 of 111 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vezhen Hotel
Vezhen Hotel
#73 of 111 in Golden Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melia Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage
#4 of 111 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
HVD Viva Hotel
HVD Viva Hotel
#7 of 111 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
INTERNATIONAL Hotel Casino & Tower Suites
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchidea Boutique Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchidea Boutique Spa

Property: Orchidea Boutique Spa
Address: Golden Sands, Varna 9007, Bulgaria, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#17 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchidea Boutique Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orchidea Boutique Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchidea Boutique Hotel Golden Sands
Orchidea Boutique Spa Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing