We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concerned about star rating in Bulgaria”
Review of Nobel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nobel Hotel
Ranked #39 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Kolkata, India
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Concerned about star rating in Bulgaria”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is supposed to be a 4-star hotel. At least that is what is written on the front gate. The reception is horrible, needs training on handling customers, especially when there is a crowd around. Checking in took a long time. The rooms are big but very sorry looking with damp walls (that too in August), faded, torn and dirty carpets. The beds are uninviting, undulating and is sure to give you a backache. The pillows are high and very uncomfortable. The room lighting is very inadequate and the plugs of cameras and my MacBook Pro kept falling down from the sockets. Didn't have a choice for changing hotels as it was prepaid and no money is returned if there is prematured check-out.
The breakfast is just average.
Not recommended.

Room Tip: Try to choose an inside room as the roadside rooms are noisy from merrymakers downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_B_Maitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    45
    33
    11
    12
See reviews for
49
45
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here right at the end of the season so it was very quiet.

We did enjoy our stay.

When we arrived at 5am the receptionist couldn't find our reservation which was a bit concerning as we had a young baby in tow. She was however helpful and sorted the problem out quite quickly. The only issue was that we had asked for a cot for the baby which we didn't get until the following day (probably due to the mix up with our reservation). This was not a problem for us as our little one was ok sleeping with us.

The walls are quite thin and the plumbing system is quite loud so it was quite noisy when someone turned on the tap next door. Fortunately the people next door went home after a day or two so we were left in peace for the rest of our stay.

I thought the location was good. The number 1 bus to sunny beach and nessebar run every 10 mins or so from just up the road. There was also a less frequent bus to Sveti Vlas. It was far enough away from Sunny Beach to avoid the madness of the resort, but close enough to get there on foot or by bus when you wanted to.

There is a supermarket right next to the hotel which was very handy. The rooms also have fridges which meant we could keep our beer nice and cold.

Nessebar old town was also a 10 min bus ride - or a longer walk. Nessebar is very pleasant much nicer than sunny beach.

The hotel is almost right on the beach. Its just a short walk over the dunes to the sea. There was a serbian grill by the pool but this was closed when we arrived on 21st Sept. The lobby bar was still open. Drinks not too expensive although obviously a bit more pricey than the cheapest places in town.

Next door to the hotel was a restaurant which was still open serving pizza (which you could also get to takeaway) and other food. This was quite handy.

The rooms were kept clean and the maids were friendly.

The outdoor pool was very cold. I did't even attempt it! We used the indoor pool which was also cold, we were told by a member of staff that this could have been because it was the end of the season. We did manage a brief swim with the little one. There was a 5lv charge for this and an additional 5lv for the gym.

The WiFi did not appear to be free as suggested.

We had B&B and the breakfast was really good. Something for everyone and very tasty.

I'm not sure what the place would be like in high season, much busier I imagine. I do recommend September as a more relaxed time to visit and the weather was cooler but still pleasant.

Overall I would stay here again if I came back to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawnislush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for a week at Nobel shower was OK, not brilliant but good enough.. WI FI not free , sauna coverd pool gym Not free , no Drinks At dinner ,food is good . room was too close to serbian gril and very noisy !!. No long check out option
very poor hotel !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orli2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for a week at Nobel in a clean, spacious room (even with 3). The beds are comfortable, and the room had air con and a fridge (turned out very useful!). The bathroom was nice and clean, shower was OK, not brilliant but good enough.

We did B&B and the breakfast selection was great, with something for everyone. Plenty of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, cooked breakfast, breads and pastries and plenty of tea/coffee and juice. Nice patio area outside to eat on too. Hotel has a grill on the side behind the pool which had lovely food, reasonably priced. Also did a takeaway and live music in the evening.

The pool was a bit chilly but turned out very refreshing in the hot weather! Good amount of sunbeds, we always found some and there are plenty of parasols too. The pool area is not huge but it is quite nice, better than lots of hoardy hotels I've been in before.

The beach is less than 5 minutes walk along a nice boardwalk. The main Sunny Beach resort is about 10/15 minutes walk and Nessebar is about 20/25 minutes but there are land trains which run both ways just along the road from the hotel. Supermarkets are about 5 minutes walk away on the main road, and there are a few restaurants. We mainly ate in Nessebar as it was much more scenic (slightly more expensive).

Overall great place - a bit out the main sunny beach area so is a bit more chilled out/quiet but within easy reach if it takes your fancy.

Would highly recommend having a go on the electric bikes - they were great fun!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olive018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Rooms are clean, food was good, beach is less than 5 walk. The pools are nice and the small one was ideal for our son (20 month old).
Afaik wifi is not free. Hotel gym is also not free and is very poorly equipped.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is a nice decent size, well presented and very clean. The location is off the main strip in Sunny Beach, about 20 / 25 minute walk to the lively part of town, whether this is good or bad is of course a matter of personal preference and at any rate there were some decent beach bars and restaurants nearby. The room was a nice size but a few things need to be improved a little, the main one being the tepid water in the bathroom, it was just about warm enough for a shower but you definitely would not have wanted a bath in it. The shower head was droopy and had to be off-set against the water pressure to stay upright and the sink / bath plugs were missing, replacement rubber ones were left out but it left a gaping hole making you afraid to drop anything - oh and we booked a double room but were given a twin with the beds pushed together leaving a dividing ridge in the middle, again you may argue that was a good or bad thing according to your relationship status :)
Housekeeping were meticulous but reception a little less helpful, could of course be the language thing but still, no real complaints. The on-site foreign exchange we thought was a bit of a rip off, they told us we could only draw money on a card using a US Dollar exchange rate, we went round the corner to Crown exchange in the end and saved ourselves over £50 on drawing 1000Lv when compared to the hotel, oh and the girl in the office was very reluctant to put her mobile phone down in order to even talk to us.
The only other comment was the pool was quite cold, making us and a few other people we spoke to a bit reluctant to jump in.
All in all though quite a reasonable place and we would stay there again given the right offer.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room, the sun was bright in the morning and the balcony in the shade for the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 35Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Hotel itself was a lovely hotel, spotlessly clean and very friendly staff. All staff spoke good English, and we never had any communication problems. The pool was always clean and there was always plenty of sunbeds throughout the week of our stay. The hotel is also in a very good area, just a minute from the beach, and with shops close by. Sunny Beach town itself is around a 15 minute walk, but there are buses and trains every 5 minutes. Lovely hotel, food was excellent and staff were lovely, would recommend to anyone and will hopefully return to Bulgaria soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Imperial Resort
Imperial Resort
#53 of 220 in Sunny Beach
271 reviews
0.7 mi away
MPM Kalina Garden
MPM Kalina Garden
#20 of 220 in Sunny Beach
215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Marvel
Hotel Marvel
#40 of 220 in Sunny Beach
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
smartline Meridian Hotel
smartline Meridian Hotel
#68 of 220 in Sunny Beach
608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alba Hotel
Alba Hotel
#88 of 220 in Sunny Beach
202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#86 of 220 in Sunny Beach
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nobel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nobel Hotel

Property: Nobel Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nobel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nobel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nobel Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing