We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“summer 2012” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Globus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Globus Hotel
Ranked #102 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“summer 2012”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was my 3rd time at this hotel, and although the standard of the food was typical of most of the Sunny Beach hotels you really need to up the standard a good bit, the hotel is in need of refurbishment now as it is getting very tired looking, the downstairs pool is disgusting and dirty, thank god for the indoor pool and sun terrace, but all the bars, and the staff that work in them are fantastic, well done Mike, you have a good team, the standard of cleaning by the maids leaves something to be desired too, and not up to the usual standard of the Globus, I don't think this is a 4* hotel anymore, but a 3* with 4* prices, until this hotel goes through a major refurbishment I wouldn't reccomend staying here

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    179
    149
    83
    69
See reviews for
203
203
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, South Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just returned from sunny beach staying at the Globus, great hotel great location really clean, the maids where great had a problem with a leaking toilet, told the maid and it was fixed in no time, no problem with getting a sunbed although quite a few where broken. The restaurant that is not part of the hotel is really great food at reasonable prices, if you are a resident you get 10% off he bill. Sunny beach has expanded in the last few years there are lots of beautiful hotels, but come night fall all he young people come out to party, if you have a family, avoid the main square at night, it's full of them getting really drunk being sick in the street, then there are the sex shows and shops, not very family friendly, but the side street are great with nice bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daviesbuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methil
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Well Balkan Holidays & The Globus Hotel "Sorry" but you are not getting a good review this year.
Due to the fact that we booked bed and breakfast this year again. And after returning to this hotel for the seventh time were very dissapointed with the food. This hotel seems to be going backwards in the food department, The breakfast was disgusting, Surely it can not be hard to cook a reasonal breakfast.
Also the cleanliness of the pool & Standard of the pool area has slipped
The sun loungers seriously need to be renewed
I Checked & counted them one morning 184 in total and i would say 100 of them were damaged in one way or another, Now for a hotel this size that is not a lot of sun loungers. Apart from the above the hotel cleanliness is still to a reasonably high standard.
If The Hotel Dining room is a franchise CHANGE THE CATERERS.

Room Tip: When booking through Balkan They have a special requests part on the form. If you are a light sleepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzzieFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Not in a million years is the Globus Hotel 4star, although basically clean, we found the bed linen and towels were worn and often had marks on them, the shower tray did not drain properly and had mold around it and on the tiles. We only booked BandB thank god as the only times we had breakfast there was the first couple of days when we knew no better, the food was terrible, cold fried eggs stuck to the Bain Marie, bacon that was just fat sausages that had never seen a pig, beans that were every kind but baked beans with a thin watery supposedly tomato sauce, as for the cereal, yohurt and fruit it was left uncovered and a breeding ground for the flies. Luckily we found a nice restaurant The Marina just opposite which served a delicious full English at a very reasonable price, evening meals and lunches were also excellent and reasonable as well. The pool is rather small and the supposed lifeguard uses a one rule for foreigners and another for Bulgarians as regards pool safety, ie I wasn't allowed to have a glass of beer at my lounger but other people could drink beer, cocktails and have bottles of wine around the pool area, and were also allowed to stand in the pool smoking and depositing their cigarette ash into the pool.
As for the resort we asked several people who had been there what it was like and they all said they had a great holiday unfortunately they forgot to mention that it was several years ago that they had gone there, they all said it was a loverly resort with plenty of open spaces and nice bars and restaurants. Not anymore its full of sex shops, exotic shows, poledancers and foam parties and casinos, and shops selling cheap copy clothing, and the only thing the holiday reps are interested in is selling pub crawling nights out to the hundreds of kids who invaded the resort for its cheap booze, and got drunk everynight.

Room Tip: one not overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monkeyhanger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

mexborough
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

my wife, myself & grandson booked a week half board with balkan holidays. the reception & ground activities & pools including the indoor one were spotless & well maintained, deserving their 4 star. our room however, you could tell would have been 4 star when built with good quality fittings, even a mosquito screen on the balcony door (BALCONY £47 EXTRA COST) but over the years has suffered. i reported the fridge/cupboard door broke & it remained that way until we departed. we had clean towels every day & needed them as the bathroom corner shower unit leaked & needed a bath towel to absorb all the water. 2 star. the bellvue restaurant staff had no uniform & unable to tell who were staff. only had 2 meals there as the food was terrible, the second morning i saw an employee's child playing with the sliced bread which was then placed back on the stack. the crockery was chipped, cracked & dirty 1 star.the food in the pool bar was very good & value for money served by happy & courteous staff. the resort itself is very lively & commercialized ( becoming a smaller version of benidorm, but cheaper can still get a pint for less than 50p).summing up, a shame as in it's heyday this hotel would have been great hotel & the problems with our room would have probably been caused by previous visitors including the feetmarks on the wall.if you use this hotel i would use room only if possible.

Room Tip: can't choose get what you'r given
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lordbamf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just returned home from hotel globus, what can i say? Hotel is decent but not a 4 star, we went half board and had to eat out every night as the food was rubbish, if u like eggs for breakfast then u will b ok, they have fruit lying out uncovered and and flies landing on it, rooms are pretty basic but cleaned every day, the reception staff i found where arrogant maids still entered room even though do not disturb sign on door. The pool area is clean but if u want a bed get down about 5am as they go fast! Lot of loose tiles IN the pool so be careful. The hotel is in a great location with lots of bars round about, but u do get PR staff pestering u to go into bars, i could go on all day but wont, i enjoyed my time in sunny beach and would go back but not to globus hotel.

Room Tip: Defo try get a sea/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Hotel was clean and the rooms weren't to bad, I'd probably put it as a 3 star max, certainly isn't 4 star tho.
Would like to have gone room only, but this isn't a choice, so we went B&B, went to breakfast once, walked in and walked back out as the food on offer was diabolical, but Bulgarian hotels are renowned for bad food, but to be honest the food and drink is cheap enough so no need to go anything other than self catering.

One of my biggest gripes about the Globus was the aircon, it's diabolical and blows out very little air never mind cold air, we all had hardly any sleep due to the heat every night.

There were a few other minor issues, but I'm not going to nitpick over them, all in all a pretty decent hotel for the price you pay, just don't eat there :)

Room Tip: Get a sea view with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mackem1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Fenix Hotel
Fenix Hotel
#120 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dune Hotel
Dune Hotel
#20 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaya Hotel
Kaya Hotel
#125 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alba Hotel
Alba Hotel
#66 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.3 mi away
LTI Neptun Beach Hotel
LTI Neptun Beach Hotel
#25 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globus Hotel

Property: Globus Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Globus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excellent and First Class hotel Globus is an established landmark in the popular resort of Sunny Beach. Location wise it does not get any better than this, steps away from the golden sand of Sunny Beach, hotel Globus is also right in the very centre, splitting the resort in two equal parts to the north and to the south. Everything is on its door step, pleasant seaside promenade, the 8 km long stretch of sandy beach, restaurants, bars, cafes and shops galore. Hotel Globus offers the perfect combination of elegance and comfort combined with a wealth of facilities including an outdoor swimming pool with children's section, and an impressive indoor swimming pool with attractive summer terrace. The A la carte restaurant with outdoor seating area around the pool is perfect for an evening meal and the Bowling alley for a few strikes of fun. This creatively designed hotel, enhances its friendly atmosphere with a well kept garden that surrounds the hotel. All of the rooms are impeccably furnished with some offering unrivalled sea views from the upper floors making this hotel the perfect choice for a great summer holiday. Hotel Globus has been fully refurbished for summer 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Globus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globus Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing