We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in sunny beach!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helena Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Helena Sands Hotel
Ranked #7 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best hotel in sunny beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

U get full value to your money! Nice loction, the bus stop is one step away from the hotel ( if u wanna go to the center)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anat1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    71
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
102
148
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

lovely hotel,friendly staff paid £300 for b and b beginning of june,breakfast vast and everything,bar prices in hotel expensive,the barman at beach bar was unhelpful and rude however just give him the correct money and stuff his tip,a cavit of 1 litre if wine is 11 lv(£5.50),half a litre 6.50lv(hotel lobby bar its 32lv a bottle and 4lv for a local lager(about £1.60),the next door fiesta beach bar is better at 3lv(£1.30) and have football in english,as with all beach bars you have to trek to the hotels for the toilets,the fiesta hotel bar was 2lv(90p)a beer.The Royal Palace i would say is in the top 3 or 4 of best hotels on Sunny Beach,2 down is the massive Majestic and next is the Victoria Palace both big and typical glitzy russian style glamour,the Helena Sands Royal Palace is well decorated,the super kingsize beds massive and air con ok,the rooms are cleaned by a team, however they charge 40lv(£20) for the safe combination.further to the north is a small nudist beach(i never used!),heading south along the prom is annoying so called charity beggars i just listened to my ipod and ignored them,there is a small supermarket further down and the secret is to buy your wine or beer from here during the day,the guard at the hotel normally sits under a parasol during the day and just stoll past him in the gate,there isnt a shop in the hotel and they say they will confiscate any food or drink.There are a few fast food outlets along the front selling pizza and chicken kebabs and i did have some during my time however i have a strong stomach!,heading south you will come across a fusion food place and i never saw anyone eating out of it!,I tried the island food place at the corner and i wouldnt recommend it,Victors is the tattoo place next and they all charge 100lv an hour(£45),they are clean and like every tattoist i know have massive egos and act like smarmy gits,so when he charges you 450lv(as all the rest priced) for a cover up,it seems good value at £200,saying it will take 4 hours,he did it in 2 1/2 hours but still charged the 450lv,the fake designer shops are everywhere and charge 70lv(£35) for good fake armani etc jeans however they only go up to a size 38 waist,polo shirts are 25lv(£12.50) however these are small sizes and only goto xl in our sizes,the casino is next followed by the star inn where the food was average,further down is a good stretch of bars and food places,Hawaii food place is just past Coyote uglys offering lots of food for under 10lv,i had a hunters skewer of venison,chicken,steak,salad and chips for 15lv(£7.50) and the food is lovely,usual fake designer shops and fake designer watches of various quality and prices even up to £300!,the further south then the closer you get to the main area of Sunny Beach and the main street runs 90 degrees to the beach front again here is the usual stuff and busy place,the small market is on the right across from the hotel Kuban,at the end you will come to the area with the erotic bars and clubs.
My whole holiday i never felt threatened or scared,the people are very friendly and in the bars the workers are all keen to see you and welcoming,Sunny Beach is a very cheap place and well worth a visit.1 tip is change your money in the uk or use a crown exchange boothe dont do what 1 guy did and goto a tout hand over £60 to get a 10lv and the rest in serbian money which is worthless his result was £5 of currency,take small notes 2,5,10 and 20lv and try and give the correct amount each time and if you bill is 18lv give em a 20 and tell em to keep the change(its only a 90p tip),keep street smart and enjoy your holiday.

Room Tip: beach view room with balcony ask for south facing if you want some sun on your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Having just read the previous review, I wonder whether this was the same hotel!
We had booked with Travel Republic and were paying £24 a day half board. What a delight!
We arrived at 2 in the morning and found a plated meal and coffee waiting. My room (a twin room for single occupancy) was huge, clean, modern, with a balcony overlooking the main pool and down to the beach and the Black Sea.
The hotel has 2 outdoor unheated pools and an indoor heated pool, gym, sauna, spa etc. Treatments in the spa range from £15 up to £45 for a hot stone massage.
The restaurant offers buffet breakfast and dinner. Chefs are on hand to cook eggs to order at breakfast and meat dishes at dinner. There is a huge selection of fruits, cereals, cold meats and cheeses, breads, full English etc for breakfast.
Dinner always had soups, interesting salads, a wide selection of meats and fish and a sweet selection to keep everyone happy.
There was a barbecue at weekends and 2 theme nights. we had a Greek evening with ouzo, moussaka, stuffed vine leaves, olives etc and an Italian night. This was in addition to the full menu.
Free wifi is available in the lounge and there is a team of activity leaders if you want to take part in community keep fit, beach volleyball, boules etc.
The gated complex is a 30 minute stroll from the town centre of Sunny Beach and there is no traffic and is very quiet at night.
A very relaxing week with warm and friendly staff, excellent food and efficient service.
Just don't change your money in the hotel as they offer a very poor exchange rate.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
16 Thank Chrisnik48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hi. I have just returned from two weeks stay at the Royal Palace Helena Sands. I read other reviews before I booked and yes it's true, visually the hotel and the grounds are truly stunning. 5*
Yes, they do have a strict policy about bringing in any food from outside the hotel . However, I and other people managed to sneak in packets of nuts,sweets and little items that could fit into our bags. This took me back to my naughty school child days. They do expect you to change for dinner and there were people who dressed to impress, and some like myself who who dress for comfort. The food offered at the hotel in my opinion is three star in a five star hotel. It's buffet at both breakfast and evening meal. Although I found some of the dishes strange, by mix -n-match one can always fill one's plate and stomach. They don't waste anything. If the food isn't used up one day they cut it up smaller and make it into a salad or soup the next day. Only problem with this is that meat will have been out on display for hours. This probably explains why I and others that I spoke with had the runs on a couple of days. The choice of fruits and prepared desserts was a delight for the eyes to behold. A good selection of cheeses and breads too. For wine drinkers there is a good selection and free glasses of champagne at breakfast !
The rooms are larger than average. My room 1719 had a side view with a decent size balcony with round table and two chairs that overlooked the large pools of other hotels and a side view to the sea. Although this hotel is at the far end of Sunny Beach I found that sitting out on the balcony in the mornings to be quite noisy but it quietened down after 2pm. There is a phone in the bedroom and the bathroom. There is a bath with shower attachment and a red emergency cord over the bath. There is a tendency for water to find its way to the floor which then becomes very slippery. I used the bathmat and towel to mop it up. Perhaps this is why they need to change the towels every day? The hotel is very clean. Its mostly all tiles and there are ample cleaners about all throughout the hotel every day all day. The weather was very hot and sunny one day and raining the next. On hot days people lounged by the pool. There were several German ladies who were exhibiting their middle-aged nude bodies along with their mid-drifts proudly on the sun beds. On rainy days people just sat indoors in the bar area,or went to the beauty therapy section for pampering. Take plenty of levs, ney hundreds of if you want therapies. The sauna starts at about £15 + There is also a very small indoor pool that I just didn't think was worth the effort, so I didn't use it. The first week that I was there were no English apart from myself, they were mostly German people, but the second week plenty of English to talk with. Met some lovely people too. And Chelsea won !!! The staff are all very polite and I found them helpful. They like tips,tips tips and you will know when its not enough because they don't say thank you. You can buy postcards at reception (1 lev)and stamps (1 lev) and leave them at reception for post collection. However, it remains to be seen whether mine will arrive at their destinations in U.K. as not everything I wrote on them extols the beauty of Bulgaria. I hired a car for 10 days and went far beyond the "Beach Ghettos" into the small villages and saw the distressing sights of people in abject poverty and with my own eyes saw starving manged dogs,dead dogs that had been run over and by the smell and flys had been there for some time. I waved at romany familys on the move and the children stared at me with vacant expression not used to being smiled at and waved to. But one adult waved back and that made my day. The best thing that I remember are the wild flowers growing along the roadside and the eight ducks that were swimming in a pothole. Yes the potholes, more potholes than road in some places. If you see cars swerving all over the road they are probably not drunk just avoiding the --------. Several people that I spoke to in the hotel had returned to Helena Sands just for the hotel but had never ventured beyond the hotels grounds. I think Bulgaria is like Spain the coastline is overdeveloped whilst the stunning scenery and interesting life is further inland. If you want to eat,sleep and not care whats around the corner then this hotel just by the beach should satisfy your needs.

Room Tip: On reflection I think that the sea facing rooms are probably quieter as they are away from the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Mondgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
97 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Nice modern hotel in the quieter end of Sunny Beach. Indoor and outdoor pools (although the outdoor one didn't seem heated). Well kept gardens/grounds. Room didn't have seperate shower and bath, or robe/slippers. Built, I believe in 2004 and probably still the best in Sunny Beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sydney69England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

I visited the Helena Sands Hotel in June 2011 for a week with my boyfriend. The hotel was beautiful and clean. Located at the edge of the sunny beach strip, it was only a short walk into the centre with restaurants and shops. I would recommend this hotel for couples and families.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is one of the best (if not the best) hotel in Sunny Beach. We have stayed there twice and we loved it both times. The service is excellent, hotel has it's own beach which in Sunny Beach helps a lot. Rooms are clean, food is really good. Take the half board plan if you go, this place has better food than most restaurants in SB. Overall very very good and very comparable to a 4 star western hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank ZapMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#9 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
#13 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
#2 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Royal Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach
#12 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helena Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helena Sands Hotel

Property: Helena Sands Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria (Formerly Riu Palace)
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Helena Sands Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea. 3 to 7-story building and garden villas. Situated directly on the beach. Sun loungers and parasols on the beach (additional charge). In a 14,500 m2 garden together with the Riu Helena Park Hotel. 2.5 km from the centre of Sunny Beach. 28 km from Burgas airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Helena Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing