We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, with a few drawbacks.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tiara Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tiara Beach
Ranked #14 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, with a few drawbacks.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Me and my girlfriend just returned home from a wonderful week at Tiara Beach.

First the positive:

We were looking for a good relaxing week and were very pleased when all the young party people got off at other hotels. We only found families and young couples at Tiara Beach.

The food was great, lots to choose from and we always found something new we wanted seconds of. A few times we ate outside of the hotel, but we would say everything holds the same quality as the food on the hotel, so you don't miss that much if you eat a lot at the hotel.

You get to choose from a list of 15 "cocktails" from the hotell, i would rather call them grogs ;)
Most of them are so sweet that you'll make faces for an hour according to me, my girlfriend liked them though.
I stuck to the Gin & Tonic, which is made from a decent gin, and mixed 50-50, just the way a good G&T should be!

Rooms are clean and very nice, we had a junior suite, very large room with a nice and quiet AC.
The rooms have a safe you can rent, but they are quite small, my 13" laptop wouldn't fit in it (crappy macbook pro). So i just left it in the room on the table, nothing got stolen at all by the cleaners or other people so you can trust the staff.

The pool was nice, though it could use a bit more cleaning, the bottom is really sandy and you sometimes find band-aids and other not so fresh things on the bottom.

Location is awesome, it takes just a minute or two to go to the beach, and maybe 15 min to the main strip. You can always take the minitrain that goes back and forth all day, or just take breaks at one of the many restaurants and pubs that are on the way there.

Now on to the drawbacks:

The animation team. The kids loved them, but when the kids disco ended and they tried to make a show for the adult audience it was terrible. TERRIBLE!
They have one or two decent dancers, but since the stage is so small the one impressive dance is repeated alot.
Otherwise the just mime, that's right you heard me, mime!

They put on a night show of Grease for example, they play the music, stand there in bad costume, rock back and forth and mime to the lyrics. The fact that they don't know the lyrics doesn't help. My girlfriend was raging every night at this show holocaust. I always thought it would be a fun laugh to see how they would ruin good songs every night but couldn't take more then 10 minutes of it. The show is on the level of 10 year olds. It's bad and they should feel bad.


Another drawback, THE GUESTS.
oh my god what has happened to people these days?
First of all, the pool area, reserving beds is not allowed and sometimes the staff goes around and removes a few towels. But the cunning guest has this figured out. Often one poor family member goes down to the pool at around seven-eight and takes six sunbeds. Then she sits there for hours waiting for the rest of the family. Or they sit there for an hour, then goes to lunch, and for a trip on town before returning and getting their gear at around 18 before dinner...


The same at dinners, even if you are early, there are one child or parent sitting at every 6 person table in the outside area reserving tables so long that many people got there, eat and leave before the reserved family arrives.

Also, the hotel guide book as well as a huge sign outside the restaurant says that during dinner no shorts or swimwear is allowed. Nice!

Do you think anyone cares, people with long pants could be counted on one finger, while the rest of the guests DIDN'T EVEN BOTHER TO BRING THEIR SWIMTOYS TO THEIR ROOM SO THEY BRING IT TO THE BLEEPING DINNER AREA!!
And then grown men to their best to try to cut in lines and ruin the dinner for everyone else.

Seems this has been such a big problem with guests that the staff doesn't even care anymore, which is sad because this is probably my main drawback with the hotel.

Love the hotel! If only they were harder in their rules it would be 5/5, but thanks to lax rules and guests from hell it's only a 4/5

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bearwolfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    183
    64
    27
    14
See reviews for
255
113
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Don't worry if you've booked here. We've just arrived home and had a lovely time in this hotel. The bedroom was 'roomy' (although the third bed was very small). The bathroom had a great powerful shower and was scrupulously clean. In fact the whole hotel had an army of cleaners that worked around the clock (we came in at 5am one morning and there they all were with their windowlene). Food was ok/good. It did cater for everyone and we always had plates full of very random mixes as they always offer plain pasta, rice, chips as well as flavoured mixes. a vast array of salads and vegetables as well as pizza and burgers, fish fingers.... just loads and loads of food.
The cocktails on the all inclusive... well what can I say, they are really strong and need a extra class of mixes to be drinkable. I can recommend No10 the Tiara beach and the last one, I think no14 Women's Dream. The beer was okay and the only one on offer.
The only draw back is the location, although you can walk across to the beach ( 2mins away across a road) it's a good 30 mins walk to the main strip, this meant no heels for the girls on their nights out. and a trek home after an evening out.
I would however recommend as we had a lovely time and the pool and the slides are brilliant. ENJOY we did!!

Room Tip: Lower floors eat first. I think all the rooms are similar, 3rd bed would not really big enough for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMCB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Positive aspects:
_ Cleanliness of the rooms (they clean and change towels daily)
_ Rooms are large
_ the restaurant has enough tables
_ the hotel is relatively close to the beach
_ it has slides, appreciated especially by children and even adults
Negative aspects:
_ Quality / variety of food
_ The dishes in the restaurant are not very clean
_ very small amount of chlorine (or absence) in the pools
_ The hotel does not have areas for walk
_ the staff did not know very well English
_ the parking is a little expensive considering that it is insufficient and poorly guarded
_ the free Wi-Fi near reception is a joke, weak signal and only for a limited number of users (I think about 4-5!). So you cannot connect. Instead there is a Wi-Fi network with good signal everywhere but at a big price.
_ the staff at the bar is lazy
Overall I was not too pleased, the hotel is more like 3 + stars. At the asking price, if you don’t need fun for the child, there are better alternatives in Bulgaria (Dune, Sol Nessebar Mare, Saint Thomas, etc.).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ulyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of June, weather was not brilliant hot one day rain the next, good location, most of the staff were friendly, always found something to eat pretty good choice, room was kept lovely and clean lovely cleaner who did some lovely towel art for us every day, my only criticism of this hotel was the animation team, got the impression if you we're English they didn't bother with you, not once were we asked to take part in any of the activities, several times we asked about an activity and told they would find out for us but never came back. Beware of the bars by the beach they will tell you drinks are buy 3 for x amount when you order a second round the prices triple.did a trip to Karns tent, definitely recommend this trip we had a brilliant night.
We enjoyed our holiday but wouldn't go back to Bulgaria.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wesie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just returned from tiara beach hotel sunny beach bulgaria , and myself and my partner English , both in our early 50s thought it was our best holiday ever,, we had room 531 5th floor , it had a great sea view and lovely sunny balcony, the location of the hotel could not be better , 300 yards or so onto the beach , then just a short walk and into the vibrant pubs shops and night life of sunny beach ,and if you enjoy walking , and we do,a mile on so to the ancient town of nessibar, there is also a train that runs along the sea front if you don't fancy walking , the rooms were cleaned to a high standard each day , the pool area was cleaned likewise , and loved the way sun bed saving was policed , if towels on the beds were left unattended , they were collected up , giving a fair chance to all guests to use them , we'll done pool attendant! , there was an area with water slides , again great fun for kids of all ages , food in restraunt was varied and of a good standard , and a big thanks to vasil the omelette maker and his blonde friend who always made breakfasts a smiley happy start to the day , the animation , team did a great job , through the day and at night with some great dancing , shame we missed the Wild West night , thanks tiara beach for a fantastic week !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank stegger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have just got back from this hotel. We stayed the same 2 weeks last year and thought it was excellent. This year it has lost it's quality that it had last year, obviously the new owners are looking at cost but the food was average compared to last year. While you can always find something to eat, I don't feel that making do a at meal times is good enough in a 4 star rated hotel. Staff were great and the bar staff and reception staff always helped with a smile. As I stated we were there the same two weeks last year, but it was really busy and a lot more children and 85/ 90 percent of all, The people we met were from Eastern Europe. The one thing that i did come away with is we Brits should pat ourselves on the back because based on the experience I have just had we are the most well mannered people. On the whole a good time had by all but that's the end if the tiara hotel relationship for me, what can I say it was emotional.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desneo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was looking for a cheap week in the sun and after much TripAdvisor research and having never been to Bulgaria before I decided on the Ibostar Tiara Beach, I can honestly say I was pleasantly surprised. I would say that my review is also taking into consideration the fact I had paid considerably less for this holiday than I would have going to a 4* in for example Turkey/Spain.

Rooms

The rooms were adequate size with a balcony (unfortunately ours overlooked the supermarket next door but hey ho) the bathroom was well appointed with hairdryer and a large double shower (the water pressure was certainly strong) the usual toiletries were provided. The room was cleaned daily

Pool

The pool area was nice with a large free form pool. They actively do not allow people to reserve sunbeds early in the morning. if you place a towel on the beds and leave them unattended they will be removed by the hotel staff. There are usually beds available most of the day anyway so no need for the usual scramble over sunbeds we all know and love !

Beach

The beach is a short walk away and is really nice. The sea is shallow for a considerable distance out which is ideal for kids or those of us who like to stay in our depth. You are not allowed to sit on the beach without renting a lounger, however if you are going down for a swim they didn't seem to mind you leaving shoes etc by the shore. There are several lifeguards on duty who will not allow you to take in inflatables or venture out very far unless the sea is dead calm (I only got to use mine one day) I would see the point if it was very choppy but to be honest most days it was fine and I don't see an issue of an adult taking in an airbed to what was essentially knee/thigh deep water but clearly to was.

Food

There is only one buffet style restaurant in the hotel (none of the usual optional theme restaurants you have in 4/5* hotels) Having been to many AI hotels in different countries i would say it was the poorest choice I have ever seen. Lots of salad etc available but only about maybe 10 hot choices (and by that I mean a tray of carrots or potatoes each as one option etc etc). Anything I did eat was actually very nice (on occasion could have been warmer) but will also caveat the statement with the fact I am vegetarian so not able to comment on the quality of meats.

Bars

There is a pool bar and a lobby bar. The local beer is nice. I am not really a spirit drinker so cannot comment on the quality/strength of local vodka etc. I did try the cocktails on offer but to be honest they all tasted like medicine to me !

General

The staff in the hotel were polite and helpful at all times and the cleaners worked around the clock so it was certainly clean. There are loads of shops/bars/karaoke bars/restaurants in the vicinty so if you do want to go out there is plenty on offer, a pint of beer was 1lev which is about 50p

There was not a lot of brits in the hotel whilst I was there but that was fine with me. Absolutely no issues with other guest behaviour or noise at night.

I think overall I enjoyed my holiday and I would probably go back on the basis that it is considerably cheaper than a lot of other holiday destinations in the area. As I have said at the start my review is on the basis of value for money as I have stayed in much better hotels/destinations in the past but I was happy with what I got vs what I paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sweetcheeks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#11 of 221 in Sunny Beach
1,270 reviews
2.0 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 221 in Sunny Beach
1,262 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Sunny Beach
Grand Hotel Sunny Beach
#18 of 221 in Sunny Beach
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
MPM Kalina Garden
MPM Kalina Garden
#22 of 221 in Sunny Beach
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#16 of 221 in Sunny Beach
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
LTI Neptun Beach Hotel
LTI Neptun Beach Hotel
#26 of 221 in Sunny Beach
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiara Beach

Property: Tiara Beach
Address: Bourgas District, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria (Formerly Iberostar Tiara Beach)
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiara Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 200 m from the long, broad, gentil-sloping sandy beach. Modern, family-friendly complex. Ideal for water sports fans. Wide range of leisure opportunities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Tiara Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Tiara Beach Hotel Sunny Beach
Iberostar Sunny Beach
Iberostar Hotel Tiara Beach
Tiara Beach Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing