We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It s Bulgaria not England”
Review of Laguna Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Laguna Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed at the Laguna park for 2 weeks myself, wife and 5 year old son and had a great time. This was our 2nd time in Bulgaria in sunny beach so we knew what to expect, i,ll start with food, it was ok my wife and son are very fussy but we always managed to make a meal although the kids menu was quite poor only every other day did they have fish fingers or chicken nuggerts on so my son lived off, chips and bread and butter alot of the time, (we actually took some mini boxes of cerial with us as we new what he would be like), the staff in the hotel are pretty good by Bulgarian standards, and somtimes hard to get a smile out of, but they respond well to bribes especially the bar staff, stick 10 levs in the tips jug on the bar infront of them and you get better service for your holiday, my vodka measures went up and i was upgraded to the larger plastic cups whee hee. The maid was also spot on after reading other reports we had no complaints but once again a 10lev note goes along way (we were told a typical hotel worker gets around 700 leva a month so that explains it). she even made patterns on bed with bedding and towels were changed every day.
The animations team Ivan and co were great we did not join in much just people watched and enjoyed the whole holiday the games for the kids were simple but fun and the team kept going.
The old life guard was very strict about balls in the baby pool and even took a beach ball off my 5 year old but as the week went on he was actually funny to watch as alot of the older kids played him until in the end even he gave up.
Sunbeds were not a problem if you have a 5year old and can get down before 9 in the morning if not forget it until late afternoon, my only concern is that the hotel has been extended but the pool and surroundings have not so might have more problems next year we shall see.
The hotel is in a great location within easy walking distance of beach and shops and bars, and close to flower street as well, we ate out a few times (as with all A/I the food is very much the same and you fancy a change) our best one was the corner house pub it had alot of british staff and the carvery was fantasic eat all you can for 16leva, so i would recommend it.
We went with Balkan holidays and saved over £400 on the thomas cook price , but the only draw back to this is the plane and flight crew, the in flight meals are once again ok but we would not have them again and the plane has no tv or radio, and the attendants seem to look like they have found a pound and lost a tenner, you feel like you in the way and they would prefer to fly m/t, having said that its 3 hours out of your life for a good saving.
To sum up Bulgaria is an aquired taste at the moment we love, its not quite up to the standards of spain yet but its getting there, but as long as you can put up with the food and the fact that alot of the people d,ont seem overly pleased to see you then its a good place to go, cheap as chips or asda price as some of the locals shout at you to get you in the bars.
Just remmember to take your sense of humour with you !

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iaineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,351 - 1,357 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2009

my husband and myself stayed at the laguna park sunny beach in july on checking in a porter took our cases to our room very nice hotel spotless cant complane staff not nice shug u off with there hand when you ask them somrthingas if they dont no what your talking about but they. do .food was rubbish they dont cater for english if you want to eat veal and pork well i thingk that is what it was meant to be you will be fine we did not have children with us thank goodness as the entertainment we seen was terrible children kicking of a shoe to land on a chair to receive a clap come on sureley they can do better than that or can they pool was great but have to put towels down for eight to get sunbed rooms are spotless maid every day may need to ask for clean towels as if they are not on floor they must still be clean night entertainment is at a outside building so if you want a drink you will have to go into hotel on day of leaving put out our rooms at 12 and were not getting picked up till 12 30 am next morning spoke to manager about this and she was not helpful her attitude was pay nearly 100 to stay in your room till 6 pm oh she says we could still use our band for food and drink what a laugh a hundred pound for a shower and clean underwear dont think so i used the shower room at the pool to get showerd and changed and saved a hundred pounds also dont fall asleep when you are waiting 12 hours to be picked up as they will fine you 50 levie for the privilage only good thing that happend was meeting other couples ann and jamie and kids from allowa were great but had same problems as us well im new to computing and never thought for a moment i would be writing this so on your head be it if you go here

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzylizzieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Having just come back from the Laguna Park, I just want to advise people, not to stay in a hotel if they got to Bulgaria. The Hotels are from talking to other people all the same and that is not good. The Laguna Park on first sight looks good, however the service is poor, not enough glasses, had to leave towels on bathroom floor so they would change them, the only good thing I can say is there are enough beds at the pool.... everything else is really poor. However because to food was so poor in the hotel, we ate out. The food at any of the restaurants was really good, highly recommend the oasis.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelaFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

have just returned from sunny beach staying at laguna park for two weeks
hotel: we found this hotel to be very good overall although there were some things that were negative. The first thing was the bar staff in all bars although we were very polite and friendly they just did not smile or acknowledge you which was a bit disappointing.The outdoor seating for having a drink at night was extremely poor and it was a struggle to get a seat outdoor at pool bar. The inside of hotel bar was so noisy from music being blared out and there is smoking in all the hotel area (even though smoker we are just used to no smoking inside we found it unbearable).
The hotel is spotless clean and our rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels, we had a lovely room 309 which overlooked pool. the hotel safe was about 84 lev for 2 weeks(about £40) for two weeks. Felt extremely safe in hotel at all times only one entrance in and out hotel would really recommend for children.The animation team were fab always friendly asking if you wanted to participate but no hassle if you didnt (hello Ivan and Jaylo). We didnt stay in hotel for entertainment at night as this was set up in a kind of auditorium way with wooden seating and no bar but i think entertainment was ok from what we heard.Hotel food was usual for Bulgaria , we always found something to eat but did eat out few times as well. The indian restuarant Bombay Grill was superb portions were large also the Eagle restuarant for a steak would really recommend.
We travelled with balkan airways and had good flight times however most travelled with thomas cook and were out of hotel room by 12pm and not picked up till12am, the hotel wants 190 Lev to keep room on till 6.00pm which is nearly £100 crazy , heard few people say that they got a room for £20 in a wee hotel up the road to keep there stuff and have shower.
Sunny Beach has become really popular with young teenagers and really noticed a difference this year, however never once seen any trouble at all. The prices are still cheaper than canaries can get a pint of beer 1lev (50p) in most places. Most pubs do happy hours but some bars nearer the centre are expensive so just watch where you go. The corner pub was good for karaoke. Clothes and handbags were still cheap.
Overall had fab holiday and going back next year .

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotslassml9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We (me, my husband, two 16years and a 3year old) have just returned from Laguna Park Hotel and we have had a lovely holiday. After reading reviews before we left I was a little concerned about the reports on infected 'mosquito' bites, gypsys in the streets with bears doing tricks and being robbed or pickpocketed... so stocked up on insect repellant and warned my 16 year old daughter and her friend to be extra careful with their money etc. As it happened all my worries were not needed and some past reviews I didn't feel were justified as we didn't have any problems at all.

Dispite flight delays, on arriving at the hotel 6.45am the check in at reception went very well. As we had a youngster with us we were not put in the main part of the hotel but in the new block just opposite. The rooms were large and clean and the pool that is part of the block was smaller and not as busy as the main pool. The air-con unit didn't work very well in our room and we didn't get a remote to turn it on for a couple of days but not really much of an issue. Also no hangers in the wardrobe to hang clothes. We asked reception twice and they promised the maid would bring some but they never arrived so gave up asking and made do.

The entertainment team were excellent by encouraging us females to join in the aqua aerobics ! and my son went into the kids club for 2 hours to paint a T-shirt (25 lev, a bit pricey), which was great as he is only 3 years old and the club is for 4 years+. Late in the evenings the entertainment team also went to local night clubs which pleased my two 16 year olds as they were took there and escourted home, which put our minds at rest as they were well supervised.

The food was not bad, plenty of choice. It tasted better than it looked and normally you would have to pop it in the microwave to heat it up a bit more.

We did a fantastic 'jeep safari' trip for 230 lev for the 5 of us. Practically all day 9am-3pm. We booked this with the jeep man who sells his excursions round the corner to the hotel. If we had gone on the hotels same excursion it would have cost 600 lev. Great day out and well worth the money, even got a dvd for 45 lev to remember the fun day... Also the horse and carts, golf buggies, scooters and aqua park were fun. Went to Nessebar on the bus for 1lev but found it a bit boring.

Would deffinately return to Bulgaria and to this hotel in the future and would recommend for families who want plenty to keep them occupied throughout the day and evening. Only thing that I was a bit surprized at was the amount of young people (groups of 18-30's) stag, hen and same sex groups that went to this resort. It is quite a lively place but luckily the hotel is 5-10 minutes away from the main pubs, clubs and noise. It didn't bother us but many of the older generation were a bit upset by the party's, drinking and noise !!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pippap777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Great Hotel, for the price you pay. Rooms are all very clean, the staff are polite but could smile a bit more and the All-Inclusive option is generous enough considering the package price of the holiday.
The hotel has the ideal position in the resort; only a couple of minutes to the beach and to the shops, restaurants and nightlife but just tucked away enough to not be too noisy or busy.
For nightlife I would recommend going to "Flower Street", there are most of the discos and bars (Slam Cafe is very cool and Den Gladne Viking is great fun in a cheesy Scandinavian way).
For trips I would recommend the TopPrice travel shop, opposite Hotel Kalina Garden, we booked the Khan's tent and Yacht Cruise for 59lv each (much less than in the hotel), the staff are English as well which makes things easier!
Take the public bus to Nessebar for half a day, it only costs 1lv each way and is interesting, but too crowded to stay all day.
Overall I would recommend Sunny Beach and Hotel Laguna to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johny39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Hotel staff are corteous and polite, animation team are fantastic, ask you to get involved in all activities(aqua aerobics,darts,waterpolo, archery,mr hotel,kids activities, kids disco,comedy night,quiz), but are also ok if you don't want to participate, restaurant assistant manager is a miserable old sod(only bad thing), usual holiday food, bread has to go through toasters about 3 times to toast!! white and brown bread available. you have to have your towels on sunbeds by about 8am if you want to get one for the day. slide is good and my 5 year old loved the play park. mini bar was empty but that suited us to put coke and water in that we bought from the supermarket 1min to the left of the hotel. cleaners are always mopping the marble floors so watch your step!! we went in 3 rooms and they put us on the same floor but next but one to each other which suited us!! all inclusive until 11pm and then a vodka and coke is about 8 lev but if you go to one of the pubs straight outside to the left they charge 5 lev and its bogof!! we loved this hotel and will definately go back again x

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vixster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#13 of 222 in Sunny Beach
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trakia Hotel
Trakia Hotel
#133 of 222 in Sunny Beach
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Green Fort
Green Fort
#65 of 222 in Sunny Beach
33 reviews
1.6 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#11 of 222 in Sunny Beach
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Royal Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach
#17 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Park Hotel

Address: Sunny beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: $108 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear valued guests We are happy to announce that after the new hotel Aqua park, functioning from season 2016, now, for season 2017 we'll surprise our guests with finishing the renovations of all the rooms in C block and some partial renovations in the lobby areas. This is a process of renovation, which we have started 4 years before, and each year we have been renovating different parts of our big hotel. We are doing our best to welcome our future guest in a new environment, which we all hope will be highly appreciated by you. For Summer season 2017 we are working on new surprise to our valuable guests - enlargement, renovation and redecoration of our restaurant area. You'll find it more spacious, more convenient, and offering more delicious and tasteful food and drinks to you. We are sure that we'll continue to surprise you with lots of positive changes in order to provide you with an exceptional holiday experience in our hotel! Our team is already looking forward welcoming you in Laguna Park here in beautiful Sunny Beach. Warm regards Your Laguna Park Team Laguna Park hotel is centrally located in Sunny beach resort, close to the beach and within easy reach of all the resort amenities. This well-maintained and spacious hotel offers modern and comfortable rooms, a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and a selection of on-site amenities and facilities. The hotel offers a friendly, relaxing atmosphere and a newly built Aqua park with entertainments for adults and children. By the pools we offer refreshing drinks at the two pool bars. Our guests have at their disposal a main restaurant, a new snack barand thematic restaurant, and a lobby bar. The Laguna Park is a popular choice for families and couples looking for good quality accommodation right in the heart of this lively resort. A rich animation program is performed by a very enthusiastic team of animators. There are a great variety of shopping and entertainment facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Laguna Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguna Park
Laguna Park Sunny Beach
Laguna Park Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing