We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel But Noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aquamarine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aquamarine
Ranked #145 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Hotel But Noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

Just spent a week at Aquamarine, plus & negative points as follows;

+ Rooms are very clean, fresh towels every day
+ Staff are very helpful, majority speak good english
+ Hotel is in a quiet area of Sunny Beach but only 10 minutes walk from start of strip
+ Sunbeds at pool were always accessible

- No kettle in room so no opportunity to make own tea / coffee
- For some strange reason there is a 2 inch gap at the bottom of the room door, this means that you hear every noise from the other rooms / hall
- Around sun loungers there are literally hundreds of ants crawling around

Can't comment on breakfast as never had it during the week (it is served until 10am which was too early for me)
Bar is open at night for as long as there is someone at the bar, although if no one is there at say 11pm it will obviously close.
We were unfortunate that there was a large number of young israelis on our floor and they were both noisy & ignorant, came in from clubs at 3am and would start shouting / partying. Have to say we complained and it was dealt with immediatley (they were warned they would be thrown out hotel)
One other point, the pool was relatively quiet when we were there however when we were checking out a large party of say 50 people were checking in which included a lot of children so would imagine that the small pool would have been very busy.
If interested next door is a hotel called Black Sea, they have an excellent gymnasium which is available for use for only 4 lev a session i.e. about £1.80

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim_mcskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    39
    37
    18
    19
See reviews for
40
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

First time in Bulgaria and we couldnt have wished for a better place to stay. We got there the week before the real season started and the first week was fairly quiet, just our cup of tea. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we certainly felt very happy at tipping. Beautifully clean, rooms cleaned daily with the little personal touch every few days or so of arranging towels in quite an artistic fashion, made us smile.
Within its own private gardens you felt like there was no intrusion from the other holiday makers in the area at other hotels.
On the downside (although it did not ruin it for us) is the fact that you have to cross a very busy main road to reach the town and the beach, and the second week got quite busy with inconsiderate people overtaking the pool with ball games!! Luckily they didnt stay in pool all day.
Some people say it is expensive to drink in the hotel bar. It is if you compare it to the bars in the town where a big beer averages less than 50p, but if you compare it with bars in britain it was still very cheap, beer approx £1.20
One couple we talked to were on there second year at the Aquamarine as they were impressed and we definitely will return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeediddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

We have just returned from a week in the Aquamarine, Burgas and had the most lovely, relaxing and unexpectedly impressive first taste of Bulgaria. The Aquamarine was small but friendly, staff helpful, room and hotel itself spotless, although almost empty during the last few days as the resort shuts completely down for Winter. Although set back on the main road away from the hub of the centre and was a good 15-20 min walk for dinner in the evening but a nice walk all the same, around 10 mins to the lovely expanse of beach. Everything you could wish for in a holiday, weather was great, mostly high 20's all week, shops, restaurants, amusements, it has the lot and great value for money too. A 2 course meal with 'Happy Day' drinks, that's buy one get one free all day, cost around £25 for the two of us, great value. The beach is also very clean with lifeguard stations every 100 feet or so, with attendants who constantly watched the weather conditions and people's safety. I had been forewarned not to expect too much from Bulgaria but have to tell you that it has obviously come a long way in the last 10 years or so and can live up to anywhere else in mainland Europe as a top holiday destination.

Travellingduberries, Uxbridge

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

One of the cleanest hotels I've stayed in. Staff friendly. Not fussed on the food, breakfast anyway! Could just be taste by neither my wife or I liked it. We travelled with Tompson - not a single sign of a rep. Once we were transferred, we were very much on our own! This hitel is ldeal if you want a quiet holiday. Bar was shut most days before mid-night. Came back from the hike from town at around 3am on Monday morning and the bar was open. Came back early Monday night for a drink in the bar at around 1130pm and it was shut!
Other reviews have mentioned the walk to town and crossing a busy main road. What an understatement! You take your life in your own hands. One poorly marked crossing but no-one stops anyway! If you want the hussle and bussle of clubs etc, this is too far out. About 30 mins walk each way everyday! 10 - 15 mins to some nice bars though. Don't bother trying to find a really nice meal. They are all nice. Really good food. Most bars seem to be judged by the standard of band, duo or solo artists rather than for their food or drink. Again don't bother looking for a bargain. Every shop is priced the same. And not bad prices either!
Loved Sunny Beach. Will definately go back but will look for a hotel nearer the town area, and most definately on the beach side of that dangerous main road!
I would recomend this hotel but not if you have children and want a bit of night life!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KandSBridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

Overall I enjoyed the trip, the hotel was clean, the food was a bit odd, very continental and leftovers from dinner were served for breakfast.
The room was clean and kept well by the maids, however the maids come barging in whenever they want without knocking, and at odd times, like 11pm at night?!!
The staff at the hotel are ok, but they want tips for everything. Literally, pointing you to where the toilet is..... 10 Lev!
I enjoyed Nessebar old town, it was beautiful. But the bus ride is a bit frightening, and there are many pick-pockets. Taxis are a good way to get anywhere further than walking distance, but agree the price before you get in or they will try and charge you more.

While I was there I was unwell, and got an infection in my eyes which swelled and closed, the manager of the hotel was very helpful and sent me to a local english speaking doctor, who gave me an injection and some cream (which I paid for) and in 2 days I was fine. However on the day we were leaving the reception phoned our room and said the doctor was here for his money, when we went to see him, he demanded 300 Lev, and as it was the last day of our holiday we didn't have the money. I showed him my travel insurance documents and that card you have. He got quite irate and demanded the money, we had to go to a bulgarian black market lender (which is illegal) to get money out of my bank account (which was terrifying) and he could only get 100 Lev, we offered this the doctor which thankfully he took.
The hotel in general is fine. About 10 minutes walk from the main resort of sunny beach, and 10 minutes on the bus to nessebar. The hotel is across the road from the main resort and it is very much 'run the gauntlet' as the road is very busy and cars do not slow down. We went on a few excursions ran by the hotel, we went on a boat trip which was brilliant, we had lunch on the boat and swam in beautiful seas, there are a lot of jelly fish but the locals said it was fine to swim with them and it was! The boat trip was cheap and the best excursion, We also went on the 4x4 experience, which was and adventure day in the black mountains, the trip there is off road, no seat belts, in very old land rovers, the driver doesn't speak english and you will bang your head 100s of times, when you get to the adventure area, there is archery, quad bikes, horse riding, and cart rides. These are good, but there is no shade or anywhere to go while people are participating in the tasks and it is very very hot. There is also a lot of waiting around and dinner is shocking, cabbage and i'm not sure what else it was meant to be. The final excursion we went to was the water park, you are picked up on a nice coach and taken there and back and it is really nice and a lot of fun.
Some staff are very nice others are ignorant and rude. I would reccommend bulgaria again, but maybe not this hotel, and also the pool is freezing all the time! I'd recommend a hotel in the main sunny beach resort, as it is quiet enough to stay in the main resort, and saves the walking across the main road.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minipoppit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

This was our first holiday in two years and were really looking forward to it. We arrived into Bulgaria very late on the 4th Sep 07 and found my suitcase had been broken into in the airport (there was 5 other people on the same flight that this had happened to.) The Thomson rep couldn’t have cared less!! The Bulgarian airport woman were also very rude and couldn’t see what the problem was, The zip on my suitcase had been completely smashed off and someone had rummaged through my belongings! That was the problem!

After the 25 to 40min bus ride (in floods of tears after the way I had been treated) we arrived at the hotel, still no apology from the Thomson rep Wayne.

The hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful. The food was very poor, we went B&B and it wasn’t worth it. The hotel caters for German and Scandinavian food tastes, so if you like salad, ham, cheese and leftover food form the night before for breakfast, you will be fine. We had lunch and dinner a few times at the hotel but it is better to go out. The pool was freezing even when it was very hot weather, not much fun when you enjoy a good swim.

The resort its self was boring!! The same shops and bars where ever you went. There were a few bars and clubs on the beach which were lovely and good fun but you really have to search for them. I found the Bulgarians very rude and pushy (excluding the staff at the hotel) they are always trying to rip you off or force you to buy something from them, watch out for the pick pockets on the buses, every time we took a bus anywhere someone had had something stolen.

The food bill comes in Bulgarian so ask to see the menu again so you can see what you did have and how much it should have been as they always added extras to our bill. EVERY TIME!!

We went to Nessebar old town a few times, very nice place. Well worth a visit or two… The sea food is fantastic here, but look around as most of the restaurants have the same food at different prices, if there isn’t a price on something…. ASK before you order as they will charge what they want. You can get a slice of the pizza from a Kiosk for about 2,50L and is the best pizza I’ve have ever tasted!! Get it in Nessebar though as its not fresh in Sunny beach.

After 4 days, I had had enough and wanted to come home but unfortunately we had booked 2 weeks so had to stay on!! I was so excited on our last day as I just wanted to come home, I had a horrible time and will not be returning!!

Please don’t think I’m an old timer just wanting a moan as my boyfriend and I are both 25. I have been to Greece 3 times in the past and loved it , we are going to try Tenerife this year although we are going Self catering so we can choose what we want for Breakfast!!
If I can give you one bit of advice, don't go to Sunny Beach!!!!

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The pool was always FREEZING!!! You have to cross the busy main road to get to the beach.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mim142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2007

The hotel was only half full when we stayed there sept 4th for one week, the staff spoke good English and were friendly and helpful. It was very clean, the rooms were spacious, pool view was nice. Breakfast was good, plenty of room and choice of food/drinks. Always enough free sunbeds at poolside. Bar area a bit poor, no entertainment but barstaff really friendly, The hotel is set about 15minutes walk away from beach and main sunny beach resort centre. The bus service is good. Weather a bit unsettled. Very good value for eating out and loads of shops/bars. We would holiday in Bulgaria again, though we both had a 'dodgy' tummy for a while when we got home.

  • Liked — nice clean spacious rooms
  • Disliked — bar area, no entertainment
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ponnyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Diamond Hotel
Diamond Hotel
#124 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.0 mi away
MPM Kalina Garden
MPM Kalina Garden
#21 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mercury
Hotel Mercury
#96 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Izola Paradise
Hotel Izola Paradise
#55 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#118 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Dunav
Hotel Dunav
#71 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aquamarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquamarine

Property: Hotel Aquamarine
Address: Main Road, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Aquamarine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Aquamarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamarine Hotel Sunny Beach
Hotel Aquamarine Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing