We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 1st time at this Hotel”
Review of Helena Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Helena Sands Hotel
Ranked #9 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our 1st time at this Hotel”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Returned on 27th September following 7 nights half board at the Helena Sands Hotel (not to be confused with the Helena Park Hotel) which is in the same resort. We found the hotel lived up to it`s 5* rating. A spotlessly clean hotel in every aspect from the reception, bedroom, dining room, bar area and swimming pool. We found all the staff to be professional. The food and dining room staff were both excellent. A wide variety of food was available and appeared to cover all the guests needs at breakfast and dinner. My wife took advantage of the spa facilities and enjoyed the pampering on offer saying it employed staff that clearly new what they were doing. I know the issue of the cold water swimming pool is well documented on this site but I feel I must add my own comment. It is a comment that many would consider minor. I am not a lover of swimming in the sea and one of the reasons for selecting this hotel, was for the wonderful looking outdoor swimming pool. The air temperatures for the week we stayed were fantastic and to have enjoyed a swim in the pool would have been great but you would not want to leap in after dipping one foot into it. However the hotel did have a small indoor pool and this did get used every day by us.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Budgie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    82
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
116
165
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just arrived back from two weeks at Sunny Beach Bulgaria. We stayed at Helena Sands 5* the hotel was lovely the room we had was nice, we paid extra for sea view well not much of a view really. We went B/B the breakfast was buffet style and its ok if you like boiled eggs,fried,scrambled the bacon was not very nice and the rest was just catered for the rest of the other foreign people who were staying there. So we ate 3 times and that was enough. The resort is a bit run down but ok for bar's restaurant's the food in these places were lovely never had a bad meal. We visited Nessibar wow! fabulous so oldy worldy well worth a visit 1 Lev on the bus. The weather was ok for the first 9 days then omg it rained and rained gail force winds and to top it all the shops and bars close down for the end of season. Was not told that with the travel agent. The flights were very late at night going and coming back the same. Bulgaria Airport is horrible filthy and rude people. But that's their problem if they want to be un-friendly.....

Room Tip: ask for a sea view or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just got back from our x3rd stay and can't wait for next year we just love the hotel staff are lovely ,the bedrooms are a nice size we always go for a sea view,not going to say much more cos you all might want to go and I won't get booked in then cos it will be full

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank loftus-sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very nice hotel, very clean, good service. If you're all inclusive time your meals to avoid the queues. If you're attempting to make toast, don't bother, toasters are useless. Meals are generally of a high quality with lots of choice. Entertainment is very much Butlins/Pontins standard. Dangerous darts and air rifle shooting. Thompson's rep was very helpful and seemed to be always available. Don't shop at the supermarket opposite the entrance, it's a bit bare. Went on two excellent excursions - VIP catamaran and Khan's tent, both excellent. We're not sunbathers so no problems with sun loungers and we never went on the beach except for an early morning walk. Hated Sunny Beach as it is just Blackpool with warmth. No Bulgarian signs so we never felt as if we were in a foreign country. Nessebar is worth a visit, only 2 lev on the bus from outside the hotel front door. Lot's of touristy shops but mixed with a bit of history and ancient buildings. So generally, a good hotel in an awful resort. Good for younger people. We wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite to get loads of room and two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StefanoRiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayr
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at Helena Sands Resort,,most of the staff were friendly enough,, some of them were a bit dour though, would be nice to see a smile in the morning,, we were B&B, which was fine as there are plenty of eateries round about,, there was plenty of choice as it was buffet style but most of it was luke warm,, the Fish Restaurant on site was excellent though,,
The outdoor pools are impressive but lets them down as they are freezing, that was disappointing, but indoor pool was fine,, not much for young toddlers to do either, a soft play area would have been good, rooms were spotless & towels changed everyday..would have liked a kettle in the room though.
agree with previous comments on beach being rather dirty with cigarette douts & rubbish, maybe as it was nearer end of season, the beaches are not cleaned as much.
would go back, but 1 week was long enough..

Room Tip: sea view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenBAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just spent two weeks all inclusive at Helena Sands Resort. Staff were friendly, hotel was spotless, food was very good. The animation team made the holiday. They were fantastic. Coming back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samantha_andrews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We returned from a week long stay at the Sunny Beach resort on 16th September. The resort itself is clean and in general terms well cared for. Much of the resort is a little brash and loud . It shares a lot of the characteristics of Benidorm and so may suit in particular the younger age groups looking for a heavy drinking night life culture. Having said that, we enjoyed our stay with the Hellena Sands being somewhat removed from the bulk of the noisy night club area.
The beaches are exceptional with acres and acres of smooth sand and with temperatures in the high 20s to low 30s it was wonderful weather.
The Hotel itself is huge. It is in fact two hotels on the one sort of Park Camus. Helena Sands, where we stayed fronts on to the beach and caters for bed and breakfast & half board customers while its sister hotel behind specialises in the Fully Inclusive Package. The hotel was well presented, clean and tidy with quite spacious entrance hall and reception areas. Almost all common area floors were attractively tiles although rooms and some of the upper hall ways were close carpeted. The twin room with ensuite bathroom was of a comfortable size and included a reasonable comfortable sofa and coffee table. It also boasted a useful sized balcony providing attractive views over the beach. For us there was only one fly in the ointment and that was the dining room. As we were Bed and Breakfast guests, we only needed to use the dining room in the morning Access was only available after 7.30am but was open until 10.30. In common with many hotels the dining room space is just not large enough to allow comfortable use by the number of guests using the hotel. Tables are crammed together so you are bumping elbows with people on an adjacent table. There were insufficient waiting staff on hand to clear vacated tables and there was an outright refusal to replace soiled table linen which we both found disgusting. On two mornings we and several other guests were TOLD OFF by the waiting staff for using some freshly laid tables there reason being these had been set complete with wine glasses for use the next evening and as such were in their view out of bounds to us. A particularly bolshie waitress also sploshed fruit juice all over the table cloth and down my leg but still refused to change the table linen. Mine and others complained to the mostly absent Thomson Rep and the hotel management but nothing changed or improved during the period of our stay. The breakfast food was of average to poor quality with hot food cooling to quickly as once cooked it was placed on unheated platters and the plate warmers were kept firmly switched off. If you are a tea drinker you will find it hard to come by with the few waiters available preferring to offer you over stewed coffee that was not very pleasant. Based on the breakfast performance of the dining room, we chose not to sample the evening dining experience within the hotel preferring to dine out at an excellent local restaurant called La Bamba who offered a wonderful extensive choice menu for less than half the price of the very limited fare the hotel was listing. Fellow guests who elected to 'eat in', confirmed that we made the wisest choice. In short this is a nice well cared for hotel let down greatly by its very poorly managed catering facilities.

Room Tip: The best rooms over look the pool area and the shore line but they want to charge a premium for thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Philip_Graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#3 of 220 in Sunny Beach
531 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#25 of 220 in Sunny Beach
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Green Fort
Green Fort
#81 of 220 in Sunny Beach
31 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dune Hotel
Dune Hotel
#28 of 220 in Sunny Beach
109 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Royal Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach
#16 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helena Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helena Sands Hotel

Property: Helena Sands Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria (Formerly Riu Palace)
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Helena Sands Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea. 3 to 7-story building and garden villas. Situated directly on the beach. Sun loungers and parasols on the beach (additional charge). In a 14,500 m2 garden together with the Riu Helena Park Hotel. 2.5 km from the centre of Sunny Beach. 28 km from Burgas airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Helena Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing