We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
12 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$158
View deal
Booking.com
$158
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$145
View deal
Hotels.com$158
Barcelo.com$157
travelup.com$191
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,547)
Filter reviews
1,547 results
Traveler rating
724
401
210
112
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
724
401
210
112
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar lovely hotel pool view entertainment team all inclusive package plenty of sunbeds kids club clean towels great holiday evening entertainment kids pool salad sun loungers pizza ice cream pools apartment
Sort and selected filters
Sort Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 1,547 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2019 via mobile

Just finished a week long stay at the Barcelo Royal Beach. My partner and I have throughly enjoyed our time here.

Wonderful poolside/sea view room. Spacious, clean.

Food fabulous, lots of choice.
All staff were polite friendly and always happy to help.

Would definitely stay again and would highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank T5421JSrebeccas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 19, 2019

Just finished a 2 week stay in Barcelo Royal Hotel Sunny Beach, overall very pleased,apartment was nice buffet breakfast excellent with great choices to suit all tastes.Pool was very busy with not enough beds as hotel was full so people were putting towels on beds as early as 7am.kids club was basic but the staff were great especially Rene, overall very happy with our stay and would definitely return.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barceló Royal Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2019

Dear Anthony H,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Barcelo Royal Beach and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations.
We are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be comfortable at all times.
It is also good to know that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.
Regarding the sunbeds policy, please note that the reservation of sunbeds is not allowed and our guests are diligently informed upon arrival and at the pool area about our policy. Sunbeds are free of charge, still if these are not used for more than 30 min. the sunbeds could be used for other guests.
Finally, it is great that you are planning to return to Barcelo Royal Beach. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance needed as our team is looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019 via mobile

Stay clear. Service is below minimum level!!!
We were 4 friends who came for the weekend Thursday to Sunday.
First of all the entire third floor and both our rooms had very bad sewage odors.
Furthermore, we told the receptionist on the first night the safe is not working and there was a problem with the locking mechanism of our room the sensor that reads the card fell inside the wall and it took me several times each and every time to open the door wasting valuable time. of course they replied very nicely and respectfully and with a smile that they would fix this. Nobody came to fix anything. We spoke to the receptionist again EACH AND EVERY DAY. Every time they apologized and promised to fix everything but DID NOTHING. Writing this right now i'm still shocked how in 2019 in a 5 star hotel this can happen. On our third day (out of four) they fixed the door mechanism which lasted for only a few hours when my friend rang the doorbell the sensor fell back inside the wall.
Needless to say the safe was NOT FIXED for 4 days!!! Although we told them this 4 times. Unbelievable.
The pool doesnt have enough chairs. People put their towels on chairs early in the morning and go away to their daily routine. The towel is to save them the chairs and all the chairs are taken. No free chairs available. We couldn't sit by the pool on our first day. The second day only after speaking to the receptionist he sent someone with us and he found us 2 chairs that had someones bag on it and he put the bag aside. We got 2 chairs for four people. We sat there for an hour and then they guy who put his bag there in the first place, came back and didn't believe his eyes when we were sitting in his "reserved" chairs.
The rooms are nice and big though and the food was tasty and versatile.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barceló Royal Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2019

Dear Roy P,
At first place, thank you for choosing Barceló Royal Beach and for taking the time to share your personal opinion with the TripAdvisor's readers.
Thank you for your nice comments regarding the units of our complex, We are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times.
In addition to that, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering delicious international and local dishes.
Still, we are dismayed to read that you have suffered the described technical inconveniences, as usually the Maintenance department is taking care of such requests swiftly. Please accept our apologies for the situation described and do not hesitate to contact us directly with the number of our unit so we could give you a more detailed feedback.
In regards to the reservation of the sunbeds, we are sorry that you felt disturbed by the policy of non-reservation. Still, upon arrival we are informing all the guests at the welcome package details that the sunbeds are free of charge but they could not be reserved if not used thus letting the other guests the chance to enjoy the pools.
Please note that our pool staff is assisting to our clients in the busiest days as the three external pools are available for the whole complex.
That is why we have clearly instructed around the area that if any sunbeds are not used for more than 30 minutes the same could be provided to other guests searching for a place to relax in that very moment. The personal belongings are secured by our employees and provided to their owners when requested. Still, we would like to advise that this policy is applied for anything but the convenience of the clients and we do count on their understanding.
Finally, please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló Royal Beach will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is on the surface luvly ,the food is really good for a buffet style it was hot and plenty of choice . I was surprised that every day we had to show passes breakfast and tea time even though it was the same staff member .
the sun beds were a joke there was a clear policy that said no reserving sun beds but as we had a pool view saw people as early as 7 o'clock putting towels on the beds .
our room was massive but could do with a deep clean in the bathroom the shower drain was rusty so I put a facecloth over it whilst we were using the shower .
we paid for a pool view room we did ask for a high floor on our booking but was given 3rd floor so our view was of a tent like gazebo covered in seagull poo...also seagull poo was very evident around the pool.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank gillyd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 12, 2019 via mobile

As a couple who are mixed ethnicity (myself white, husband is black caribbean) with dual heritage children you expect in this day and age that you can go anywhere in the world and not be looked at in absolute disgust.
Not in Bulgaria we had only been there a couple of hours and the n word was used. This made me feel very vulnerable, what makes it worst is that in the hotel the security staff looked at my husband like a leper.
On one occasion we were walking into reception and the security guard asked my husband for his key card as evidence he was staying at the hotel. I asked him if it was because my husband was black he said no, but he didn't ask anyone else who was entering the hotel.
I complained to the manager who said security ask anyone who have no band on their wrist (all inclusive) as he said this a white couple walked past the security with no band on and the security guard never asked them. I pointed this out to the manager and he started to apologise. Not good enough I'm afraid this will be reported to Jet2.
The security also sneakily film people in the pool my daughter and I caught one and as soon as he saw we were looking he turned his mobile away.
The hotel is no way near a 4 star more a 3.
We had a one bedroom apartment not the cleanest got better as the week went on. The cutlery had only a couple of knives and forks even though there was 4 of us, the kettle balanced on the edge of the sink. Huge bed in the bedroom and a double sofa bed in the living area. No drawers to put underwear, swimsuits etc so had to keep suitcase out all the time. Had about 6 hangers for 4 of us so again everything was in suitcase.
On the balcony it only has 2 chairs which were greasy and mouldy and don't leave anything on the table otherwise huge seagulls come and land on your balcony.
The hotel is 75% Russian 20% German 5% British so no one mixed which is a shame.
As you can probably gather I will never be returning to Bulgaria, if I'd have read a review like this before I booked my holiday I would definitely have booked somewhere else in the world, I've never felt so uncomfortable and vulnerable in a country before and I've been all over the world.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank tyaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barceló Royal Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

Dear Guest,
At first place, we would like to thank you for the recent stay at Barceló Royal Beach and for taking the time to share your personal opinion with the TripAdvisor’s readers.
Secondly, our team is quite dismayed by the content of the review as our complex is welcoming guests from all over the world and in no case the staff is tolerating any kind of discrimination. We are striving to provide our services in the best manner no matter of the origin of our customers attending them with both positivism and professionalism.
Please note that about Barceló Royal Beach is proud of having employees and clients from different countries, in addition to that our English guests are increasing each year, currently forming about 20 % of the total number.
We are truly sorry if you felt offended by the fact that the Security guard asked you for the room number, still we would like to clarify that the checks at the main entrance are routinely performed and in no means have the intention to show negative attitude towards the clients of the complex. As you have probably noticed, the lobby entrance is the only one that is not controlled with the key card access system and therefore the only place where our Security employees are taking care that no external people are entering the premises of Barceló Royal Beach. Due to the high volume of newly arrived guests, our colleagues could not know each client and this is causing their regular checks. Again accept our apologies for the inconvenience and be kindly assured that your comments have been taken on board by the whole Management team.
Please note as well, that the video surveillance is performed by means of a centralized system with the corresponding signs used and no employees is allowed to use any other type of technique to take photos or make videos. All the personnel has signed the ethical code of the company in this regards thus confirming the fore-mentioned restrictions and rules.
Regarding the housekeeping issues that you have mentioned, please accept again our apologies and be kindly advised that for future occasions we would be able to react swiftly once you have shared with the reception desk your needs.
Finally, we sincerely lament reading about this unpleasant occasion and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your next Barceló Royal Beach holiday experience an unforgettable one for all the right reasons.
Kindest regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews