We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoids this hotel for your health !”
Review of Hotel Aquamarine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Aquamarine
Ranked #147 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The worst hotel in my life. The meal , the food could not be eat even the pigs. An incredible bad experience ! Just thinking about this hotel and my worst holiday ever and i get a great abomination. Please dude don t come here !! Bypass this hotel !! Is not a 3 * hotel , and the restaurant is a realy piggery with frozen fish soup, reused daily food and so forth.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank seby63ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 164 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

Sunny Beach is a nice place for vacation, but unfortunately the hotel where we stayed was not what we expected- we booked a 4 star hotel, but Aquamarine can not be more than 2 stars!!
The food was terrible, so was the coffee and the drinks and the bar... the pool looks like a puddle and the water is full with chemicals... one of my friends even had unpleasant rush because of that!!
The Bulgarian Black Sea coast is definitely amazing, but if you plan your vacation in Sunny beach, better go to a nicer hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Terry_188633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Me and my friends stayed in this hotel for 5 days. some things were o.k and some defintely not.
About the location:
We chose to book this hotel because we were told it's very close to the center which wasn't realy so, we had to walk 15-20min each direction, walking through dark areas with no sidewalk or very narrow one. add that to the bulgarian roads and crazy drivers and get a pretty dangerous road you have to walk atleast once a day to get to the center of sunny beach.

About hotel staff:
most of them were nice, but some others realy not(later about that).
they hardly speak english, and it is hard to understand them.
the maid did her job, and we got a clean room and fresh towels everyday we got back from the center.

About hotel facilities:
+Free WiFi
+Change rate is fair(although u can take a risk and find alittle better rates outside)
+Pool area is nice and pretty quiet most of the time if you're looking to just rest by the pool.

-Hotel's food: meals were very basic, just enough for you not staying hungry, but there were 3 major problems:
1st- same food every day both at the breakfast and the dinner, and I won't be surprised if some of the breakfast's food are leftovers of last dinner.
2nd- if somthing ran out, they dont do refills, or it just takes them forever to do so.
so i suggest u get as realy as u can to the dinner\breakfast if u want fresh food.
3rd- There's NOTHING to drink at dinners unless u want to buy drinks at expropriated price. and don't even try to bring your own drinks because they didn't let us in when they saw we came with a bottle of water.
The good thing about sunny beach's food is that u don't realy need to hotel to eat good. there are planty of good and pretty cheap restaurants in the center so u'll always find somthing to eat.
my advise to you- take only B&B.
-A\C is pretty weak, so in hot days\nights u're expected to not sleep very well or just wake up sweating like u were playing football.

and for last, our worst experience with this hotel that literally ruined our overall feeling about this trip.
one of the nights we brought a couple of friends to the hotel, and 5 minutes after we took the keys from the receptionist and we up to our room, we got a visit from the hotel's security knocking on our door like crazy threating if we won't open immediatley he'll get the police, we realy had no idea what happened nor what he wants, we opened the door and he stood there with the receptionist and they both started yelling at us to get our guests out from the hotel or they're getting the police to take us and them.
we tried to understand what was the problem with having guests, we offered to pay for them, and even paying for an extra room and they just kep yelling at us.
we realy felt like criminals, and the next morning we tried to talk to the manager to get some explanation for the incident, he didn't realy had a good reason for this, or maybe he did but couldnt explain it in english.
that happend the night before our last night, and since that we were just waitig to leave sunny beach and especially the hotel and get back home.

Another somthing to mention about sunny beach- most locals are not very friendly and talking poor english.planty of the them will try to rip you off, so: check your bills carefully in restaurant, dont get inside a taxi before you agreed on a price with the driver and change money only in banks\hotels\crown's change.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank nirco13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We just spent 1 week at the Aquamarine on a B&B basis and having read the other reviews we knew we wouldn't go far wrong with this hotel.

About the hotel itself:
Positives:
+ Very clean rooms with air-con, balcony, rooms were cleaned and beds made every day, towels changed every day
+ The pool is a good size with a kids pool to one side.
+ Friendly and helpful staff
+ Family / couple oriented hotel

Negatives:
- Breakfast was not that great to be fair but I suppose we got used to it over the course of our stay
- The room could have done with tea/coffee making facilities and a bigger fridge to put your own drinks in
- No evening entertainment at the hotel

About Sunny Beach
If you want to be closer to the Sunny Beach action, this is not the hotel for you because it is a good 20-25 min walk into the centre. It is a 10lv taxi ride each way (depending on the time of day) or a 1lv / person bus ride each way.
Having said that, it is a 10 min walk to the very clean beach and within the same time you begin to hit the start of the endless number of restaurants and bars in Sunny Beach. I can't really recommend a single restaurant because they are pretty much the same but the quality of food in the area is nothing to write home about - think of it as a UK seaside resort in the blazing sun.

You will find a big variety of nationalities in Sunny Beach which is quite nice and different from your typical Spain holiday. The tempertaure was a roasting 40C+ for most our week's stay so pack plenty of sun cream.
The Aquamarine Hotel is about 15 minutes on the bus from the old town of Nessebar on the bus and is worth a visit. The Aquapark is worth going to and there are 2 with FREE shuttle services - one in Sunny Beach and one in Nessebar. Go to the Sunny Beach one as it is bigger with more to do. Adults are 34lv and kids 17lv for the day.

Tip - Try and avoid the rip-off taxi drivers. If you do take a taxi make sure you agree the price before you get in the cab.

If you want to experience Bulgarian culture, I dont think Sunny Beach is the place to do it but if you want a relaxing, sun drenched, family-oriented cheap holiday, the Aquamarine Hotel will easily satisfy your stay in Sunny Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GURDFROMSOLIHULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I have just returned from staying at Aquamarine hotel for one week with my family. The hotel itself was lovely - rooms spacious and clean and the reception and lobby areas were nice.

We stayed on a half board basis and I was not overly impressed with the food. There was quite a limited selection which was often repeated so we did eat out alot for evening meals. Then again, we chose half board as it was only an extra twelve pound per person so on such a limited budget you can not expect gourmet cuisine.

The reception staff were always lovely and helpful but some of the others were not so. I personally would prefer a pokey room and welcoming staff to the opposite.

The location was on the edge of the centre of sunny beach - there is a bus stop almost directly outside and for one lev per person you can get to the centre if you dont fancy the 20 min walk. There is also a little train that takes people for 3 lev per person which my children became quite fond of. It is only a five min walk from the hotel directly to the beach which is lovely (lots of water activities to be found)

We did spend a day at the water park which was a big hit with all the family and I would recommend that to all.

Overall there was not much for the children to do in Sunny Beach that they cant do at home (save for the beach)n so I doubt it will be on one of my places to visit again in the near future with them.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mishelly2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

For the first time ever we did not book our holiday as a package. We were dubious of the quality we would receive as it was All Inclusive holiday for a change. This hotel was defiantly not a mistake. We arrived two weeks ago , just after midnight and were met by a very friendly receptionist and bellboy. We were given loads of info and sandwiches upon our arrival, the bellboy (Dani) took our bags to the lift and as there was no room left for him, he travelled by the stairs and met us at the fifth floor with a smile. (i was tired for him, I also tried the same thing a couple of days later, when i got the fifth my family were all tucked up sleeping). He took us to our room and gave us all the info about the room, all inclusive details, mini bar, air conditioning etc. The rooms are very clean and presentable and a pleasant surprise to us all.
The next morning we went for breakfast and were met by very friendly staff with a nice buffet breakfast. Lunch and dinner were international but my kids are very fussy eaters but always had something they could eat. As part of the all inclusive package I would have thought we would have snacks and local drinks free all day. But no snacks , only beer and wine, which was enough for us. The pool was perfect and all other amenities was just what we would expect.
The cleaning of the hotel is 1st class, towels changed every day, beds changed every couple of days and towels and covers always different in presentation. The cleaners are also very friendly, flexible and approachable.
One major challenge on the location is the main road, the driving in Bulgaria is not pedestrian friendly and the main road is lethal and needs plenty of focus whatever time of the day you try to cross.
One other negative was on the first week most of the other clients were very aggressive, noisy and untidy and gave the staff all through the hotel a hard time. Taking this into consideration the staff all through the hotel were always very helpful and always had a smile and a greeting if you make the effort. We bought a picture from the reception and it was wrapped up for us for travelling back to the UK.
Quality Customer service is what you get at the Aquamarine and on the night ( well i say night it was in the early hours of the morning) before the manager was in reception. I thanked him for his customer service and he said “his goal was to give the best customer service at all times”. This is a small hotel and all of the staff care and make you feel welcome I will be going back with the family one day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Just spent a week at Aquamarine, plus & negative points as follows;

+ Rooms are very clean, fresh towels every day
+ Staff are very helpful, majority speak good english
+ Hotel is in a quiet area of Sunny Beach but only 10 minutes walk from start of strip
+ Sunbeds at pool were always accessible

- No kettle in room so no opportunity to make own tea / coffee
- For some strange reason there is a 2 inch gap at the bottom of the room door, this means that you hear every noise from the other rooms / hall
- Around sun loungers there are literally hundreds of ants crawling around

Can't comment on breakfast as never had it during the week (it is served until 10am which was too early for me)
Bar is open at night for as long as there is someone at the bar, although if no one is there at say 11pm it will obviously close.
We were unfortunate that there was a large number of young israelis on our floor and they were both noisy & ignorant, came in from clubs at 3am and would start shouting / partying. Have to say we complained and it was dealt with immediatley (they were warned they would be thrown out hotel)
One other point, the pool was relatively quiet when we were there however when we were checking out a large party of say 50 people were checking in which included a lot of children so would imagine that the small pool would have been very busy.
If interested next door is a hotel called Black Sea, they have an excellent gymnasium which is available for use for only 4 lev a session i.e. about £1.80

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim_mcskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Yavor Palace
Yavor Palace
#135 of 222 in Sunny Beach
226 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diamond Hotel
Diamond Hotel
#26 of 222 in Sunny Beach
698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dunav
Hotel Dunav
#45 of 222 in Sunny Beach
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#84 of 222 in Sunny Beach
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#118 of 222 in Sunny Beach
159 reviews
1 mi away
MPM Kalina Garden
MPM Kalina Garden
#25 of 222 in Sunny Beach
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aquamarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquamarine

Address: Main Road, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: $54 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aquamarine 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aquamarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamarine Hotel Sunny Beach
Hotel Aquamarine Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing