We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I am so glad we chose to stay at the Fenix, and will be returning next year.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fenix Hotel
Ranked #118 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Teesside
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I am so glad we chose to stay at the Fenix, and will be returning next year.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

The Hotel
========

We arrived at the hotel at around 2:30am, and were greeted with a nice welcome and immediately escorted to our room without any fuss, all our bags were carried to our room by the porter, who was extremely helpful and very grateful of the 10lev (£5) tip I gave him.

The room was much better than we could have imagined, as it had a cooking hob, fridge (mini bar), wardrobes, sofa bed, chairs, air conditioning, hair dryer, bath, shower, massive bed, and possibly one of the best balcony views on the resort, the room was kept very clean and fresh towels were provided every day for us by the maid who laid them on the bed in a very artistic way, and different every day, it just shows the attention to detail that the hotel carries out, and I'm sure the maid was also grateful for the 2lev we left in the ashtray for her every day.

The people in the hotel work their days away trying to make your stay good, working 7 days a week and over 14 hours a day with no sign of strain, I don't know how they do it.

The pool area was great, with plenty of sun loungers around the pool and the pool was kept very clean, with the ability to have a massage from a very nice Bulgarian guy who we got talking to on our last day, and sat around the pool was teaching me some Bulgarian sayings....lol

We were B&B and I must say the food was great, with a choice for breakfast of cereals, cold meat, fruit, croissants, cheese, bread, sausage, egg bread, eggs (boiled, scrambled, or fried) and there's fruit juice, tea, and water, the food staff work very hard to keep a constant supply of buffet food going and keep your table clear as needed.

The bar is well stocked and very reasonably price offering a bottle of white Chardonnay wine for 15lev (£7) and a pint of lager for 2lev (£1) and it's nice beer, and the bar staff are great the blonde girl (i think her name is Marina) has a great sense of humor, just look at the tips glass to find out.

Just one last thing regarding the hotel staff, You may meet a certain guy called Shabi who helped make our stay a pleasure, I have never know a person who can work the hours he does and still have the energy to keep everyone entertained, Thank you Shabi, I hope you have a good winter and we'll see you next year.

The Resort
=========

The resort is only really active in summer time May-Sept and through the winter most workers go home or to different jobs, so they work extremely hard throughout the summer to build up money for the off peak times,

Sunny beach is very much in development and in years to come could be way bigger than Ibiza, at the moment we were paying 1lev (50p) in most bars for the local lager, just look for the "Big Beer" signs, but Bulgaria may be joining the Euro currency in 2011 so prices may change,
The beach is fantastic, with loads of bars along the stretch, and the sands are very clean and the sea is warm and worth a dip.

A trip to Nessebar is a must as it's one of the most beautiful places I have visited with lots of culture and history, it only costs 1lev (50p) to catch the bus or 15lev (£7) to get a boat ride and about the same for a taxi (agree the price first).

There's lots of shops selling until 11pm and 24hr mini markets scattered all over, DON'T accept any fruit of people in the street as it is way over priced, look for a fruit shop, and DO NOT under any circumstances change currency in the streets a the notes will be forged (you have been wared!) there is a perfectly good Crown exchange in most hotels as in the Fenix.

I could go on all day about Sunny Beach and the Fenix, but it's such a charming place and the people are great, if your looking to book for this or next year then do it with the confidence that the Fenix and Sunny Beach are all you need.

I hope this review helps you decide
Regards Paul...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul_Patric-White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    202
    133
    64
    47
See reviews for
215
179
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

Returned on 3rd september after 1 week of total relaxation. Only booked 5 days before travelling costing us approx 330.00 each for 1 week half board. Travelled with husband, 17 and 14 year old.
First impressions were clean and spacious. Rooms were adjoining the childrens, beds comfy, double glazing excellent as could not hear outside noise once the doors were shut. (If you are a tea/coffee addict, like me, then take your own travel kettle as there isn't one in the room.)Food boring and bland but passable. Staff helpful and attentive. No night time entertainment, so ended up walking the promenade every night. Pomorie was available for entertainment but one look was enough to put me off for life.
Sea very wavy and good fun. Pool clean and freezing! but still nice.
Nessebar good for day out. Water park small and poor in my opinion. Mainly aimed at toddlers. You can go after 3pm and pay half price, whih would be my advice.
For one week, chilling out and relaxing this hotel was perfect.
Many people staying at the Pomorie hotel were transferring to the Fenix, due to fleas in their bed at the Pomerie!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank mackEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

First impressions of the room was wow - we had a big apartment overlooking the pool and sea and was very impressed. Two very comfortable adjoining rooms with shower, bath, loads of towels, comfy beds, fridge, and enough room for the kids to play!. open the balcony doors and you get a good idea of what sunny beach is all about. Lots of kareoke bars and euro pop music playing pretty loud everywhere. Isnt too much of a problem though as the double glazing is good.

We went half board and the food is rubbish. do not bother with anything other than b+b. Examples; the guy next to us on day 2 or 3, complained about his food being cold. The staff went and fetched him a microwave and told him to use that. the toaster takes about 10minutes to get a decent round of toast. the staff found everything chore - ordering a frappe got a rolling of the eyes. the restaurent has two high chairs. for the first few days the restaurant only had one but we pestered enough and they fetched us another. several families still had their infants sitting on their laps for meals. Breakfast was the same very day. Eggs, dodgy sausages and house music. The restaurant staff do not wear uniforms or greet you when you arrive - not very 4 star.

The pool is lovely but make sure you get hold of your sun bed matresses early as they run out. The beach is 2 minutes walk away and is busy but the sea is great. Some of the local restaurants are brilliant - use them instead of the hotel. Beer is 1 lev - 2 lev, (50p - £1). I reckon the 1lv beer was watered down. Pay 1.80lev for nice draught unwatered down Kamenizta instead.

If you venture to Bourgas, (for better currency exchange rate, cheaper souveniers, etc), check out sea gardens. Great beach used by locals. Lovely restaurents, great play area for kids and a great place to go for a walk away from the sunny beach masses.

Nessebar is well worth the 1 lev bus ride. My kids, (1 and 4 years old), travelled free. Cobbled streets make a pushchair a handful, but you get used to it. the roads and pavements in sunny beach are joke and make a pushchair a nightmare wherever you go.

Nessebar waterpark was excellent. 30 lev for an adult, under 90cm free, under 130cm 16lev. All 4 of us loved it and spent the whole day there. Food and drink very reasonably priced. Lockers and safes available for a 3 lev fee.

I recommend sunny beach even if its just for the experience. It is inexpensive there so do not expect too much. It is a bit of fun, and the last two weeks have been very very hot, (unlike blighty probably).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthantsPav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

This hotel was fantastic. The rooms were spacious and the staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms had mini-bars, air conditioning and a balcony. Rooms were cleaned every day. The pool was large and sun beds were available free of charge.

The hotel is in a great location - the beach is across the road and the hotel is surrounded by bars and restaurants. The resort centre is only a few minutes walk away.

I moved to this hotel a few days into my holiday as I was originally staying in Hotel Pomerie which was shocking. Although these two hotels are next door to each other, they couldn't be more different. I would definitely recommended Hotel Fenix and would return there myself.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawntheBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

we changed to this hotel as we were recommended by travel agents to go to the pomorie but after reading the terrible reviews we decided to upgrade to the fenix and we're so glad we did! Our room was overlooking the pool and had a great sea view. our beds were made every day and clean towels and bedding every other. we had twin beds pushed together and out son was on a bed settee but there was still plenty of room for all of us. the food at the hotel was good, normal sort of cooked breakfast items and continental too. we went bed and breakfast as meals for three of us were roughly £15. beer was 44p (a bargain)! coke was about £2. sunny beach is a purpose built resort with just all hotels,pubs,clubs and a few sex shops and strip clubs. most pubs you walked past in the evenings would have girls dancing on tables, but nothing sleazy. However all of us found the people to be quite rude, dont think we ever found out the bulgarian word for "thank you" as none of them ever said it. some things were cheap but at some places they would really try to rip you off. fake designer handbags are not a steal at this place, you're looking to pay around £40!!!!. we went on a day trip to the bizarre and seriously, don't waste your money! it was a row of what looked like a car boot sale, total tack!!! then from there on to a shopping centre, absolutely awful!!!!! another trip was khans tent, not cheap but you had a four course meal then listened to a band and saw various entertainers. we also had to share a table with four complete strangers which we weren't impressed about. all in a all a good holiday, nice hotel but wouldn't go back there!!! Rude ignorant people who try and rip you off!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evans09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURHAM
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

WANTED TO SHARE MY EXPERIENCE OF SUNNY BEACH..

Having only just returned 24 hours ago i wanted to share what an excellant holiday we had. i am a travel agent myself and have heard so many mixed reviews, i used this forum and we all went with an open mind and im glad we did because its nothing like i expected it to be and i will certainly be reccommending Bulgaria to my customers.
the flight from newcastle was ok although they were over charging for drinks and sandwiches on board but other than that pleasant flight.
We were allocated in the Fenix hotel in Sunny Beach on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel was immaculately clean, staff spoke very good english and were friendly. The rooms we were allocated overlooked the pool with large balconies, had huge bathrooms with big walk in showers, and the beds were very comfy. We had a well stocked mini fridge and the prices were cheap too. The breakfast is alittle to be desired and its quite basic, more continental really but some mornings we went out for a full english breakfast including tea/coffee averaged from 7-8 lev pperson. The hotel location is just over from the beach, and you have bars shops and restaurants all within the vicinity too.
the beach was lovely, very clean and the sea is like a warm bath and very shallow so you can walk out quite a way. sunbeds and umbrellas were charged at 7lev each.
Within a week i spent for myself and my little daughter just under £300 and that was snacks and drinks throughout the day, all evening meals with drinks, day to nessebar, water park and shopping ( typical woman ).... evenig meals averaged for four adults and the little one inc drinks and couple desserts anything from 63-73lev depening on what you were eating. Alot of choice of restaurants and the steakhouses were excellant. Drinks were 1-2 lev for a large beer and cocktails were anything from 4-7 lev and were always 2-4-1. spirits werent bad either.
We didnt get hassled by any beggers or prostitutes or anything altough there are a few adult bars............... the main square itself is very busy with clubs, bars etc alot of young ones mainly but plenty areas just to sit and have a quiet drink and that.
I could go on and on but i wont but feel free to ask me anything and i will try my best to answer.
All i will say is that i had a lovely holiday, weather was fantastic and we all want to return next year with other family.
Happy holidays....

p.s i will eventually post some pictures

Helpful?
6 Thank ALLYB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Just returned on the 23rd August. My husband and I spent 2 weeks at this hotel.

The rooms were very big and very comfortable a table, dressing table and couch, A cable tv, approximately 11 English channels, plus plenty of european channels. The en suite showerroom was big with a double shower. A small minibar with very reasonable prices. A large balcony overlooking the sea.
We did B and B so cannot comment on the on the food. The breakfast was good though.

The Fenix has a rule that no noise is allowed after 12 midnight. They enforced this rule so there was not any rowdy behaviour from the younger crowd.

The rooms were spotless, sheets changed every 2 days the towels changed daily.

We found the staff to be polite and very helpful, Emmy the rep from Balkan Holidays was very helpful too.

The pool area is large with plenty of sunbeds plenty of bars restaurants etc nearby and the beach is only 2 minutes walk away.

Trips can be organised with the Balkans rep, they are cheap and worthwhile, take a trip to the flea market for bargains!!!

We would definately go back to this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen_n_terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Globus Hotel
Globus Hotel
#97 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#16 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
#12 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arda Hotel
Arda Hotel
#109 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jeravi Hotel
Jeravi Hotel
#15 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel

Property: Fenix Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fenix Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fenix commands an excellent position in the popular resort of Sunny Beach with an enviable location just a few metres away from the golden, sandy beach and the resort's lively seaside promenade. There are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars nearby too. Nestled between the hotel and well-kept green lawns is the swimming pool which has a children's section at one end and an inviting pool bar serving a selection of refreshments at the other. Hotel Fenix provides modern and comfortable studios, twin and family rooms, all with air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing