We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but not Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
leominster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good but not Perfect”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed for 1 week mid September, to meet up with son, daughter in law and grandchildren who arrived 3 days before us. Check in was very efficient luggage arrived in our room very quickly. The hotel itself is spotless with maids working tirelessly from dawn till dusk. The staff are mostly polite and pass the time of day. Whilst we were there our granddaughter who is just over 14 months old had a viral infection which later on turned out to be chicken pox, the doctor (who we visited 3 times) based in the hotel was fantastic whenever we saw him out and about the area always stopped an made sure she was ok which was greatly appreciated. The food was pretty good but restaurant resembled a cattle market with people pushing and shoving. The restaurant has 2 sittings for evening meal, 18.00 - 19.30 and 20.00 - 21.30. although there is a member of staff on door checking you have a hotel card they never once checked the times written on it and so I believe people on late dinners were going early resulting in overcrowding at first sitting. We had a pastel drawing done by a lady in hotel grounds which cost 150 lev but it is well worth the money absolutely spot on. Overall hotel was very good but food and restaurant let it down.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms could be a little noisy, quieter at rear of hotel if you have young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliefarlie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    346
    108
    20
    10
See reviews for
467
560
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My partner and i went to the Majestic hotel 9.9.13 /23.9.13,we have just arrived home and i could honestly say i could catch another plane and go straight back again..the hotel was second to none,the food was excellent and the choices of different dishes i could not believe..the beach is beside the hotel and if you stay in the hotel you get the beds on the beach half price..the beds at the hotel are free,plenty of them also,the toilets are beside you too..there are two pools,one for adults and it is very quite and one for families with a little going on mini clubs and games and things..we stayed in the twin room with balcony it was brilliant loads of space great air conditioning and very good sized bathroom ..i cannot wait to return to this hotel ..

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a sea/pool view ,the back of the hotel faces the Poseidon apts it is rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

stayed here for 1 week for my honey moon although didn't inform anyone it was.

Hotel is huge and extremely clean its like the housekeepers work 24/7. rooms are spacious and had a balcony unfortunately the sun wasn't on ours not that i spent much time on it.

The pool did get busy and people do put the towels on them early but I never went to pool before 12.30 and had no problem finding 2 beds next to each other.
Bar at pool open unitl 3am fairly useful staff are a bit miserable though.
Food is nice considering its made on such a big scale and buffet style,bit repetitive so didn't eat there every night. Service in restaurant was good and staff friendly and helpful. It does say men have to wear long trousers however think this is a preference rather then a rule as saw lots of people wearing shorts and still were allowed in!!
If i was going to nit pick the tv was like a portable thought as a 4* hotel it would of been a flat screen with some kind of free view in, kitchen was equipped with the basics which was adequate for us perhaps some tea making facilities would be nice.
Its about 15-20 mins walk from the center where drinks etc are alot cheaper. This is at the quieter end.

Overall great hotel and would def recommend it!! The cleanest hotel i have ever stayed in and that is one of the most important things on a holiday my personal opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nix b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Myself and 81 year old mum have just returned from a week's half board at the Majestic, which I bought as a panic package trip.
I hadn't considered Bulgaria previously but decided that even if we disliked the resort then there were plenty of lovely areas to escape to.
Although there was a long queue to check in, the wait wasn't unbearable and walking into the room more then made up for it.
When I say room, it was actually an apartment with a kitchen-diner, stocked with kettle, fridge, toaster and hot plate, a 4 seater dining table, lounge and tv section with comfy sofa then a separate double bedroom with long balcony and lovely bathroom.
We were in the left wing of the hotel and overlooked the stage, pools, sea front and hotel itself so couldn't have been better for people watching although as previously mentioned the balcony walls mean you have to stand to enjoy the view.

We couldn't have done better for a hotel - mum is very traditional in her eating habits but there is no need for anyone to go hungry from the buffet breakfast and dinner. I found the food more then adequate in quantity and quality.

Entertainment wise, I quite enjoyed Matey at the lobby bar with his organ, guitar and sax, singing in 3 different languages. On our last night he played the first few chords of Smoke on the Water but this was his idea of irony as he then switched back to something mainstream, unfortunately.
The Animation crew do most of their performances downstairs in the night club / conference centre at this time of year as the nights had turned a bit chill.
Mum's an Abba fan so I did sit through them miming and dancing to various Abba songs, props included an ironing board for the keyboard and a cardboard guitar.
I suppose it's just par for the course for this type of hotel and is probably the only thing I heard criticised by fellow guests during our stay.

The resort is as described, lovely long beach, promenade into the main area lined with bars, eateries and tat shops - don't worry, there's plenty of fridge magnets to go round.
There are some adult entertainment shops but neither myself or mum found these offensive or obtrusive.

The only real pain in the backside walking in and out of town were the electric bikes that people were hiring. Could have done with a separate lane for them.

We occasionally took the Noddy train into town which leaves you at the top end of Flower Street, which is the main bar strip of a night. It's 3 Lev each for the trip.
Alternately take the public bus number 1 from outside the Efira Hotel - Majestic staff will draw you a little map to find the bus stop.
The number 1 runs to Nessebar and is great value at 1 Lev each however can be very busy.
We also took a number 5 bus to St. Vlas which is 4km further along the coast, out of Sunny Beach. It has nice, quiet shopping streets and the Marina is lovely however it's a very steep walk down and back up again so it did tire mother out somewhat.

We didn't take any trips with Thomsons, who we holidayed with, however booked via Forum advice on Tripadvisor via Condor excursions.
The one trip we booked was to the Blue Mountains where we were picked up from the bus stop in a lovely mini-bus and taken off into the mountains beyond Bourgas to some traditional villages which are now heritage sites. You can have a stroll around and go into some of the lovely old wooden houses to see how they were originally furnished.
Included is lunch, which was very nice and included free wine.
Further up the mountains is the option to pay to take the chairlift down to Slevin.
It's one of the old wooden sit on ones which doesn't actually stop - just has a couple of chaps to steady it whilst you get on. It's then up to you to close and then re-open the safety bar.
I had no qualms about it but decided not to let mum take it as I think she would have struggled with the on/off bit, which was a shame.
It's a very steep decent but wonderfully peaceful and worth the 10 Lev fare. Picked up at the bottom by the minibus.

All in all we had a lovely week at the Majestic and I would recommend it to anyone.
If I hadn't taken mum then no doubt I'd have been sat drinking Cosmopolitans until 2am every morning so if nothing else she's done my liver a favour.

Enjoy it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked this holiday as we had never been bulgaria before!! Loved it!!! Hotel is fantastic, food amazing (different every night). The only fault I can pick is that the evening entertainment is really poor but I think it is at any hotel! I would really recommend this hotel to couples of any age!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUFC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Not much point in speaking about the hotel as all other reviews cover it, it was fantastic clean, comfortable, huge and brilliant. Wish UK hotels could see how to do it !!
The only word of caution we would raise especially if you travel with Thompson is be careful about the rubbish they tell you to sell you trips etc.

We were sold a traditional Turkish bath experience (we since found out the hotel did the same thing but clearly the kick backs were better elsewhere) anyway we were sent down Sunny Beach to another hotel that had this in their pool area, filthy place, the staff just chatted throughout in Bulgarian to each other and the massage with oils was a joke. If you stay at the Majestic use them and do not go anywhere else or you will regret it, do not listen to the Thompson Rep who is simply on a commission deal and will tell you anything. Nessebar is worth a visit with some lovely places to eat with great sea views. Also the Catamaran trip to see the dolphins is well worth the money.

Downsides of the hotel if I had to be very picky (and this is picky as overall it is fantastic) you have to pay for the WiFi (come on it's 2013) the main restaurant is a bit like a cattle market (but they are feeding hundreds and the choice it astonishing) and the drinks are are no cheaper than you would pay at home, but if you want cheaper there are plenty of budget options down the strip!

Great time would recommend to anyone, if you stay at the Majestic you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, send them an email they reply and sort it for you, better than not asking and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harvey94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our 3rd year and it only gets better. The hotel is so clean you could eat off the floors, the staff are fantastic and the whole place just rocks. We have already booked for 2014 - thats how good it is. There is a little excursion shop opposite the Zora Supermarket at the end of the Victoria Palace Hotel which sells the same excursions as Thomsons but approx £15.00 (GBP) per head cheaper than Thomson...we used it with no problems at all (and saved a shed load of cash). I could go on and on about the resort as well but others have beat me to it. If you want a great holiday in a fantastic hotel then this one is for you..

Room Tip: Rooms looking towards Bourgas get the afternoon and evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#11 of 220 in Sunny Beach
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 220 in Sunny Beach
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#8 of 220 in Sunny Beach
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#20 of 220 in Sunny Beach
65 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
#2 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Royal Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach
#12 of 220 in Sunny Beach
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DIT Majestic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DIT Majestic Beach Resort

Property: DIT Majestic Beach Resort
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DIT Majestic Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 734
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your DIT Majestic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel And Residence
Majestic Hotel Sunny Beach
Majestic Hotel Residence
DIT Majestic Beach Resort Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing